Galway V Kilkenny 2014

[QUOTE=“Kinvara’s Passion, post: 968913, member: 686”]I have a feeling that KK or Galway would be exposed against the likes of Lehane, Collins, McGrath if they went man to man like yesterday… dropping an extra man back would be vital to reduce space.

However, if done properly and assuming things go your way on the day I wouldn’t rule either Galway or KK out of the running. Remember the naivety of the Cork defense last year? Remember how easily Galway contained Cork in 2012, granted they are a much improved outfit now.

KK hurl far more efficiently than Galway, we exert so much energy to gain so little at times and that will kill us if we continue to do so.[/QUOTE]
Weather plays a big part too. Another very dry summer suits faster teams like Clare and Cork.

Break of a ball/a sending off between most of the top teams - any of them could beat the other on a given day. I fancied Galway to win yesterday and they should improve after it but the collapse from 50 minutes to 60 minutes was worrying

Galway were nine points down after 66 minutes - come back was a bit of a freak (Canning is a freak in terms of ability) but Galway should have been further ahead before they collapsed. Maybe it is a mental thing, maybe physical but Smith had cramp and a lot of Galway players looked out on their feet and gave the ball up to KK to allow them take control.

@galway posters, surely they’ll drop Mannion or David Burke for Glynn the next day? Could start joe Cooney for brehony or D Burke too. Certainly Galway do have a stronger 15 available to put out the next day.

Tough hard Championship Hurling yesterday with an unbelievable finish. The game of Hurling is a gift from the Gods. My Galway ratings

Callinan 6

Distribution was superb but the fluke Larkin goal seemed to affect his confidence. Was making saves from the type of shots Reid and Fennelly scored from in his sleep all year.
Moore 7
Solid and reliable as ever although caught out of position and a bit for pace for the first goal
Ronan Burke 7
Fine display I thought. Well up to this level.
Collins 8
Best defender overall. Between the 3 of them the full back line will need to figure out how Fennelly was left with so much space
Coen 5
Got caught for Reids goal. Failed to impose himself on the game. Struggling for a bit of form. Might be replaced by Harte the next day
Daithi 7
Did well generally I though although can do even better.No 6 is the spot for him anyway
Tan 8
Typical Tan display. Slow and awkward but powerful contributions at critical times. Got exposed badly by Tommy Walsh when he came on. Targeted again by Kilkenny and will be again in the replay. I actually thought he might get himself sent off at one stage in the 2nd half but held it together just about.
Smith 8
Seems to be getting better with the years. His abrasive style is ideal for taking on Kilkenny, he knows how to get inside their heads. Has become a real leader for this team, need more of the same in the replay
Brehony 5
Worked hard at it but way off the form he showed in the league. Will start again in the replay
David Burke 6
Can’t fault him for effort but it’s just not happening for him for whatever reason. Looks a touch burned out maybe. I remember someone saying Ritchie Hogan was the better hurler 2 years ago and I laughed. Not laughing now. Went missing when KK surged in the 2nd half but wasn’t the only one and will probably start again the next day. If he does somehow return to the heights of 2012 it could make all the difference to this team.
Niall Burke 7
Great first half, disappeared in the 2nd. Needs to become more than a cameo hurler. That said Cunningham might have been a bit hasty taking him off, all the ball was going in Glynns direction in the 2nd.
Conor Cooney 8
Probably our most consistent player this year, certainly up front, dispatched both goals with venom I thought he looked like he was carrying a knock in the 2nd half
Cathal Mannion 3
Game completely passed him by. Will get another chance but might not have the required aggression for Championship hurling
Joe 9
How the fuck does he do it?
Jason Flynn 8
Excellent display from a lad making his first start in Championship, forced a couple of fine saves from Murphy but should really have gone for the point in the 1st half and had to goal with his chance in the 2nd. Very promising performance

Subs
Glynn 8
Great stuff out of him. If he played like that all the time we’d be set. Will start the nest day for Mannion which means we’ll be going big again up front
Joe Cooney 8
Integral to our comeback. The swift interplay with Joe for Conor Cooneys 1st goal was simply marvellous and his awareness, vision, not to mention toughness for the 2nd was a fucking inspiration. Pushing hard for a starting berth on the back of that most likely at David Burkes or Coens expense.
Hayes, Gearoíd Mac, Hynes
None of these lads made much of an impact, Cunningham was just throwing darts in desperation in the 2nd half. Hynes did have one awful miss I think.

Sideline 7
I was actually reasonably confident at HT, thought they had it spot on and that we’d learn from the league semi and not allow KK overrun us in the 2nd. When the ship started sinking badly then it was sobering to say the least but they found a way, however dramatically, to fix it, something countless Galway sides have failed to do in the past. Contrary to what a lot of experts would have you believe, Kilkenny haven’t actually morphed into a bad team overnight and there’s still a residue of their greatness when in full flow as in the 2nd half there yesterday but credit to our lads for never stopping trying led heroically by Joe. It’s a credit to management that they had that belief but they need to learn from their mistakes too, and fast. Winning the replay is well achievable, I’d go with this for Saturday
Callinan
Moore
R Burke
Collins
Harte
Daithi
Tan
Smith
Brehoney
Joe Cooney
N Burke
Conor Cooney
Joe
Glynn
Flynn

[QUOTE=“Kinvara’s Passion, post: 968805, member: 686”]25 minutes in, Daithi Regan mouthing off… :D:pint::pint:

http://www.newstalk.ie/player/listen_back/10/10788/22nd_June_2014_-_Off_The_Ball_Part_5[/QUOTE]

“They met Galway’s challenge, they sucked the life out of Galway, and the difference now is class. Just sheer hurling ability and class.”

“It’s just pure, sheer, utter skill levels at this stage. Galway are tired, the game is opening up, and Kilkenny’s greater skill levels - and they are, they’re way ahead of Galway skill wise - are actually showing at this stage.”

“Joe looks very lethargic today, and Jackie Tyrrell is doing very well on him to be fair about it.”

“I have to say, I’ve been bitterly disappointed with Joe Canning today. He’s playing within a comfort zone as far as I can see.”

“He’s only started to show leadership in the last five or six minutes. He’s won a couple of balls. He has looked a defeated hurler, but then so have the rest of them.”

“And you look at Cody. Mark Kelly has done very well, a great find. When he can off he ran near Cody. He didn’t look at him, he didn’t look at him coming off. He hasn’t looked at one of the Kilkenny subs coming off.”

“Jackie’s coming off there, a cursory glance from Cody. There’s none of this going up and patting him on the back and half apologetic that I’m taking you off. You’re wearing a Kilkenny jersey, that’s the way it’s gonna be. You should be proud to wear a Kilkenny jersey. You’ve done your job. I don’t need to be turning around and…there’s another goal for Galway.”

[QUOTE=“Watch The Break, post: 968929, member: 260”]
“Jackie’s coming off there, a cursory glance from Cody. There’s none of this going up and patting him on the back and half apologetic that I’m taking you off. You’re wearing a Kilkenny jersey, that’s the way it’s gonna be. You should be proud to wear a Kilkenny jersey. You’ve done your job. I don’t need to be turning around and…there’s another goal for Galway.”[/QUOTE]
@Rocko needs to make this a Quote of the week

It seems to be the done thing to lay into Canning anytime Galway have an off day. Loughnane regularly has a cut at him too. He’s a class player, the flak he gets at times is unwarranted. Certain GAA players are above criticism - media darlings - while the likes of Canning get slaughtered if he single handedly doesn’t win a game for his team.

Jason Sherlock (Dublin)
(@boomjayo)

Can the detractors of #joecanning now finally FRO,he is a special talent that has the heart & character to match it,what a game #gaa

Bernard Brogan (Dublin)
(@bernardbrogan)

That was some finish to the hurling, epic stuff!

