The Big Tree? Is that not a hotel these days?
The Hill 16 seems to be shut for the foreseeable. What about Gill’s?
I see the Clonliffe is open, will probably head down that side as I’m on the Hill.
The Big Tree? Is that not a hotel these days?
The Hill 16 seems to be shut for the foreseeable. What about Gill’s?
I see the Clonliffe is open, will probably head down that side as I’m on the Hill.
Heard it was bought by former Dublin footballer brian styns and is continuing as a pub
Very close to Piper’s Corner for the Dublin GAA crowd.
The beer garden is a hotel. The pub is open again.
https://twitter.com/obrienmark/status/1545119176322416642?t=HIPErfzu7ByJu7LFGRKsUA&s=08
The flowing tide was a provo pub back in the day. The only time I was in there was the night of Self Aid. Myself and my pal Mango were parched (there was no drink served at it and we had long since drunk through the pouches of wine we had smuggled in). So as u2 were coming on we headed out got a bus into town, perched up at the bar in the flowing tide and watched the end of u2 on the telly.
Hideout, Hogan Stand, Big Tree are your options.
McGraths. Clonliffe house was lifting last weekend, but it was a fucking disaster to get a pint
My last exchange in the place last night was with a dodgy regular in the toilets. I went in first and headed to the only cubicle. Your man followed and said ‘let me in there I’m bursting for a shite’ which I did. He then continued to talk to me from his throne saying ‘you are a fucking copper aren’t ya’ which I heard him continuing to say after I had left.
The flowing tide was a provo pub back in the day.
I had my first underage pint there back in the day and used drink downstairs in the Neptune part for a bit. Given its location near the all northside terminuses it was convenient to gather up there before moving on for the night. Used to have a big poster of Lenin on the wall and, unlike a couple of others nearby, never got the Provo thing off it. Reputedly some Saor Eire connections previously but I’d have been in a pram back then and those Trots were hardly Lenin fans!
Bar manager at the time I would have been there was involved in Vincents but a sound man otherwise and I think a FF Senator was the owner. Some nice stained glass work too inside.
The tide has had a maroon paint job and a couple of snugs added as you come in the door. More to follow re porter
The makeover got a positive review from some twitter account recently
Looks decent enough. Was a great underage drinking spot along with the Shakespeare on Parnell st back in the day
The makeover got a positive review from some twitter account recently
Be great for the area, a rising tide lifts all boats
those stained glass windows are amazing
Doesn’t appear to have changed much.
Two snugs and the bathroom being retiled it’s pretty much the same
The snugs look nice
Growing up in dublin must have been great for underage pub drinking. Not a fear of being caught. Down the country there was always a few places served underage/turned a blind eye but there was always the fear of being found out.
The jacks needed to be spruced up in fairness. Grand spot all in all though.
What’s the clientele like? As rough and ready as before?
On a grand street for proper pubs