France Versus Ireland Second Leg

[quote=“braz83”]You’ve set a double bar for replaying the game:

• Must be ‘one of most important world games of year’. (You deem that to be a WC qualifier, others may differ. Would it just be a playoff or any vital qualifier? CL Final even wouldn’t qualify?)
  • ‘Blatant cheating’ must be involved. (Best of luck drawing the line on definition of blatant there.)

Don’t get me wrong. I’m hugely pissed off by last night’s outcome. I just can’t see how the game can be replayed. Would there be a special FIFA/UEFA/National FA panel to decide whether your two hurdles have been met? I just can’t see how it’s workable.

Cowen should concentrate on governing the country and leave these matters to the FAI, and possibly the Minister for Sport. Believe it or not, there are more important matters he should be focussed on. His ‘intervention’ is merely to gain a few headlines and curry favour with the Liveline brigade.[/quote]

[quote=“braz83”]You’ve set a double bar for replaying the game:

• Must be ‘one of most important world games of year’. (You deem that to be a WC qualifier, others may differ. Would it just be a playoff or any vital qualifier? CL Final even wouldn’t qualify?)
  • ‘Blatant cheating’ must be involved. (Best of luck drawing the line on definition of blatant there.)

Don’t get me wrong. I’m hugely pissed off by last night’s outcome. I just can’t see how the game can be replayed. Would there be a special FIFA/UEFA/National FA panel to decide whether your two hurdles have been met? I just can’t see how it’s workable.

Cowen should concentrate on governing the country and leave these matters to the FAI, and possibly the Minister for Sport. Believe it or not, there are more important matters he should be focussed on. His ‘intervention’ is merely to gain a few headlines and curry favour with the Liveline brigade.[/quote]

Not saying the game will be replayed but saying it should be. For me last night was bigger than CL Final yes and I think if you asked John O’Shea he’d give you same answer. If was similar incident in major game like Champions League final then why not replay game if circumstances like score and time left dictate.
Blatant cheating= Diving to win a goal(which Anelka did) or handball like last night to win goal
Fair play my arse.

[quote=“larryduff”]Not saying the game will be replayed but saying it should be. For me last night was bigger than CL Final yes and I think if you asked John O’Shea he’d give you same answer. If was similar incident in major game like Champions League final then why not replay game if circumstances like score and time left dictate.
Blatant cheating= Diving to win a goal(which Anelka did) or handball like last night to win goal
Fair play my arse.[/quote]

But Robbie Keand handled the ball three times last night…

I am all for seeing if we can give FIFA a headache and the FFF a guilt trip, but there’s no dignity in it

[quote=“larryduff”]Not saying the game will be replayed but saying it should be. For me last night was bigger than CL Final yes and I think if you asked John O’Shea he’d give you same answer. If was similar incident in major game like Champions League final then why not replay game if circumstances like score and time left dictate.
Fair play my arse.[/quote]
Life’s not fair.

You’re completely ignoring the precedent this would set. I’d say a good 1 in 20 games in future would end up with protests being lodged if this game was replayed.

henry didnt cheat last night - he used cunning to get an advantage- thats a positive thing- the ref & lineman ineptitude cost us

close the thread

[quote=“Sledgehammer”]But Robbie Keand handled the ball three times last night…

I am all for seeing if we can give FIFA a headache and the FFF a guilt trip, but there’s no dignity in it[/quote]

None were comparable imo and not convinced they were as blatanly deliberate.
I accept I may be running ahead of myself and wanting replay but fook it just ain’t fair. Sickens me. As said last night we won’t get another opportunity to play in world cup for another four years so not league we will get another chance in few months. I’m involved in football in schools in Ireland and been fed load of propoganda about Fair Play coming from UEFA and FFIA and all but to be honest entire budget in Ireland was wasted after last night!

The games shouldn’t be replayed.

So says I and what I says has been said.

[quote=“Flano”]The games shouldn’t be replayed.

