Gaa split season,killing Meath football since 2011

Changes too complex. Get rid of handpass.

Anything that starts building in zones into the field is doomed to fail. We already have two fellas with flags watching a small box who can’t make a decision without it being mired in controversy.

With the 2 point rule outside the new D even 11 players will have a lot of space to defend. Lads need to have a look at the railway cup before making up their mind.

Im sticking to my guns and going to say that it’s going be a spectacular failure.

The scoring system is bonkers.

A team could score 2-04 in old money and beat a team scoring 0-15.

I don’t see any benefit to the game introducing the tap and go at all, conceding a free used to be one way of forcing a team into kicking the ball and making it contestable but this now makes retaining possession even easier.
The rules seem to create a disconnect between the underage and adult games which isn’t great. And it’s not clear how the rules play out when 1 or 2 players are sent off in a game. The end result of all this may be more lads playing hurling so it’s not all negative.

That is a very thorough piece of work and the idea about showcasing the new rules on TV before the vote is very clever…and obvious …

Fair play.

Gaelic Football in it’s current guise is a spectacular failure. I know you are mot keen on change but it’s required here!

The format and timing of the Championships is crap but i still think if you look at the really big knockout games in All Ireland Club and Inter County over the last few years there’s still been more good than bad.

This is too radical altogether.

They won’t bring them all in but no harm trialling them all.

If 1 or 2 decent games a year are good then it’s ok.

Gaelic football is unwatchable.

It’s meant to be a game of contests and risk. It’s anything but now.

Hurling is going the same way.

I think this will be the long term impact in certain counties as well, although ultimately some will be lost to soccer football also.

A knife in every football…

Not sure they need all these rule changes to be honest. I think the 3 up rule and the solo and go for a free might have worked by themselves. I guess most of them will be dropped eventually anyway.

Talking about the proposed rules here this evening over dinner.

Consensus is that all are worth a go other than the 40m arc and 4 point goal.
Exclude those and go with everything else. Think that they would actually inhibit what is being done in the other changes and encourage fouling as well as incentivise negative play to avoid conceding a “big score”.

Kickout good
3 up good
Throw-in meh, but why not.
Solo and go ok, trial it more.
Goalkeeper/back pass good.
Advanced mark good.

Changes to black card and shootout are good.

The knockout stages of this year’s championship was absolutely atrocious, the game badly needs a facelift, far too easy to retain possession, everyone playing in fear.

No surprise to see the usual suspects against any kind of change.They won’t all be kept,I’d say the 3 men up and the 2 PT rule will be kept as they’re probably the easiest to enforce.They also must be pretty optimistic when they’re showing it on the box.

Abolish the kickout after a score, or possibly altogether.

Throw the ball in in the middle after a score and employ a 6-2-6 rule where six defenders have to be behind the 45 when the ball is thrown in and six attackers have to be beyond the other 45.

In Aussie Rules the centre bounce is the only time you have players in traditional set positions, because of the 6-6-6 rule at the bounce which means you have to have six players inside your own 50, six players inside the opposition 50 and six in the middle of the pitch. The centre bounce is the easiest situation to score from because of that.

An All Ireland Final in July is never going to be much good anyway whatever rules you play.

The League Final between Dublin and Derry in the Spring time or an Ulster Club Final in December have shown it can still be a great spectacle.

Ah here :joy::joy::joy:

Armagh won the All-Ireland and nobody cared.

Armagh won the All-Ireland. Out of pretty much nowhere.

Armagh winning the All-Ireland is something which should stop the country in its tracks. It did in 2002. They will never stop talking about 2002.

In 2024, it was “did that happen?”

“Oh, eh, yeah, I think so. What are we having for dinner this evening?”

It was gone like your memory of your trip to the supermarket last Saturday.

Would many genuine GAA followers outside Ulster even be able to name more than 5 of the current Armagh team?

yes, entirely overkill. no other county has 2 county championships in the one code

one of these competitions needs to become straight knock out and the other just one backdoor chance. problem solved and let the local divisional championships continue.

the issue is not the split season, the issue is the kerry county board turning both county championships into round robin type formats and not having the balls to clip one of the competitions back to straight knock

The system they have in place also means lets blackguard the fuck out of hurling and have all hurling wrapped up by the august weekend to facilitate multiple football championships.