Does whiskey go off after its been open for a bit?

He probably wants it sooner than 15 years hence.

He’ll not know the difference

Redbreast 15 if you’re not concerned about price.

John’s Lane is the best of those P4P.

I wouldn’t dream of paying what they’re asking for Red Spot.

84 euro as I’m flying to US (assuming I can get it in the shop beyond Homeland/customs )

Powers John Lane is 55

Tesco price alert….

Would you ever get any of the other 60ish euro whiskeys on knock down price in Tesco? Likes of redbreast etc

Redbreast is currently circa €65 in Tesco. The offie manager* tells me that on very rare occasions ( twice yearly possibly) there might be €5 off it. In other words practically never.

• The lad who’s permanently stocking shelves/ tipping away (@Locke) in his happy little enclave.

Nice drop

The Created down to 25 in Super Valu as well.
Or you could get a grand bottle of Paddy for 23 :grinning:

There was a lad in my local supervalu yesterday evening and he must have put at least 6 bottles of €25 Crested into his bag

Supposed to be a quota of 4 per customer :see_no_evil::rofl:

I remember reading in a book on persuasion that when a store put customer limits on sale of an item the average sale per customer increases. Basically it’s a marketing trick.

Here’s the passage:

*In the actual study, the researchers included three variations of that sign, and they measured how many cans people purchased with each sign: *

*“No limit per person” generated an average of 3.3 cans sold. *

*“Limit of 4 per person” generated an average of 3.5 cans sold. *

*“Limit of 12 per person” generated an average of 7.0 cans sold. *

Remarkably, the original 12-limit sign generated sales that were nearly double those of the other signs.

Powers Three Swallows only 30 at O’Briens

By the way, I drank four Jameson 18yo last night. Not impressed, at all. Drank four, just to be sure of verdict, because a rather eejity barman, who seemed stoned, sold me the first one for €6 – when a shot of it should be around four times more.

Everywhere you find an ass - ride it.

Well… Touché.

The following three were also €6. Two lads at the bar starting drinking it when they copped what happened with me. I had no qualms because at the outset I asked yer man, who was notably ill mannered as well as incompetent, to find out the price of Jameson 18yo. If he had been polite and pleasant, I would have said: ‘You are doing yourself there.’

Was always suspicious of a blend for €200 plus. No richness to the drop. And Jameson 18yo is more expensive than Redbreast 21yo. Not only that barman is eejity.

I personally think you were dead right but don’t put that on Twitter. Some fella got absolutely scalded recently for a similar story of being undercharged.

It happened us one night when a lot younger. One of our group decided he wanted us all to have a brandy and asked the barman how much a shot from a particular VSOP bottle was. €6 he was told. He ordered 4, handed the barman €25 and we downed them. As we slammed the glasses on the counter, the barman turned around sheepishly and said “Sorry lads, they are actually €15 (or similar) each”. We just laughed at him.

I saw that episode. He was an unrepentant, smug fucker who thought he was being funny.
He got filleted as badly as them Garrihy girls do on Tattle. cc @Tassotti :wink:

That was rather good.