Dublin

He’s not a Taoiseach though just Leo the langers puppet

Na got the right guy first day mistake they made is that should have ploughed on

Explain?

Hard to believe the limited extent of the northside.

The Vikings settled on the Southside for a reason pal, more fertile land.

Bought this a while ago

https://www.rte.ie/archives/2013/0214/367731-journey-through-dublin-city-1966/

Some nice footage here of Dublin 56 years ago

Leinster final at 7pm tomorrow but might drive up early…

Anything to do from 3pm - 6pm??

Bloom is on but will cost 55 euro for the 5 of us so hardly seems worth it (unless we can hop a wall somewhere?)

A stroll around the Botanic Gardens in Glasnevin wouldn’t cost you a penny. Am sure there’s some decent kids playgrounds somewhere around there too. If you were going to the Phoenix Park then the zoo would probably be a better option than Bloom for similar money for the kids?

Glasnevin cemetery and visitor centre nice way to while away a bit of time. Collins Barracks is a grand museum. National Museum in town, National Gallery, Natural History museum. Little Museum of Dublin, walk down the Liffey Boardwalk and let the kids see real life junkies.

The Museum of Modern Art in Kilmainham another to add to that list. But I didn’t think kids would have much interest in those sort of places

Be closed this weekend because of Forbidden Fruit.

Informative post.

@KinvarasPassion maybe you could redo that Dublin Bay Cruise without anyone getting sick this time??

He’s only got 3 hours lads

Glasnevin Cemetery, few pints in the Diggers, playground around the corner then in Griffith Park. Another few pints in Fagans. Down to Croker then, maybe book Independent Pizza for bite beforehand before scooting into the Hogan

Plenty of drinking pints in that itinerary , sad to see …

Only copped recently it was owned by doireann garrihys father where 2fm breakfast show coincidentally had their 1st years birthday party of the current format. Plenty of plug for no money

Doireann is ‘DJ-ing’ in Leopardstown next Thursday at some kind of shindig

cc @BruidheanChaorthainn

The tour in Glasnevin cemetery is excellent and only 1 hour long so relatively child friendly. Might be best to book. You can get into Botanic gardens through a side gate from the cemetery. For food independent pizza as suggested above is excellent and child friendly but you will need to book. Alternatively if the weather is good head for the Bernard Shaw in Fizzboro. There are loads of food trucks at the back and you can buy there and head across the road to the canal to eat. There is also a tremendous greek spot beside it called yeeros where you can get take away and head to the canal to eat.

If thats all sounds like too much trouble head for Fairview park. Good playground and Hillbillies chicken across the road for da picnic. 10 minutes walk to croke park. Fairview park playground is like a social experiment. You have leafy clontarf a few hundred yards to the north and North Strand/East Wall a few hundred to the south. Your kids can wind up playing with an oncologists son or a junkie’s daughter or both at the same time.

It’ll be busy as there are gigs on in Kilmainham and St Anne’s

Turn right at m50’at Lucan and head to Sandyford and go to Imaginosity and Jump Zone (and Dundrum to
Shop) if younger kids.

Luas in from there

So a couple of chippers, playgrounds and if they are lucky a trip to a graveyard.

I’ve a feeling I’m being set up for a mugging here… For the record, us rural folk don’t carry the EU grant money around with us in our wallets.