FAO wexford people

I meant to reply to Rocko’s original post but replied to my own one under it. He had a detailed review of Wexford if you click the arrow to go back up the thread.

Grand. I’ve bookmarked @rocko’s detailed post. I’ll be back on in a few days asking how to find bookmarked posts.

Lads, has anyone ever done a boat trip to the Saltees and was it worth it?

Nope

Judging from all the pictures I seen from all the wannabe photographers around Wexford town on Facebook no, it’s not worth it.

Staying in treacys in enniscorthy for a couple of nightd with mrs and 3 kids. All going grand. Would it be considered a rough town? The people have been very nice, though there are a lot of weather beaten folk with tattoos and drinkers heafs around.

Grand town but a lot of settled travellers on your side of the river. If you can get away for a pint head across the bridge and turn right. At the bottom of the hill there’s the Antique Tavern. Or else, to up the hill (pedestrianised) and across the road from it is Stamps.

Think there’s a food festival of some sort on this weekend but not sure what it’s like.

Thanks for the tip but i am back in the room with the 4 month old.while.the mrs is downstairs in the bar with the other two. Its.a.food.and rockabilly festival and the town is hopping . Live music everywhere. Looks like.great sport. Kids are great and all but they ruin your fucking life.

Nudists in County Wexford have been threatened, by local politicians, with arrest if they turn up naked on local beaches again, despite the fact that no complaints were received from the public.

On Sunday afternoon a group of nudists set up camp on Curracloe beach carrying their backpacks and picnic. No members of the public asked them to leave, according to a spokesperson for the Irish Naturist Association (INA).

Despite this fact Wexford’s Mayor, Councilor Ger McCarthy, told the Wexford People newspaper “If I went naked on the streets of Wexford, I would get arrested…it’s against the law to go naked in a public place.”

The Mayor did say that despite the legal issues he was sure he could find a more isolated spot for the naturists to gather, in Wexford, along the county’s 155.3 miles of coastline.

Curracloe, a beautiful beach, made famous through the filming of the opening scene of Steven Spielberg’s “Saving Private Ryan” remains a popular day trip and holiday location. McCarty added “To go naked at Curracloe where there are children is not acceptable.”

Not everyone took the get together so seriously. One member of the public called into a national radio station suggesting that Spielberg call his follow-up movie “Saving Private Ryan’s Privates.”

A spokesperson for the INA said “No one has had any issue here (in Wexford). The INA is pushing for clothing-optional beaches to be recognized.”

The group of naturists on Curracloe enjoyed a 6 mile (10km) trek along the coast. Along the way they rested among the dunes and even sunbathed making sure all their delicate areas were “protected with sunscreen,” the INA reported. The group then settled not far from where Spielberg filmed the famous WWII movie.

This Wexford outing was one of several events organized around the country in what the INA billed a “quadruple naturism weekend.” On Saturday at the Hunting Brook Gardens, in Blessington, County Wicklow, a group trimmed some bushes in celebration of World Naked Gardening Day, May 7. In Dublin a group went for a skinny dip at the Mespil Swimming Pool, in Ballsbridge, at Donabate Beach, and in Dalkey, among others.

On their blog the INA warned the public that no beaches or other public places officially approved for the practice of naturism.

The INA states “The law in relation to public nudity is such that it can be an offence for a man or a woman to expose himself or herself in a public place.

“There are, therefore, no beaches or other public places officially approved for the practice of naturism.

“Anyone wishing to go nude on a beach or in a public place in Ireland should be aware of this.”

Lead story in this week’s Wexford People:

Some English chap was dead in his camper van for a week or two in the campsite at Ferrybank just outside Wexford town. They only checked it out when they realised he’d only paid to stay a night or two.

cc @Juhniallio.

Well lads. I am only going and moving to Gorey.
There’s a grand big gaff for sharing on Daft. Any of ye know anything about it?

Does this mean you won the war?

She’s making us go to court. I don’t mind. I will sew it into the cunts after.
I was down yesterday. Sick with terror that they’d have turned the boy against me. The complete opposite. Never felt closer. He was distraught when I was leaving but the idea he’ll be seeing me any time during the week is something he seems to regard as being almost too good to fathom.
He’s a great lad. And the idea I would have given him up is as insane as the notion of me putting my hand in my pocket for a round of drinks.

Hey Mac, could I cadge a lift off you to Dublin for work, yeah? I’m triffic fun in the mornings.

The Wexford Echo has gone into liquidation. 30 jobs affected so that’s very bad news.

That was coming for a while, the transition to Landmark just kept the wolves from the door.

There was no way they could generate enough revenue to employ 30 members of staff with that business.

What else do Landmark own/do?

I always thought The Echo was owned by whoever owned South East Radio but obviously not.

Nope. Thomas Crosbie Holdings aka the Irish Examiner group bought them in the 2000s.

When that group broke up the new entity called Landmark took them over.

They own some of the regionals and BreakingNews.ie among other things.

Is that Malcolm Denmark’s group?

It the Crosbie’s new group.