Failte go Baile Loch Garman mo chara. Any enquiries, don’t be afraid to ask.
@myboyblue there’ll be fuck all standing room for the national anthem in the pubs around town for the lgfa final. So get in early
There’s a 13 here for Tyrone and she wouldn’t kick snow off a rope. No anthem before the intermeidate
A belter of a day to kick things off. The kids got to see some local celebrities like Brendan Howlin, George Lawlor and @Gman. The gouging is off the charts this year though. Cheaper for 5 people to get a return train ticket from Gorey to Wexford than buy 2 pints of beer down there.
Savage atmosphere and brilliant craic but bring a fat wallet down with you.
Would there be any comfort at that with young kids next weekend, or is it too crowded? We were to go down for a couple of days but I’m thinking we might just hold off til it comes up this way next year.
You’ll find comfort if you want it. We had a 10, 8 and 3 year old with us. Was grand for the afternoon but it was getting very boozy and messy soon after 5. Crowds are grand as loads of families around but I’d say it’ll only get busier. Loads of quieter side streets closed off that kids can run around on. Funfair at the far end of the Quay where you’ll be properly gouged and full of young travelers and scum but kids will enjoy it anyway
Kelly’s on the corner, €6 a pint. Or as i seen loads of lads doing, bring a backpack of cans. Sorted. Lads were getting into the marquees with them as well.
I wonder if the irony is lost on the lads inside of the fact that a bunch of bible bashers are standing outside?
I don’t get it?
Bible bashers outside Visit Belfast shop.
I’m afraid I still don’t get it
FOGRA Cheeky Cod excellent sea food option on the Quay…possible connection with La Cote Restaurant?
Good session in Sinotts open air bar on the quay …not too any people joining in with chorus of Celtic Symphony at aporox 5 pm.
Got talking to a fleadh family who complained about difficulty qualifying from wexford because of tough competition within the county.
Apparently, according to this wexford Mammy its much easier to qualify from counties with an Anglo Norman tradition like kilkenny where the competion is non existent !
Signing and singing in. Richie Lawlor serving pints in Bugler Doyle’s. The ageless George O’ Connor enjoying the festivities too.
One of the first proper sessions I ever had as a young lad was at Feile na Gael which held in Wexford in 98. We were paired with Faythe (Fight) Harriers. I was only 16 rising 17, were with a mixed group of young lads and lenient parents in the Wrens Nest. George O’Connor and Tom Dempsey were there and fell in with us for a sing song. Great fun.
Whole thing nearly came a cropper when we order 4 whiskeys, one of the mothers declared we could drink the pints but no way were we having whiskey. 5 minutes later a right auld lad was sneaking the whiskeys from in front of the mother and under the table to us. “I love to see the young fellas drink a drop”
Calling in tomorrow for the 1st time, pretty much exact same vibe as last year?
The ploughing was in Wexford in 1998 too. A bus load of us got fairly hammered, which wasn’t the best look for the two young teachers trying to get us sobered up on the long drive home.
One year and Anna Mai told them to fuck off. You couldn’t get in nor out of the place. @carryharry will tell you all about it.
I see Ed Sheeran giving it large down there today
Twas soft ground alright. Didn’t see any ploughing tbh. Spent most of the day in the beer tent.
It’s like Italia ‘90 down in Wexford, amplified now by Ed Sheeran’s appearance. People have gone stone mad. I was down the weekend before last, happy to give Fleadh a miss but sure lookit…there’s nothing wrong with people enjoying themselves.