So says I and what I says has been said.[/quote]

:clap::clap::clap:

close the thread please dunph

case closed

[quote=“north county corncrake”]henry didnt cheat last night - he used cunning to get an advantage- thats a positive thing- the ref & lineman ineptitude cost us

close the thread[/quote]

The ineptitude of being deceived by the same “cunning” you admire? :rolleyes:

[quote=“Sledgehammer”][FONT=Helv][SIZE=2][FONT=Helv][SIZE=2]Best away performance in 20 years, we can only be proud of them, especially the midfielders. To the Andy Reid cult; please close the door on your way out.
[/SIZE][/FONT][/SIZE][/FONT][/quote]

:clap::clap:

yes- a player is meant to be cunning- a ref is meant to catch them out- i wish we had more players with cunning instead of that cunt doyle who runs a lot & falls over a lot

Of course the game shouldn’t be fucking replayed. :rolleyes:

I swear, this country has gotten twice as stupid in the space of 24 hours.

[quote=“braz83”]Life’s not fair.

You’re completely ignoring the precedent this would set. I’d say a good 1 in 20 games in future would end up with protests being lodged if this game was replayed.[/quote]

For such an important game I think it is worth considering. Over course of League etc argument can be made that things balance themselves out but that clearly isn’t the case here.
Game has been replayed before of course.

FIFA confirmed today that the result of the 2006 FIFA World Cup Germany™ qualifying match between Uzbekistan and Bahrain on 3 September 2005 has been declared invalid and must be replayed. In order to respect the drawn order of the matches, the first leg is to be replayed in Uzbekistan on 8 October 2005, with the second leg match to be rescheduled for 12 October 2005 in Bahrain.

The decision was taken by the Bureau of the 2006 FIFA World Cup Germany™ Organising Committee following a formal protest from the Uzbekistan Football Federation concerning a technical error by the referee of the match.

According to Art. 12.4 (b) and 14.1 of the Regulations for the 2006 FIFA World Cup™, all protests, including those against technical errors committed by referees, are to be decided by the Organising Committee for the 2006 FIFA World Cup Germany™. A bureau of the Organising Committee may pass a decision in lieu of the plenary committee in urgent matters.

The Bureau, composed of Chairman Lennart Johansson, Deputy Chairman Julio Grondona, Dr Chung Mong Joon and FIFA General Secretary Urs Linsi, took the decision based on the following facts:

1. At the score of 1-0 in favour of Uzbekistan, in the 39th minute of the match, the referee decided to award a penalty kick to Uzbekistan;
  2. The penalty kick was taken and led to goal in favour of Uzbekistan;
  3. Before the penalty kick was carried out, an Uzbek player entered the penalty area;
  4. Consequently, the referee awarded an indirect free kick to the Bahrain team;
  5. However, in such a situation, the Laws of the Game require the referee to order the penalty kick to be retaken;
  6. The captain of Uzbekistan team protested to the referee immediately after the mistake had taken place and before the game had restarted. This protest was confirmed after the match;
  7. This technical error was confirmed by the match commissioner and the referee inspector in their respective reports;
  8. Uzbekistan protested the decision of the referee in a written request, asking for the match to be “cancelled” and be evaluated with a 3-0 forfeit result;

The bureau, taking into consideration that the referee in the match in question had indeed committed a technical error, established that, as a consequence, the match needed to be replayed. As a result, the protest put forward by the Uzbekistan team for the match to be considered a forfeit with a 3–0 result is rejected. In accordance with Art. 12.6 of the Regulations 2006 FIFA World Cup Germany™, this decision is final and binding.

Horrible Rovers pig Noel Hunt is not happy anyway :smiley:

http://twitter.com/boyhunt

So the SA Organising Commitee would be the ones to decide on any ojections lodged? It was their statements that gave rise to the conspiracy theories in the first place. Eh… good luck John.

[quote=“larryduff”]For such an important game I think it is worth considering. Over course of League etc argument can be made that things balance themselves out but that clearly isn’t the case here.

FIFA confirmed today that the result of the 2006 FIFA World Cup Germany™ qualifying match between Uzbekistan and Bahrain on 3 September 2005 has been declared invalid and must be replayed. In order to respect the drawn order of the matches, the first leg is to be replayed in Uzbekistan on 8 October 2005, with the second leg match to be rescheduled for 12 October 2005 in Bahrain.

The decision was taken by the Bureau of the 2006 FIFA World Cup Germany™ Organising Committee following a formal protest from the Uzbekistan Football Federation concerning a technical error by the referee of the match.