Rob Hennelly (Mayo)
(@RobHennelly)

Phecking phenomenal #Galway #Kilkenny

Colin Walshe (Monaghan)
(@cwalshe7)

Ah here… Canning then Shefflin and then Canning again!! #TopDrawer

Tomás Quinn (Dublin)
(@mossyquinn)

Outrageous few mins. Ridiculous from Shefflin & Canning. What a game

Conor McManus (Monaghan)
(@ConorMcManus_15)

King Henry… King Joe… #unbelievablejeff #gaa

Dónal Óg Cusack (Cork)
(@DonalOgC)

Time to give Canning a go inside for a period…could he exploit the space? can always bring him back out again…#gaa

You’re losing the run of yourself, quoting Mayo lads commenting on a hurling game…

[QUOTE=“Lazarus, post: 968928, member: 286”]Tough hard Championship Hurling yesterday with an unbelievable finish. The game of Hurling is a gift from the Gods. My Galway ratings
Callinan 6
Distribution was superb but the fluke Larkin goal seemed to affect his confidence. Was making saves from the type of shots Reid and Fennelly scored from in his sleep all year.
Moore 7
Solid and reliable as ever although caught out of position and a bit for pace for the first goal
Ronan Burke 7
Fine display I thought. Well up to this level.
Collins 8
Best defender overall. Between the 3 of them the full back line will need to figure out how Fennelly was left with so much space
Coen 5
Got caught for Reids goal. Failed to impose himself on the game. Struggling for a bit of form. Might be replaced by Harte the next day
Daithi 7
Did well generally I though although can do even better.No 6 is the spot for him anyway
Tan 8
Typical Tan display. Slow and awkward but powerful contributions at critical times. Got exposed badly by Tommy Walsh when he came on. Targeted again by Kilkenny and will be again in the replay. I actually thought he might get himself sent off at one stage in the 2nd half but held it together just about.
Smith 8
Seems to be getting better with the years. His abrasive style is ideal for taking on Kilkenny, he knows how to get inside their heads. Has become a real leader for this team, need more of the same in the replay
Brehony 5
Worked hard at it but way off the form he showed in the league. Will start again in the replay
David Burke 6
Can’t fault him for effort but it’s just not happening for him for whatever reason. Looks a touch burned out maybe. I remember someone saying Ritchie Hogan was the better hurler 2 years ago and I laughed. Not laughing now. Went missing when KK surged in the 2nd half but wasn’t the only one and will probably start again the next day. If he does somehow return to the heights of 2012 it could make all the difference to this team.
Niall Burke 7
Great first half, disappeared in the 2nd. Needs to become more than a cameo hurler. That said Cunningham might have been a bit hasty taking him off, all the ball was going in Glynns direction in the 2nd.
Conor Cooney 8
Probably our most consistent player this year, certainly up front, dispatched both goals with venom I thought he looked like he was carrying a knock in the 2nd half
Cathal Mannion 3
Game completely passed him by. Will get another chance but might not have the required aggression for Championship hurling
Joe 9
How the fuck does he do it?
Jason Flynn 8
Excellent display from a lad making his first start in Championship, forced a couple of fine saves from Murphy but should really have gone for the point in the 1st half and had to goal with his chance in the 2nd. Very promising performance

Subs
Glynn 8
Great stuff out of him. If he played like that all the time we’d be set. Will start the nest day for Mannion which means we’ll be going big again up front
Joe Cooney 8
Integral to our comeback. The swift interplay with Joe for Conor Cooneys 1st goal was simply marvellous and his awareness, vision, not to mention toughness for the 2nd was a fucking inspiration. Pushing hard for a starting berth on the back of that most likely at David Burkes or Coens expense.
Hayes, Gearoíd Mac, Hynes
None of these lads made much of an impact, Cunningham was just throwing darts in desperation in the 2nd half. Hynes did have one awful miss I think.

Sideline 7
I was actually reasonably confident at HT, thought they had it spot on and that we’d learn from the league semi and not allow KK overrun us in the 2nd. When the ship started sinking badly then it was sobering to say the least but they found a way, however dramatically, to fix it, something countless Galway sides have failed to do in the past. Contrary to what a lot of experts would have you believe, Kilkenny haven’t actually morphed into a bad team overnight and there’s still a residue of their greatness when in full flow as in the 2nd half there yesterday but credit to our lads for never stopping trying led heroically by Joe. It’s a credit to management that they had that belief but they need to learn from their mistakes too, and fast. Winning the replay is well achievable, I’d go with this for Saturday
Callinan
Moore
R Burke
Collins
Harte
Daithi
Tan
Smith
Brehoney
Joe Cooney
N Burke
Conor Cooney
Joe
Glynn
Flynn

Thats a good summary of things.

