France Versus Ireland Second Leg

[quote=“briantinnion”]“What a city, what a night, what a crowd, what a goal, what a mistake, what a w*nker you have for a No. 12.”

http://www.virginmedia.com/images/winner-u2-431x300.jpg[/quote]

[quote=“briantinnion”]Farmer is fairly cantankerous this evening.

Do you have a pain in your belly or something Farmer?[/quote]

I am actually in good form Tinnion. Just some ridiculous shite been spouted.

Looking forward to starting a good game of astro this evening.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]I am actually in good form Tinnion. Just some ridiculous shite been spouted.

Looking forward to starting a good game of astro this evening.[/quote]

Bit of a dirty dig Farmer. I’m just happy to be back in the squad and all I can do is keep playing well in training and for the reserves and I’ll be back where I belong.

Anyone think about Trappatoni’s interpreter in all of this?

Poor chick.

robbie keane was very good last. took his goal well(it was more than just a tap in). he has 41 goals for ireland and invariably when ireland get an important goal, its keane that scores. btw he is also in the top ten premiership scorers of all time.(go to wiki if you dont believe me). the only striker he doesnt have a hope of catching is shearer. (himself and michael owen are the only 2 in the top 10 still playing)

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Anyone think about Trappatoni’s interpreter in all of this?

Poor chick.[/quote]

She was interviewed by Tony O Donoghue on RTE after the game. Said she was upset and angry.
I don’t think she speaks English though as she had to give her answers to Trap in Italian and then he answered Tony in English.

[quote=“Monkey Allen”]She was interviewed by Tony O Donoghue on RTE after the game. Said she was upset and angry.
I don’t think she speaks English though as she had to give her answers to Trap in Italian and then he answered Tony in English.[/quote]

Gallas and Henry hatch their evil plot in a FIFA safe house days before the game

http://bejata.com/arts/images/ep33_stringer_avon1.jpg

Taoiseach Brian Cowen said he would raise the disputed goal with French president Nicolas Sarkozy on the fringes of this evenings EU summit, adding that the Government will support the FAIs call for a rematch.

Next week: Brian Cowen demands an emergency summit with Gordon Brown at Downing St to protest against those gimpy twins losing on X Factor.

Usually get over defeat of a match in 24 hours but this is a lot different firstly because I have never wanted a team to succeed more and secondly because what happened was just injust. For whatever reason I wasn’t aware how blatant the cheating was last night and took in a bit by Sounness argument that it wasn’t meant but having watched footage several times Henry clearly means second handball. His reaction afterwards was the worst part. P-ssing me off a bit by some people going on about how this happens week in week out in England or whatever. To be perfectly honest this is far bigger than that and most incidents aren’t as blatant as this one. This was biggest game of career for all the players last night and to have it taken away from that last night is genuine tragedy and pity is that some of them like Kilbane and Duff probably won’t get the opportunity again. Cowen’s interventions while welcome look pathetically done. Big smirk on his face when interviewed about it on the news. You might not genuinely care Brian but many of us do.

[quote=“SoulDressing”]Gallas and Henry hatch their evil plot in a FIFA safe house days before the game

http://bejata.com/arts/images/ep33_stringer_avon1.jpg[/quote]

you’re right they do all look the same.

[quote=“Bandage”]Good post.

And where the fuck is Bono? If this was France versus some shithole in Africa then the cunt would be all over it.[/quote]

Jim Corr has announced that John O’Shea and the international gay mafia are implicated. More to follow.

Why do you think Cowen’s interventions are welcome Larry? Do you believe the game should be replayed? I can’t think of a worse precedent that could be set. I agree that this was an egregious error by the officials but where do you draw the line?

In any case, I can’t see any reason why politicians should get involved with stuff that happens on the pitch. Shouldn’t it be left to the sporting organisations?

[quote=“braz83”]Why do you think Cowen’s interventions are welcome Larry? Do you believe the game should be replayed? I can’t think of a worse precedent that could be set. I agree that this was an egregious error by the officials but where do you draw the line?

In any case, I can’t see any reason why politicians should get involved with stuff that happens on the pitch. Shouldn’t it be left to the sporting organisations?[/quote]

Think he should as he is representative of Irish people. When blatant cheating is involved in one of most important world games of year (not EPL, not Champions League but genuine game of massive world interest) then I think its fair to see game should be replayed. Cheating shouldn’t be rewarded so blatantly.

he’d be better served trying to keep the country afloat than worrying about some football result…especially considering our own striker tried to handle the ball at least 3 times…

Well he could possibly worry about both. If there is a replay the offer has to come from the french. Fifa can’t demand it, although they could conceivably pressure the french into doing so.

Getting a red X at home as well :confused:

Its a picture that’s supposed to be uploaded to TFK. Its fucked up for some reason.

You’ve set a double bar for replaying the game:

• Must be ‘one of most important world games of year’. (You deem that to be a WC qualifier, others may differ. Would it just be a playoff or any vital qualifier? CL Final even wouldn’t qualify?)
  • ‘Blatant cheating’ must be involved. (Best of luck drawing the line on definition of blatant there.)

Don’t get me wrong. I’m hugely pissed off by last night’s outcome. I just can’t see how the game can be replayed. Would there be a special FIFA/UEFA/National FA panel to decide whether your two hurdles have been met? I just can’t see how it’s workable.

Cowen should concentrate on governing the country and leave these matters to the FAI, and possibly the Minister for Sport. Believe it or not, there are more important matters he should be focussed on. His ‘intervention’ is merely to gain a few headlines and curry favour with the Liveline brigade.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Anyone think about Trappatoni’s interpreter in all of this?

Poor chick.[/quote]

A mate of mine was sitting beside Manuela on Saturday at Croker, “if we score I will hug you, OK”, to say he was baying for a goal would be an understatement :clap: