Euro 2016 - Ireland v Italy

Fucking amazing evening. Fair play MON. Savage team selection and brave considering the amount of cunts dying to shit on him (not in the HBV way). Deserved every bit of the win…

Yeah has to be 4-5-1 really, doesn’t it.

Long hasn’t done anything really in the three games. It would be massive to get Walters fit and back in the team but debatable how much he can improve in the space of three days.

I’d still prefer if O’Shea was in the team. Harsh to drop either of the two lads tonight but I’d go with Keogh and O’Shea on Sunday. Think Whelan could be recalled, he was excellent against Sweden cutting down the space to ibrahimovich and will probably be given the same task with Poyet.

Hendrick has surprised me, possibly our best player of the tournament so far.

They have to start McClean. Immense tonight for sheer effort and work rate alone.

Robbie Brady 19 = Shane Long 9 x pissed bogger

A great bunch of lads

To the Kilrea Provo, a vindictive edgy Nordie.

I saw him there. The state of him. He also referenced Eire bad luck in the mauling from Belgium.

I love my country.

Ah that was simply magnificent.

Not sure anyone had a poor game but special credit to the two centre backs, McClean, Brady, Hendrick, McCarthy and Murphy. That’s only 7 of the starters so.

Two centre backs were terrific. Shite on the ball, particularly Keogh, but no false designs about them. They didn’t try anything pretty, they made it physical and they were aggressive in getting to the ball first. We actually won a fair number of frees from Duffy in particular (and McCarthy) attacking their ball and winning a free from Zaza and Immobile.

Thought McCarthy was really good. I assume Whelan had a knock or something because He didn’t come on at the end but McCarthy seems to enjoy the simplicity/discipline of the deeper role. He was really effective today in breaking up play and getting us back on the front foot.

Thought McClean had a stormer. Just th right amount of aggression. When McCarthy went off we lost control for about 19 mins and it was McClean who took the fight back to them. He gave them no time on the ball, he was clever in contact, won us plenty of throws and set pieces and kept the tempo up when we were flagging.

Hendrick got on an awful lot of ball against Belgium but was surprisingly wasteful. He changed that tonight. As energetic and prominent as he’d been in the other games but back to the Sweden game in his effectiveness on the ball.

Brady is a class fucking act.

Murphy was terrific too in giving us a foothold in rvei half. He was really effective on long balls, crested lots of little knock downs and we were unlucky nothing came from his endeavour. A focal point we badly missed in other games.

And a great win for O’Neill. A courageous team selection but backed up by a team absolutely fired up. The workrate and ambition was tremendous from the very start. Top class.

Unreal stuff Walters and wes well rested for the business end of the comp too. :clap::clap::clap:

id agree with all that apart from you forgetting to say its good to be a fenian

I’m in bits. I fucking love you guys. One of the great days.

Ah we needed that as a nation… unreal.

I couldn’t care less about soccer but I’m delighted for you pal and beating france would be a fair achievement. Will you travel to Lyon?

It’s great to see and read about people being happy.

God bless you all and God bless the Irish national football team.

Robbie Brady. :clap:

Jeff Hendrick. :clap:

Martin O’Neill. :clap:

Duffy and Keogh. :clap:

The Irish. :ronnyroar:

Thats about it there.

France are talented, but i don’t fear them.

England in 1/4’s a real possibility. That really would be shit losing time.

Anyway, thats for down the track. Enjoy tonight and the morning discussing and reading about it.

fuck off and die you weird singleton bastard, stay in your igloo in canada you aint welcome back here

I always blow on about wanting something from a team, and thats exactly what we get from these lads most of the time. Saturday looks more like a blip now. They really truely are a great bunch.

you bought your wife, this is not made up, that is all that needs to be said to end any argument. A forty something fucking sad case who spends 18 hours a day posting on here instead of with the family he supposedly has, putting up pictures of his dog desperate for likes, licking HBVs hole desperate for attention.

do you not think if they didnt beat a second string italy team not really that bothered about the result that it would have been a disaster? they have the opportunity on sunday to show their real worth