According to Art. 12.4 (b) and 14.1 of the Regulations for the 2006 FIFA World Cup™, all protests, including those against technical errors committed by referees, are to be decided by the Organising Committee for the 2006 FIFA World Cup Germany™. A bureau of the Organising Committee may pass a decision in lieu of the plenary committee in urgent matters.

The Bureau, composed of Chairman Lennart Johansson, Deputy Chairman Julio Grondona, Dr Chung Mong Joon and FIFA General Secretary Urs Linsi, took the decision based on the following facts:

1. At the score of 1-0 in favour of Uzbekistan, in the 39th minute of the match, the referee decided to award a penalty kick to Uzbekistan;
  3. Before the penalty kick was carried out, an Uzbek player entered the penalty area;
  5. However, in such a situation, the Laws of the Game require the referee to order the penalty kick to be retaken;
  6. The captain of Uzbekistan team protested to the referee immediately after the mistake had taken place and before the game had restarted. This protest was confirmed after the match;
  7. This technical error was confirmed by the match commissioner and the referee inspector in their respective reports;
  8. Uzbekistan protested the decision of the referee in a written request, asking for the match to be “cancelled” and be evaluated with a 3-0 forfeit result;

The bureau, taking into consideration that the referee in the match in question had indeed committed a technical error, established that, as a consequence, the match needed to be replayed. As a result, the protest put forward by the Uzbekistan team for the match to be considered a forfeit with a 3–0 result is rejected. In accordance with Art. 12.6 of the Regulations 2006 FIFA World Cup Germany™, this decision is final and binding.[/quote]
I think FIFA made a bad mistake in allowing this game to be replayed, for the very reason that people are citing it as a precedent for this now. If this one is replayed, the floodgates open. The precedent isn’t wholly relevant though, because no technical error was made here. The referee presumably did not see the handball last night, as opposed to getting one of the laws of the game wrong as in the Uzbekistan case.

todays fiver :D:clap:

THE INCREASINGLY BAD LUCK OF THE IRISH

Stepping over our red-haired, green-felt-hat-wearing alcoholic Irish cousin Theme Pub O’Fiver as he lay unconscious in a pool of his own sick in the wake of Ireland’s defeat at the hands of France this morning, the Fiver wondered what sort of state the poor fellow would have been in if he’d come to after Saturday’s match in time for last night’s second leg.

Considering how enraged most of his compatriots are by the chicanery employed by Thierry Henry to set up France’s winner, it’s probably fair to say poor old Theme Pub would have been furious: waving his knobbly stick in the air while writing maudlin ballads about the injustice of it all. Angry fiddle and accordion-driven dirges that would have culminated with Theme Pub finding some way to lay the blame for last night’s atrocity squarely at the feet of “de feckin’ Brits”.

But even without poor old Theme Pub, the procession of Irish notables queuing up to lament the latest travesty visited upon their notoriously oppressed nation has been a long one. A noted Jesus-freak and homophobe whose career highlights include making “blasphemy” a criminal offence in Ireland, buffoonish justice minister Dermot Ahern made a complete tool of himself by declaring “we should put the powers that be in the cosy world of Fifa on the spot and demand a replay”. To their eternal credit and these are words the Fiver doesn’t use in conjunction with Sepp Blatter Inc very often Fifa told him to sling it, correctly pointing out that “the decisions of the referee regarding facts connected with play are final”.

And as Irish fan forums and spanking new Thierry Henry Is An Awful Bollix Facebook pages simmered with the gripes and grumbles of the Best Fans In The World, Ireland’s players chained themselves to the railings outside Fifa HQ holding placards marked “Careful now!” and “Down with this sort of thing!”. Their understandably upset spokesman Robbie Keane did his bit to deflect attention away from assorted glaring misses, saying: “They’re all probably clapping hands, Platini sitting up there on the phone to Sepp Blatter, probably texting each other, delighted with the result.” Coming from the man who blamed the Irish media for Stan “Steve” Staunton’s shortcomings as a manager, his grievances sounded slightly hollow.

