Jaysus I donât know have I heard of manu Starbucks ever not working
Is that the big Starbucks gone @backinatracksuit on OâConnell Street?
Itâs all about chill the beans in Limerick
No, I forgot about that one
Itâs the one on the corner of Catherine/Thomas street.
Seems like the competition for shitty coffee from Chill the Beans in Mungret and Caherdavin finished them off ![]()
It all means nothing to me as a non-coffee drinker. Were there boycotts of Starbucks in place in Limerick? I know Costa is on the boycott due to Coca-Colaâs Israeli links.
Every fecker and his dog is walking around Limerick with a single use coffee cup. Twats!
The whole city centre is goosed, it was on its arse before Covid but Covid finished it off. I remember working in the city about 18 years ago and there was always a good buzz about, plenty of places to choose to eat a bite of lunch etc. You were working in the city at the same time and can attest to that. Noelâs was an institution in there but as you say that whole Thomas Street area is gone quiet, while Cruises street is a total ghost town. Restaurants are all going to come under serious pressure now, a bad sign when Starbucks is closing.
Whatever about the rest of it thereâs way more places to eat in town now than there was 18 years ago
Heard there were a few places in town audited and hit with bastards of tax bills.
Theyâre short and of places to eat in the crescent beyond sandwich shops. Thereâs only one cafe and milanos. A few eateries going out and a good shop or two coming in would be grand.
Thereâs a ferality to town at the minute though. Go in any afternoon and youâd be nearly sure to see something mental.
Really? Maybe so. I remember some reliables from back then, I wouldnât know where to eat now.
I walked out of OâMahonys today and a crackhead fell out of Abrekebabra, bumped off me and fell on the floor banging his head,
3.90 fell out of his pockets, I asked was he alright, he jumped up and nearly ran off leaving his 3.90 behind, I called after him but he wasnât listening so I picked up the 3.90 and gave it to another crackhead who was tapping outside Texas Steakout ![]()
Thereâs no shortage of atin houses in town, itâs way way better in that regard than it was when I moved to limerick about 20 years ago
Circle of life mate
But but but the RUGBY MUSEUM!!
Were they playing jenga between sets?
I wouldnât think limericks problems are unique? Cities all over the world struggling in post COVID world of less people in the office.
Itâs hard to actually find somewhere open for lunch on Monday or Tuesday. Iâd say a good 75% of restaurants closed.
They just have to get people back living in the city. Simple as.
We tipped into Bedford Row for lunch a few weeks back. No joy without a reservation. Gameâs gone