Johnstown, as in North Kilkenny?

Thanks. A pity to hear of that swerve.

Thanks.

I am hearing a consistent note…

The Bernard Shaw syndrome?

Not fond of the hipster craic…

The Bernard Shaw was before my time so I cannot do that comparison I’m afraid.

It is a family run pub; 10 years ago, it was a quintessential country pub in the city with a nice mixed clientele. The matriarch of the family handed it over to a couple of kids a few years ago and now it appeals to the local types who are NCAD students or think they should have their artwork on display in the IMMA.

An example of the shitehawkery is them shoving the fact that they are a dog friendly pub in your face.

I greatly like a place with mixed clientele. But…

Uisce Beatha in Waterford is a fine spot that is a touch hipsterish around the edges but mainly just is quirky.

Fairly ordinary spot in my experience

Tim’s, Thomastown.

Perfect October Sunday afternoon fare.

Thanks. Just came up in conversation. Must check it out over winter.

I went back through all the posts in this thread. Found it interesting how consistent the emphases are. There is, more or less, a TFK Moon Under Water.

@Malarkey

Jaysus…

Thought for a second it was the establishment of the same name in Kilkenny.

Never in that spot. Part of Dublin about which I know zilch.

Was in the Confession Box last night. 4 lovely pints and then home. Grand spot. I’m coming to the conclusion that Marlborough Street is one of the best streets in the city for public houses.

A grand spot but very small.

That was a grand penance, you must have been very good

The Tide’s pint hasn’t disimproved anyway.

My reading of the new Tide is pretty positive. The place has improved decor wise and a new backing behind the bar has been added since I was here previously in November. There are still a few regulars knocking around from the old days which made the place. I’m not too gone on an older barman manager type bloke who has a touch of arrogance about him. Bring back Robbie!

Was briefly in The Flowing Tide yesterday afternoon. Handy spot. Flying visit to give a friend a pheasant – bah boom. Nice pint. The two snugs in the front are grand. The music’s volume seemed a wee bit intrusive.

Gravediggers?