This result has just shown up the fundamental flaw with Soccer. The governing bodies completely backward view on reviewing incidents on camera needs to be addressed and quickly. It’s not that hard to implement for fuck sake.
Possibly but McShane should have just judged it properly and headed it clear. He got caught in two minds and did neither. Dunne maybe slightly misjudged it aswell ahead of him. Given came for a lot more than usual but was edgy in extra time I thought. Two penalties he should have conceded in the tie imo.
Say what you will about “rogbee”, and you will, but at least they’ve embraced technology.
They need umpires like the GAA
NCC you go on about space being the key to football and then slate Kvin doyle - Irelands chief user of space…he runs his fookin bollox off into positions that aren’t always rewarding in an effort to bring team mates into play…he can’t stand like keane for every ball hoping its a through ball on goal or behind defender hoping he misses it…you need a variation…doyle was absolutely shattered hence his touch as gone from 20 minutes out…
Duff played well and worked hard…still really didn’t go past anyone…had a good one two for the goal…showed signs of coming back to some form…no more…
Each coach should have 3 TV review challenges per half. The coach should have a red flag stored inside one of his socks and he should indicate that he’s availing of one of his challenges by throwing the flag onto the pitch. If a challenge is not upheld then the team should lose one of their time-outs.
Anyone else think that McGeady was shite when he came on?
He had a chance to whip in a ball at one stage and put the head down, decided to take on Sagna and lost it.
His freekick at the end was criminal as well.
Himself and Andrews both need to have more belief in themselves when they get the ball. They aint worldbeaters on the ball but they are tidy passers nonetheless. Gibson looks far more assured when he gets it.
Still though if you had said at the start of this campaign that an Irish midfield of Whelan (stoke reserve at the time) and Andrews (prob with MK Dons) would completely outplay Alou and Lassana Diarra you probably would have been carried off to the loony bin.
Ridiculous comment…
why not say American football??..they were miles ahead of rugby in this regard!!.. they are somewhat similar sports …stop startish in nature…rugby and soccer aren’t similar…how you can compare them is baffling…
[quote=“scumpot”]NCC you go on about space being the key to football and then slate Kvin doyle - Irelands chief user of space…he runs his fookin bollox off into positions that aren’t always rewarding in an effort to bring team mates into play…he can’t stand like keane for every ball hoping its a through ball on goal or behind defender hoping he misses it…you need a variation…doyle was absolutely shattered hence his touch as gone from 20 minutes out…
Duff played well and worked hard…still really didn’t go past anyone…had a good one two for the goal…showed signs of coming back to some form…no more…[/quote]
Keane’s workrate over both ties was supreme.
[quote=“scumpot”]Ridiculous comment…
why not say American football??..they were miles ahead of rugby in this regard!!.. they are somewhat similar sports …stop startish in nature…rugby and soccer aren’t similar…how you can compare them is baffling…[/quote]
Technology is technology, I have more of an affinity with rugby, thats why I mentioned that.
The Irish players spent over a minute remonstrating with the ref, it’s the same with every contincious decision, 30 seconds with a video ref and it would all have been sorted.
[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Anyone else think that McGeady was shite when he came on?
He had a chance to whip in a ball at one stage and put the head down, decided to take on Sagna and lost it.
His freekick at the end was criminal as well.[/quote]
it was his first few touches when he took on sagna in fairness to him and he as trying to get up to the pace of game…at least he as trying something different like going past someone…
[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Anyone else think that McGeady was shite when he came on?
His freekick at the end was criminal as well.[/quote]
Thought he was lively enough and would have introduced him sooner. But he delivers fuck all anyway at this level.
Tonight proved to me that following our team in soccer means a million times more than that bullshit sport
[quote=“KIB man”]
Tonight proved to me that following our team in soccer means a million times more than that bullshit sport[/quote]
Little relevance to the discussion of the night.
Lads we are all heartbroken,this sickens me to the core but I am wearing my jersey with immense pride right now,this was a fantastic performance by a team of slightly above average players who always up their game against big teams.We made absolute shit of France away and beat them by playing some cracking football,we have played both finalists of the last world cup and imo we got the better of both of them.Finally I watched this game with my 80 year old grandfather who may not live to see another wc but he said after the game that Ireland played a game so good that it was like a wc final and I could see the pride in his eyes,lads that’s what it’s all about,thank you Trap and every single player involved for this adventure.Stand tall tonight lads.
Great interview with Kilbane there - he’s an awfully sound character and I would happily welcome into my circle of friends.
Why did Trappatoni have a card stuck around his neck all through the match?
[quote=“KIB man”]
Tonight proved to me that following our team in soccer means a million times more than that bullshit sport[/quote]
Yep, Kilbane is a pet hate of mine but then you hear him talk and it makes it truly hard not to like him. He comes across every time as a truly alright sort. He gives his all every time, what more can you ask for.
Poor aul Trap, as he said there, Korea and now this.