[quote=“Rocko”]Thought Whelan was better than Andrews but there’s not much else I’d dispute there in the Irish ratings anyway. Doyle actually, thought he was decent enough. 4 marks for McShane for the block I assume, everything else was regrettably dreadful.
Lloris was the best player over the two legs by a distance.[/quote]
i cant stand doyle- they keep going on about the shift he puts in which is a thinly veiled “he has no skill” - work hard but kept falling over & giving it away - a windbag too
Understandable mistake from the officials who were otherwise excellent. Happened on the blindside and it’s a black or white call.
For McShane there’s no decision to be made. His bread and butter should be dealing with balls with that. He’s supposed to be a centre half. Not trying to start a witch-hunt here but it was a free kick from 40 yards out pretty much dead straight. McShane allowed it to drop over his head and bounce in the box. Once that happened we were in deep trouble.
Officials made a mistake at that stage but to be honest once we let the ball bounce there it was in the lap of the gods what happened.
[quote=“Rocko”]Understandable mistake from the officials who were otherwise excellent. Happened on the blindside and it’s a black or white call.
For McShane there’s no decision to be made. His bread and butter should be dealing with balls with that. He’s supposed to be a centre half. Not trying to start a witch-hunt here but it was a free kick from 40 yards out pretty much dead straight. McShane allowed it to drop over his head and bounce in the box. Once that happened we were in deep trouble.
Officials made a mistake at that stage but to be honest once we let the ball bounce there it was in the lap of the gods what happened.[/quote]
want on the blindide of the lineman- he mised the offside & the handball-woeful - mchane is a liability- he should have attacked the ball but fouls as blatant have to be called
giles going on about tephen reid should have been playing- loaned out to QPR to get fitness should have been playing though:rolleyes:
He tends to do that occasionally. Just crazy errors that hold him back from being world class imo. Remember an awful mistake against Wales a couple of years back too.
Fair play to Trapp cos that defence was an absolute shambles when he took over. First off he made O’Shea and Dunne into an excellent partnership. O’Shea has improved beyond recognition in this campaign for Ireland. Then he had to break it up cos we literally had no one to play right back and brought St.Ledger in from the Championship after one friendly game to play in Sofia. That was a huge gamble but worked. Kilbane had to play left back cos we have noone else. Yet we kept a clean sheet in 90 mins in Paris and that includes bringing on our Gus Caesar - Paul McShane.
Obviously the holding midfielders protected the back four and again he deserves credit here. He made unpopular calls with Whelan and Andrews. Both had poor games at times throughout the campaign but against the better sides acquitted themselves well. Up front despite limited service, Robbie Keane had his best goalscoring campaign. Only negative was his partnership with Kevin Doyle never prospered. Our widemen were hit and miss and for the Euros I hope Andy Reid will be given a chance to shine. Think tonight when our full backs supported them we looked a better side and hopefully this can be developed for the next campaign.
Gibson has looked tidy for me in a United shirt when I have seen him so hopefully he can press on. Other than that unfortunately we will have to go chasing the Jamie O’Hara’s of this world
what are they on about ireland saying last week! same thing as always let us down an inability to score goals…when is the last time we scored more than one goal against a decent side… i cant think of any…even northern ireland carry more of a goal threat than us… not really criticizing the team but you know im right…
[quote=“KIB man”]He tends to do that occasionally. Just crazy errors that hold him back from being world class imo. Remember an awful mistake against Wales a couple of years back too.
Fair play to Trapp cos that defence was an absolute shambles when he took over. First off he made O’Shea and Dunne into an excellent partnership. O’Shea has improved beyond recognition in this campaign for Ireland. Then he had to break it up cos we literally had no one to play right back and brought St.Ledger in from the Championship after one friendly game to play in Sofia. That was a huge gamble but worked. Kilbane had to play left back cos we have noone else. Yet we kept a clean sheet in 90 mins in Paris and that includes bringing on our Gus Caesar - Paul McShane.
Obviously the holding midfielders protected the back four and again he deserves credit here. He made unpopular calls with Whelan and Andrews. Both had poor games at times throughout the campaign but against the better sides acquitted themselves well. Up front despite limited service, Robbie Keane had his best goalscoring campaign. Only negative was his partnership with Kevin Doyle never prospered. Our widemen were hit and miss and for the Euros I hope Andy Reid will be given a chance to shine. Think tonight when our full backs supported them we looked a better side and hopefully this can be developed for the next campaign.