But this just in (well, it was in ages ago, but acknowledging that would involve having to fiddle around with paragraph three, which would involve too much effort): the Craggy Island-dwelling blazer-ridden shambles that passes for Irish football’s governing body, the FAI, have called on Fifa to give them a replay, stating there is a precedent involving Uzbekistan and Bahrain. “The FAI is hoping that Fifa and its disciplinary committee will, on behalf of football fans worldwide, act in a similar fashion so that the standards of fair play and integrity can be protected,” they yarooed, fooling nobody by emphasising that a replay would be in the best interests of football fans and the game, rather than those of the FAI.

QUOTE OF THE DAY

“I am very happy because we have found justice in the world. We played, we won and we just say to Egypt, ‘Shut up!’” - Pope’s O’Rangers and Algeria defender Madjid Bougherra reacts to his team’s World Cup play-off win over Egypt with typically good grace.

[quote=“larryduff”]For such an important game I think it is worth considering. Over course of League etc argument can be made that things balance themselves out but that clearly isn’t the case here.

FIFA confirmed today that the result of the 2006 FIFA World Cup Germany qualifying match between Uzbekistan and Bahrain on 3 September 2005 has been declared invalid and must be replayed. In order to respect the drawn order of the matches, the first leg is to be replayed in Uzbekistan on 8 October 2005, with the second leg match to be rescheduled for 12 October 2005 in Bahrain.

The decision was taken by the Bureau of the 2006 FIFA World Cup Germany Organising Committee following a formal protest from the Uzbekistan Football Federation concerning a technical error by the referee of the match.

According to Art. 12.4 (b) and 14.1 of the Regulations for the 2006 FIFA World Cup, all protests, including those against technical errors committed by referees, are to be decided by the Organising Committee for the 2006 FIFA World Cup Germany. A bureau of the Organising Committee may pass a decision in lieu of the plenary committee in urgent matters.

The bureau, taking into consideration that the referee in the match in question had indeed committed a technical error, established that, as a consequence, the match needed to be replayed. As a result, the protest put forward by the Uzbekistan team for the match to be considered a forfeit with a 30 result is rejected. In accordance with Art. 12.6 of the Regulations 2006 FIFA World Cup Germany, this decision is final and binding.[/quote]

There is no dignity in all this bleating though, we have to accept it and get over it.

Marcelo Bielsa is now a national hero in Chile after coaching the country to qualification for the 2010 World Cup. He says: “The best moments in my life, in which I have progressed, have to do with failure. Success is deforming, it relaxes one, it deceives, it makes us worse, it helps us to fall too much in love with ourselves”.

Marcelo knows the score [http://thebohs.com/forum/images/smiles/109.gif](javascript:emoticon(’:smt109’))

They should replay it as part of a double header Croke Park.Replay the AI Hurling Final as well because in the interests of fair play, the ref incorrectly awarded KK a penalty for their 1st goal and then missed a blatant push in the build up to KK’s second goal.
Honestly what the fuck is this country coming too, 50 year old men crying on Gerry Ryan this morning, the Liveline brigade having a field day. Ireland were very unlucky that the officials missed the handball, they gave a display that bodes well for the next qualifying campaign. All the hand wringing in the world won’t change the result of last nights’ game.

Seems we cant just take our beating. Its a little sickening to be honest. Let it go everyone.

Last night showed that we can play a bit. Robbie Keane dropping deeper offered a passing option to our central midfielders constantly. Same as our wide players, Lawrence in particular tucking in. The problem with the flat 442 as employed by us for the majority of the campaign is that our players were too isolated up front. The distance between our central midfielders and strikers was too much and our wide players were typically stuck to the sideline. Last night we were much more fluid tactically and as a result Andrews and Whelan had far more options to pass the ball to than before. Going forward id love to see our full backs push on more like Kilbane last night for the goal. The best way to defend it to keep the ball. We kept a clean sheet in Paris last night playing in such a manner so hopefully that is the way we will continue.

In saying that, how Keane dropped deep for the ball to feet it was criminal how the two Diarra’s failed to close off this avenue at all for the whole game. France were incredibly poor and this whole national outrage imo has more to do with how we should have won by two clear goals in normal time rather than by Henry’s handball.

Rock, u still hoping to get paid for your indepth analysis? :smiley: , sit back for 70 mins, high balls down the touchline etc. I’d worry for the TFK astro team this year if a tactical neanderthal like yourself has sway over important decisions.