Davy has a lot more about him as a manager than Derek. If he can get Waterford playing like he had Wexford playing in 2019 they’ll be in a good position
He was very close to figuring something out with Wexford early on with deep runners from midfield and half back but his innate negativity killed them. I would say Waterford have more potential than Wexford but he will have to evolve
Bizarre as it sounds I think Davy would suit Dublin. He’d get more buy in imo.
Lads, Davy will find a system but just not trust players beyond his first 10-12. For all the good he did for Wexford he plotted his own downfall by not giving a wider range of players a chance and by outcasting many others.
As @Big_Dan_Campbell always comes back to, he’ll find his favourites and they’ll be beyond dropping regardless of how badly they play. And there’ll be lads on the bench with an arse full of splinters for the year. Year 1 will show encouragement, year 2 will be steady, and in year 3 the wheels will have fallen off with everyone wishing he walked away after year 1.
Sorry for your loss @Fagan_ODowd - at least it’ll get him off the Sunday Game
Will he bring cusack with him?
Derek to Dublin
I wonder will Davy mix up his Filling Station pit stop location to bring fresh impetus into his management career?
Amber on the Bansha Road has served him very well over the years but the time might be right to mix things up. The Tipp Town Plaza is an abomination. It could take 20 minutes to get in and out while the other two up the Limerick Road are at the opposite side of someone travelling from Sixmilebridge.
Toomeys of Monard out the road could tick all the right boxes and is pound for pound as good a Filling Station as there is in Munster.
See, there you are - penny wise and pound foolish. This guy needs a chopper to make a firm statement, OK having a car for tipping out to Lismore to consult with the Shanahans but the forward thinking, abrasive types go for gold from the off……A Sikorsky would be the business and forget about stopping at chip shops and that stuff.
Is Davy so mane that he’d opt for substandard petrol from Amber
You think he pays for daysel
Thats in 3/4 years now so it is.
The Galtee Service Station by The Plan is surely the choice here.
I’m intrigued by your take on Monard. It always struck me as a bit of a thrun together spot, but in fairness they were doing a bit of work on it the last time I was in.
Talty’s of Lissycasey would take beating for the Munster Title.
By all accounts one of the reasons it went south in Waterford for Cahill and Bevans was that the training regime was never tapered, as in Cahill knows no other way than to go 100 miles an hour all of the time. That’s grand for a while and you’ll get a serious bounce off a team in the short term, their work rate will go through the roof and they’ll look incredibly fit. But if you don’t win something in Year 1 or 2 then you’re fucked because it’s incredibly difficult to sustain that. You could see that with Waterford this season, 2020 huge improvements, 2021 still looked good but ultimately came up short, 2022 flying early on until the wheels eventually came off spectacularly. Crash and burn.
Imagine being a Waterford player after coming out of that regime where it was foot to the floor at all times and never anything else and facing into that demented little next year who only knows flog em, flog em and then flog em again only harder…Christ. The United States for a stint would look appealing.
That’s it an nutshell and why Davy is such an underwhelming appointment.
A load of aul bollocks imo
It isn’t. I heard that from a very good source.
It’ll work at Minor and u20s. If it doesn’t work in Year 1 at Senior level you’re on the back foot. You could’ve see in Waterford 2021 that the magic was starting to wear off a little…
It’s bollocks.
Bevans is a brilliant coach. Cahill is gruff but he’ll die for his lads.
Limerick are firmly planted in that Waterford panel’s psyche and they can’t go to the well unfortunately.
Dalo back to Dublin
There’s no doubt about it that Bevans is a brilliant coach and that Cahill is a very good manager. Not in dispute.
But it’s full duck or no dinner with them, there’s never an attempt to peak or prepare in a gradual manner. It’s foot to the floor from day one and all the way through. The evidence is there to be seen with Waterford sure. That’s what they believe in. There’s nothing wrong with it. It’s just a very short term bang for your buck before it no longer has an effect