[QUOTE=“Piles Hussain, post: 968301, member: 363”]Fuckin hell that was bad. We’re fucked. Two or three years ago, that game would have been put to bed. Instead, we get pegged back and now have to play a replay that we cannot afford.
Fuckin Galway though. McEvoy put it well on the examiner yesterday when he said that galway throw shapes against everybody else but against us, they land punches.
Cork, limerick or clare wont be worried about what they saw today.[/QUOTE]
Trying to think of the last time, Kilkenny lost a lead of that magnitude in a Championship game. The 1985 drawn Leinster semi-final against Offaly when Stoney Burke was in goal, was it Kilkenny or Offaly that lost a 9-10 point second half lead that day?
[QUOTE=“croppy_boy, post: 968312, member: 306”]To be fair Smith could have been off at the start and the free that lead to Cooney’s goal was no free either.
A dire ref for both sides.
Is Tannian the best option at centre back? He tends to get pulled out of position when the blood rises in him, always thought he was better in midfield.
The replay will do Galway the world of good and this have just goes to show that there is very little between the top top eight teams in the country.[/QUOTE]
gway with this shite tyrrell could have been sent off twice, they got way softer frees than we did and in fairness some of the kilkenny people around me had no problem admitting that. tannian didn’t play centre back so we’ll leave that one there
Tipp have the hurlers but i’d be very concerned about their keeper and management. If they moved Conor O’Mahony back centre back and paired Brendan Maher with Noel Mcgrath at midfield, then they would be a lot more formidable IMHO.
they have problems everywhere I think. JJ taken for first 2 scored. Kennedy looks very vulnerable. Joyce had no pace, ditto tyrell, Burkley cant deliver like Tommy did. Hogan a one man show in MF. Only TJ Reid and C Fennelly are reliable up front
You wont get a much more effective 11 than Bonnar Maher. Playing Mcgrath midfield would accomplish the same thing as plauing him at 11 with a licence to roam.
I think they would compliment each other. Maher has a fantastic workrate. You could play McGrath corner forward but I would rather see a lad with his ability and vision playing out around the middle.
could you imagine what HOgan, C Galvin, T Kelly or either or either of ye’re 2 would do to him MF? Kelly would get 0-6. Maybe in some 3 MF system but I just don’t see him putting in the hard yards those mentioned do. I cannot understand why they took Omahony out of 6. Great positional player
Tannian never played anywhere near CB today, he was mostly wing back and a times corner back. He stuck to Wally Walsh all day and Walsh was substituted. He is a beast and he is all that is right about Galway hurling when he gets involved like he did today, he really irks them up on Noreside.
Callanan is no longer the best goalie in the country.
@Turenne Johnny Glynn Junior C… For your repentance I want you to tip the porter well at he 3 hour motel you’ll be using later on.
Ahh yes, Being honest I considered skipping traffic with 10 minutes to go and was nearly ready for road… Then I could see that at least Canning our captain was still roaring at lads and still up for it. So I stayed.
Who knows where we can go from here. There is no law, no book or no reference that can give you any sort of projections for what Galway will do. Its like drinking Poteen at a party… it could be your best night ever or you could wake up in a with an IV drip welded to you.