Electric Picnic

Ah yea but he wouldnt get all that “culture” sledge… :frowning:

Oasis at Slane is going to be the best gig in years but you don’t see me starting a thread about it. Probably because I don’t have a ticket yet…

Couldn’t let this pass.

I can’t agree with that. Comparing a vast array of diverse musical talents with a talentless one trick pony is not comparing like with like.

Knew you couldn’t :frowning:

There is a decent line up for Oasis, in fairness, the Prodigy and a couple of others supporting I think.

[quote=“myboyblue”]Ah yes farmer, but my rant is against the gobshites who attend it for the culture.

No bother going along for the choons, hence why I think they should get over this shite of a “boutique” festival.

Utter shite imo.[/quote]

I’d say there’s very few of them in fairness, and even less this year with people more money conscious. You’re underestimating you’re fellow Irishmen and women I reckon. An awful lot are there for the music and bands like Fleet Foxes and Bat for Lashes are very good but not that popular.
There’s a good atmosphere at it too totally different age group and amount of tent burners to Oxegen.
Don’t know how you’d market that without saying ‘Electric Picnic - we’ve got Less Knackers’…
You’re rant seems to be more against marketing and PR in general as surely the whole industry is full of this shite.
It’d be like saying anyone who buys a car or a chocolate bar is a gullible clown falling for advertising bullshit.

As someone who has seen every one of them up close from its inception, I’ll beg to differ.

Good point in fairness CM. For people who don’t live in Dublin it is a great chance to catch a load of bands that you might find very hard normally to get to see live. Alot of the bands that play EP would generally play midweek in Dublin in the POD venues like Vicar St or Tripod.

Also the atmosphere at these festivals is way better than any midweek gig in Dublin. People are generally in much more ‘high spirits’ at weekend festivals than a Tuesday evening after work. Majority of the best gigs I’ve seen have being at festivals - Arcade Fire in 05 in a tent (epic), Bloc Party at Oxegen the same year, Christy Moore, Cut Copy, Elbow last year were great shows too.

I’m begging to differ by knowledge of a load of lads I know who go every year and do it on the cheap apart from the price of the ticket. A load of cans at the tent, a smattering of illegal substances and a couple of overpriced burgers. In short a great weekend away with all yer mates. Hardly the world’s greatest suckers.
All come away from the weekend raving about the craic they had and determined to go next year.
Beg to differ yerself there with a few concrete examples.

I think you’re making a mountain out of a molehill here MBB.

Are you that worried about what other people spend their money on?

[quote=“Fran”]I think you’re making a mountain out of a molehill here MBB.

Are you that worried about what other people spend their money on?[/quote]

No, he’s just a cunt :frowning:

[quote=“Fran”]I think you’re making a mountain out of a molehill here MBB.

Are you that worried about what other people spend their money on?[/quote]

Ah fook I had a really interesting reply typed out that would have stunned you but IE had a fart attack.

So instead I will just say.

Fook you fran.

:stuck_out_tongue:

That I am, that I am.

[quote=“myboyblue”]It usually is farmer, but this is marketed as a boutique festival, and as an arts and cultural event.

Get da fook…[/quote]

MBB, you’ve lost it and are being badly exposed here.
Let it go. :frowning:

Your a scammer and no better than any of the people there that you seem to dislike because they are not like you. God help us if the whole world was the same.

Let it go kev…

That pole would have been a draw if i had voted against myself to save face for you.:frowning:

And if my aunt had balls she’d be my uncle.

Let it go kev.

[quote=“Phil Leotardo”]Ah come on lads…what did somebody on AFR say one day. Being at the Electric Picnic is “living and not existing” or something!

Twas either sid wallace or artfoley i think.

I think thats actually the slogan they use for the festivel lads. Open to correction, but i think i saw or heard it before. I don’t think it was one of the lads that came up with it.

Couldn’t be! No way they’d use something that cringe inducing, surely?
I remember that thread on AFR, wasn’t it someone saying that that was what their mate who was at it texted them?