Gaa split season,killing Meath football since 2011

The success of the split season can be measured by the number of kids out looking for autographs after games and the length of time your Lee Chins and Patrick Horgans have to spend out on the pitch after a match posing for selfies and signing hurleys. You wouldn’t have seen much of that craic 6 or 7 years ago.

G’way to fuck.

There were exams and junior soccer 10 years ago too.

Hurling is a skilful game. Other such skilful games which take a lot more practise than say football or soccer have suffered massively.

You are know seriously shortening the window people play and train for hurling.

If you can’t see the impact that’ll have god help you.

I’ve done bits for 4 clubs this year, and we are the only one of those riding the crest of the wave, so to speak.

The others would be clubs who haven’t really had a good time of it recently. And they are all doing okay. I’ve been back further west in Limerick and there are teams getting surprisingly big numbers (obviously hurling in Limerick is flying at the moment).

The exams thing was always an issue but now, it’s actually pushed more on the county teams than club teams. We don’t need our college players to be killing themselves training now; we can afford for them to do their exams for a couple of weeks, without any massive consequences. And that’s the big bonus- teams know when they’ll be playing and can plan for it.

It allows fellas to do their exams, plan holidays, build their fitness, it’s great.

I’ve seen at least one person here call for a return to the 2017 format. I don’t disagree about the point of making the intercounty season shorter but there’s no appetite to do that. And most of the people backing you up here don’t want to do that; they want more intercounty, throughout the summer, and clubs to be left as an aside, with the shitty weather.

This whole GAA Go mess would be solved by making it a channel on the sky box/saorview. Streaming only is just making it needlessly difficult and not even just for the elderly but everybody

Pain in the hole watching an average quality stream on GAA go Vs Sky IMO…

So am I. With small numbers. They are really struggling at moment as good few lads involved in intercounty not available for league games with club.

Agreed

There is plenty wrong with the hurling format. It suits Cork, Tipp, Limerick and Clare as most of the pairings within those four are box office pairings and the counties are geographically backing onto each other.

It doesn’t suit Waterford as they hate their home venue and don’t seem to have a squad or mentality capable of cutting it in a round robin.

Leinster is a shambles, really. Kilkenny and Galway are miles ahead, Dublin and Wexford are locked in a perpetual struggle to be slightly less irrelevant than the other. Then you have two stragglers making up the numbers, and because its a round robin, the stragglers have no hope of being properly competitive and cannot keep up competitiveness year on year. None of the fixtures excite bar maybe Wexford v Kilkenny in Wexford. This is because it’s the only traditional local rivalry in the competition. There is such a geographical spread with the other counties. Kilkenny and Galway is not a rivalry that excites, they’re 120 miles from each other.

That’s the real crux of it. It’s older folk not being tech savvy causing problems… Obviously, they could have put one of the bigger hurling clashes on free to air also but it has fuck all to do with split season.

The split season allowed the inter county season dominate even more and made room for even more games.

Aren’t you calling for the league to go back to two groups like this?

The split season has given the club game a higher profile than it ever had before. There’s probably more senior club games than senior intercounty championship games on free to air TV these days

Limerick clubs have gotten massive kick back from the success of the senior hurlers.

Thanks to the know format and the split season it gives a massive advantage to the stronger counties. So the weaker counties will almost never get that kick back for their clubs.

Even the former under 21 championship which they destroyed was a target every so often for most hurling counties. That is gone now too.

Is that easily done?

I think they should definitely look at doing that if at all possible.

More lies. There are club games going on around the country since March.

Mate can you isolate his odd good point please?

Inter county managers have way too much control over players and their availability.

Inter county and club activity should dovetail.

Sure it’s madness as it is for something that’s essentially a hobby.

Shur any old eejit could tell you that, and its been the case for a lot longer than his arse needed wiping for him.