No hurling at all, obviously talking limericks example with Kinnerk
Risky.
Galvin had serious hurling pedigree, played minor, under 21 with the kerry hurlers and a few matches for the seniors in the league , 4 senior hurling championship medals with Lixnaw, man of the match in a few finals
Mahony has zero hurling pedigree, never played it
His club Rathmore didnt play hurling in his time though hurling has gained a bit of a foothold there now, fielding minor hurling teams last 2 seasons and an adult team in 2022 for the first time in 30 years.
His appointment to the Crokes hurlers is not completely from leftfield. He lives in Killarney now, his kids are in the Dr Crokes club and Mahony did the s & c for the senior hurling team in 2022. Dr Crokes have a good few Guards from the big hurling counties playing for them so I suspect Mahony knows a few of them
Dr Crokes won the intermediate in kerry in 2020 and have been hanging around senior since then battling bravely but struggling a little , the team is made up of 50\50 local killarney players and then those have come from other counties to live in the area. There is a small cohort within the club trying very hard to push on the hurling overall within the club, a high profile appointment may assist the profile of hurling in the club and town
It is said that they will have a stronger team in 2023,one or two new arrivals to the town and they have a few players on the under 20 kerry hurling squad
anyways best of luck to Mahony and Crokes, sure did Paul Kinnerk play much hurling!
Did Gizzy Lyng ever line out with Tralee after? Man still looks starving.
yes
but for the club’s 2nd team in junior rather than their 1st team at intermediate
he didnt really give it much time is what I hear, just played a handful of matches
Is it not Dingle that Gizzy lives in now and not Tralee? Whatever carried him there ?
The inner turmoil of the battle of the human spirit
Liam Fennelly?
Gizzy never lived in Tralee, he was \is living west kerry direction , he signed up to Tralee Parnells for a bit of hurling as no hurling club in all of west kerry
Playing spud hockey for kerry isnt an achievememt mate
There are plenty barbers cutting 50 a week and telling the tax man they are cutting 250
Wild hurling
After a relegation, Laune Rangers shelled out good money to Liam Hassett on the strength of his promise to ‘get them straight out of that division within 12 months’. He was true to his word. They were relegated again before the year was out.
Bí cúramach.
Hassett was one of their own to make it worse
They paid one of their own?
Charging your own club is the lowest of the low.
I’d be flabbergasted to hear this was true. A monumentally cuntish act.
You’d be ran from most intermediate and junior clubs around the country if you looked for payment per session off your own.
Even lads over their own senior team are often happy with a few pints at Christmas or the odd physio bill for players to be covered.
I think if you are coaching your own club & you are proven you should be paid!! Grand to say you should do it for love of the club but coaching is now a business and you’d be down at least 5g if you were use to being paid