Gibson has looked tidy for me in a United shirt when I have seen him so hopefully he can press on. Other than that unfortunately we will have to go chasing the Jamie O’Hara’s of this world[/quote]
Agree with the rest of it, but jaysus that bit would turn my stomach, it might be true but it still turns my stomach. Something needs to be done about Don Givens because the cunt is souring youngsters who should be being nurtured into the Irish set up. He’s a poisonous old cunt and should be weeded out.
[quote=“Rocko”]
Officials made a mistake at that stage but to be honest once we let the ball bounce there it was in the lap of the gods what happened.[/quote]
don’t know about that…Macshane might have made a judegement call that that ball could not be legitimately got at so he let it go…if thats the case then he was right…if he had stuck his leg at that it would have went goal ward…let down by the officals on 3 counts…offside by french lad that jumped with dunne and then henry’s double handball…he’d nearly have been done for steps if he as playing gaelic football…
never been a fan of henry…HATE THE CUNT…after arsenal’s champs league final defeat to barca a few years back he wouldn’t shake hands with barca players and saying they were cheats…and then the the way he sat down beside Dunne after the match would make you sick…as if he felt bad about it…for all his money and va va voom he lacks class…always has always will…moaning hen tackled like a a baby and a cheat to boot… mad::mad::mad:
Some kick in the hole for all of us, me included, who’ve been laughing every time they see Maradona’s handball against England over the last 23 years.
Same thing to all intents and purposes.
Find it hard to criticise McShane too much. He let the ball go with it flying at a fast speed and Henry standing on the line and right on top of Given. Without handballing it the very maximum he can do is chest it straight into Given’s arms. And even that would be unlikely.
Without the handball that ball flies straight out of play and no one says a word about McShane.
There’s no doubt he’s not good enough but he did make one brilliant block just after coming on and I thought wasn’t bad on the night.
They’re completely overrating Duff on RTE, he was class in first half but was completely fucked from very far out. Should have brought him off instead of Lawrence who looks like he could have ran all night.
Souness the cunt going on earlier about trawling England for lads with a drop of Irish blood. Fuck that shite.
ah jesus NCC the guy was out on his feet there tonite,
i thought he gave 110%,
look, i think at heart he knows he’s not up to scratch but the until the manager substitutes him he can only only do his best and he always does.
i thought after 70 mins his touch was totally gone from sheer exhaustion, he ran the fuck out of it all night and i cannot fault kevin doyle.
i watched the game in arabic so i have no choice but to make my own analysis as i’ve no dunphy to enlighten me but i though Damien Duff had a savage match, the greatest game i’ve seen him play since that night against spain in WC 2002.
im proud of each and every one if those lads, fair fucks to them all but im absolutely sick and gutted here in tel aviv tonite… Duff was on the verge of tears there at the end and to be honest i wasn’t far off myself…
[quote=“mickee321”]ah jesus NCC the guy was out on his feet there tonite,
i thought he gave 110%,
look, i think at heart he knows he’s not up to scratch but the until the manager substitutes him he can only only do his best and he always does.
i thought after 70 mins his touch was totally gone from sheer exhaustion, he ran the fuck out of it all night and i cannot fault kevin doyle.
i watched the game in arabic so i have no choice but to make my own analysis as i’ve no dunphy to enlighten me but i though Damien Duff had a savage match, the greatest game i’ve seen him play since that night against spain in WC 2002.
im proud of each and every one if those lads, fair fucks to them all but im absolutely sick and gutted here in tel aviv tonite… Duff was on the verge of tears there at the end and to be honest i wasn’t far off myself…[/quote]
Not doubting that Duff played well enough but really think ye are going OTT on his performance. If you look back on the 2nd half of that game, you will see he won a lot of ball but then gave it away with silly, inaccurate passes.
Glenn Whelan is also incapable of opening up on the ball to his left hand side. If he gets it from the left, he needs to turn 270 degrees to play it forward and invariably ends up playing it backwards.