I am not sure how much the sideline had to do with what happened. For once I think our players decided not to throw the towel in… and being honest we got a bit of luck along the way too.

I need to watch the game back again but the likes of Tannian, Collins, Canning and Cooney stayed plugging away with the help of the freshness of Cooney and Glynn.

Callanan had an off day yesterday but his distribution was top notch.

AC will find it hard to make a case for starting Brehony the next day. Not sure the physical type game is where he flourishes and it all kind of bypassed him yesterday. Either him or David Burke has to be dropped… you cant start with both of them again in my opinion.

Could you put Johnny Coen specifically minding Hogan the next day? We are going to have to somehow curtail him?

Larkins goal looked terrible if your a Galway defender. He gathered the ball at pace but he should have been anywhere near the goal mouth. Like wise our positioning for Fennellys goal… :rolleyes:

Galway were the real losers in the draw last night.

The thought of KK losing to them next week then having Tipp drive in the final nail in Thurles will ensure you see KK’s performance of the championship next week. They’ll win with something to spare, and Tipp will put Galway out the following week…I hope I am wrong as I think all neutral would like to see KK v Tipp in Thurles

Will you take out a cold glass of water, sit down and read the KK subs list.
Then add in Michael Fennelly on top and finally, stop talking utter shite

[QUOTE=“Kid Chocolate, post: 968968, member: 553”]Galway were the real losers in the draw last night.

The thought of KK losing to them next week then having Tipp drive in the final nail in Thurles will ensure you see KK’s performance of the championship next week. They’ll win with something to spare, and Tipp will put Galway out the following week…I hope I am wrong as I think all neutral would like to see KK v Tipp in Thurles[/QUOTE]

I agree with this. Kilkenny will win next Saturday as they should have won last Saturday. Comfortably.

[QUOTE=“Kid Chocolate, post: 968970, member: 553”]Will you take out a cold glass of water, sit down and read the KK subs list.
Then add in Michael Fennelly on top and finally, stop talking utter shite[/QUOTE]
What part is wrong? Galway clearly have a better 15 than they put out yesterday you utter, utter, spoofer.

Job number one is negate hogan, i was at the league final and he won it single handedly, same influence yesterday. Itd be great if smith could be detailed for that but brehonys not reliable yet to be left as a playmaker. Joseph cooneys contribution was vital, id start him ahead of burke. Id start damian and tell him he has 45 mins of hard work to put in before glynn might replace him. I think tired bodies and a ragged game i sets it up for glynn to make hay like he did yesterday. I wouldnt be rushing harte in that game will have brought coen on a bit.

As for joe, numerous pundits loved jumping on his back, as ab extension of the galway are an an enigma cliche, he shuts them up yesterday only to be the victim of a total and unprecedented hatchet job on the sunday game. If it was any other county theyd cause uproar, our tendancy to let things slide is too often taken advantage of. Im not sure whether to complain to rte or just find out where mulcahy lives and knife him. Option b i think.

[QUOTE=“Kinvara’s Passion, post: 968937, member: 686”]Thats a good summary of things.

I am not sure how much the sideline had to do with what happened. For once I think our players decided not to throw the towel in… and being honest we got a bit of luck along the way too.

I need to watch the game back again but the likes of Tannian, Collins, Canning and Cooney stayed plugging away with the help of the freshness of Cooney and Glynn.

Callanan had an off day yesterday but his distribution was top notch.

AC will find it hard to make a case for starting Brehony the next day. Not sure the physical type game is where he flourishes and it all kind of bypassed him yesterday. Either him or David Burke has to be dropped… you cant start with both of them again in my opinion.

Could you put Johnny Coen

specifically minding Hogan the next day? We are going to have to somehow curtail him?

Larkins goal looked terrible if your a Galway defender. He gathered the ball at pace but he should have been anywhere near the goal mouth. Like wise our positioning for Fennellys goal… :rolleyes:[/QUOTE]

I think Richie got plenty of attention yesterday!!! What could you be suggesting???:cool:

Done

Nothing sinister mate… Johnny Coen is as clean a hurler as you could hope to meet.

Who were they playing last Saturday?

Sunday. Fuck off.

When will they announce any plans to televise the replay? I might be caught next Saturday, trying hard not to be