Diet & Nutrition

Right tis half 11, I’m starting a fast tomorrow. Haven’t done a conscious fast since the Trocaire sponsored fast days. Will go for a day and maybe do Saturday all going well. Hon to fuck with it.

What was their life expectancy like?

Shite due to the ailments mentioned above among others.

Please expand providing suggested menu choices

You’ll feel great after it

when the body goes into ketosis, it is a great thing

Leg day today, I’ll sleep well tonight.

I’m about to go do some deadlifts. See if I can momentarily crowbar some joy into my life

Source some keto coffee for post workout.

There’s plenty of evidence that show’s they ate cereals - a form of porridge. Buttermilk was very common . A form of cottage cheese… The usual berries and meat.

Various travellers to Ireland in the 1600-1700s noted how healthy the Irish were (famines aside) …egg, buttermilk and potato was a very common meal. Of course, fermented foods are all the rage now for gut health… Get that buttermilk into you boss.

Better quality than what we have available to us now? Thats what was suggested and sounds ludicrous.

Chasing a a badger from its den or munching a few squirrels versus beef perfected on grazing and husbandry techniques.

If the grub was that much better back then, why aren’t we still ating squirrel and nettles?

I only gave you a taste of past diet. Not arguing it was better…

The only thing I’d say about the modern diet is that it’s full of chemicals or drugs for the most part. It’s hard to avoid. It’s also not great to be atin foods that originate outside your own ecosystem/ seasons…but again, hard to avoid.

Don’t knock it til you’ve tried it :man_shrugging:t2:

Twice a night

That would break my fast though wouldn’t it? I was thinking salt in water.

Isn’t keto coffee not just butter added to coffee? Yer man Tim Ferriss used to swear by it.

Took a couple of caffeine tablets after work on the way to the gym this afternoon.

PRs in squat, leg press, leg extension and RDLs. Magic. Best of all was doing cable crunches for abs at the end of my workout. I have never had them feel so good, obviously down to having an empty stomach.

Plenty energy all day, and still feeling sharp. Bit of hunger alright but I reckon that’s my brain anticipating a post workout feast as is the norm.

I’ll definitely go to bed tonight on an empty stomach. I’ll see what the craic is tomorrow morning and we might go again all going well.

We go again. Might have to break the fast early this evening if some plans come to fruition but I should hit 40 hours anyway.

How you finding it, tough going or relatively manageable?