Favourite Dublin Pub that won't exist again

Louie in Ranelagh had a bad bout of Covid I heard but happy to report he’s back in action again. An absolute gentleman.

Good to hear. Nice fella, you’d often bump into him in Powers of a Saturday afternoon, and he roaring expletives in Italian at some jockey or other.

The other older lad in there had the temerity to not offer me the freshest chicken one night and Louie threw a few faffangools in his direction for not respecting one of his best customers.

I never really warmed to the idea of moving from pub to pub. I was much happier settled in the place for the session as long as the company and drink was good.

Lads eulogising abour old man pubs with no tv. I always found them such boring places. Give me temple bar anyday.

I think it’s an age thing. 20 years ago my main considerations when selecting a pub was the whether there would be women there who might be interested in a ride, preferably with me. Now my main considerations are the availability of comfy seats and music turned down nice and low.

I’d say all manner of board games etc for the hipsters to play

Frank Ryan’s on Queen Street is a lovely spot, once your eyes adapt to how dark it is inside

Owners dog wandering around and nice pints of stout.

Not convinced about the branching out into serving pizzas, the cheese toastie was more than acceptable

He’s come along way from that brothel in Madrid.

15 or 16 pints, I’d say you were in fair aul shape ayting the fish and chip

Well done to the wokesters of Dublin.

Last thing you’d want is this beautiful vista ruined.

Bakers Corner RIP

https://www.rte.ie/news/business/2022/0131/1276979-green-light-for-student-accommodation-in-dun-laoghaire/

Tipped around to Pipers Corner while I was waiting for the bus back from Bloom but it was closed. Think it only opens Wed -Sun. Crossed the road and having a pint in the Moxy Hotel. Quiet, soulless, safe. Perfect spot to wait for a bus.

The way it’s going there’ll be loads of hotels, but nothing to do

I heard that The Flowing Tide has been bought and that the new owners are not keeping on any of the existing staff.

I’ll not darken the door once that happens anyway.

I havent been in that “beer garden” in about 25 years, but by jaysus it must have come on a long way to be described as a cultural centre :laughing:

Fucking Fibbers, what a spot :heart_eyes:

If it’s been bought and is staying open as a pub then the staff have a right to stay on.

That is very disappointing the read. A grand place for a quiet curer in town

Lol unique was right. I was in the old 13th floor nightclub on New Year’s Eve late 90s (would have been above where Murray’s is now). The fire escapes were used as places to get a breather. A large crowd gathered at one to look down on some hero give it what for to a doris in the courtyard.