Gaa split season,killing Meath football since 2011

Probably better than not being on telly at all, all the same

A few rare examples of pre split-season outliers like Shane Bennett and Cian Lynch who were hurling U21 as 18 year old Leaving Cert students and had a clash with an end of Leaving Cert exam. Now the split season zealots have scheduled it that an All Ireland Final is played the Sunday before the start of the Leaving Cert with a large cohort of the teams doing their Leaving Cert.

The yappy chap who talks incessantly to himself about Laois in just about every thread in an attempt to presumably make Laois somehow relevant has also cited some fellow from Laois who purportedly played a championship match during his Leaving Cert.

Itā€™s utterly bizarre scheduling and anybody that things otherwise is an idiot.

Great focus on the intercounty games clashing with exams here. I wouldnā€™t think there was a talented teenager 20 years ago who didnā€™t play at least 1 if not 2 club championship games during his exams, and that was 18 year olds playing against seasoned club players. Now a dozen lads playing an underage game close to exam time has lads thinking the sky is falling in.

As Iā€™ve pointed out any number of times, the split season zealots have now scheduled the inter-county championships in all grades, minor, U20 and Senior to be largely played out from mid April to mid June, right across Leaving Cert and University exam season.

Well thatā€™s complete bullshit.

No itā€™s not. Often happened

Itā€™s disappointing to see @ChairmanDan and @BruidheanChaorthainn peddling lies here. Then again, we all know the Dan is not a man to be trusted.

The split season zealots will be advocating next that Leaving Cert and University exams be moved to clear the decks for the mini blitz spring challenge inter-county championships.

Two glorified friendlies*.

*Sorry, challenges.

More lies

Did Antrim not beat Carlow in the 2006 Christy Ring final. Westmeath were in the Liam McCarthy that year. Kilkenny beat them in a Leinster semi-final iirc. The same weekend that Wexford beat Offaly 9-8 in a Nowlan Park thriller. A bit of obscure knowledge Iā€™ve remembered.

It was Carlow, apologies to the knowledgeable Carlow hurling fraternity here.

Not only is the risk of injury a concern for them but the celebrations would eat into valuable study time too. If Offaly win the All-Ireland then the likes of Adam Screeney would do well to see a book again by the Tuesday night. Even professional rugby players were still celebrating their grand slam success about 4 days after the victory over England back in March.

I did my finals in DCU in 2004. There was a few intercounty players in my course who were on scholarships to the college. We had some exam on a Saturday morning that clashed with either a colleges game or some U21 intercounty games. Not a chance the lads would be missing the game. They were all given a special paper to sit on the following Tuesday. Iā€™d be full sure the lecturer was in the hall reading the answers out to them as well.

That Mayo jersey looks like a red training bib over the regular green jersey

Sure every club has lads in college. With fellas now doing the leaving a year older than 20 years ago with TY, most clubs have 18 and 19 year olds on their senior team who are doing A Levels or the LC. With these exams running throughout May or June some lads here against the split season seem to be suggesting there should be no club championship games in May/June - Iā€™m not sure they know what they want.

We had a proper country back then

The minor and under 20 championshipā€™s finishing in June is great for clubs. Under the previous format clubs wouldnā€™t see there county underage players until September. Getting them in June improves the standard of the club underage game. Also saves parents driving ridiculous journeys in some cases for an extra 3 months.

Waterford played Limerick in an U20 Munster Championship blitz match last year on a Wednesday night in Limerick. Father of one of the Waterford who Iā€™d know had a son doing an end of year Medicine Exam in UCD the following morning. Father didnā€™t want the young fellow to be playing the night before an exam, indeed playing in the campaign at all during exam season. Young lad insisted on it,
honour of playing for his county and all that, so what could he do. Terrible position to be put in by split season zealots. Jeopardising a medical career for a hobby.