I didn’t expect Galway to beat Kilkenny 2 years ago, or Dublin to beat the last year, but I did expect two very tight game and for both sides to give Kilkenny plenty of it. As did you IIRC - i just don’t see it this year with Galway, too one paced up front and lacking a spread of scorers needed to win a game like this
Like the fucking idiot I am I cannot wait for this game and I 100% believe we’ll sow it into these cunts.
We have not forgotten Codys sideline antics in 2004 … 10 fucking years.
[I]"Cody prowling the sideline barracking the referee and sideline officials as his team set about pulping Galway. Six Kilkenny players were cautioned in the first half alone and two significant incidents and images reflected the game; Fergal Moore running out of defence and having his helmet violently removed by a high tackle, and the sight of the Galway “hardman” Eugene Cloonan on all fours having received some special attention from his marker.
In another hugely critical incident in the first half Brian Cody found himself at the back of the Kilkenny goal remonstrating with the two officials. Galway had won a very scorable free and Eugene Cloonan stood over the sliotar. On noticing Cody the referee stopped the free taker and instructed Cody to move away from the goalmouth area. Cody slowly walked one way, then turned and walked back across the goal area in the other direction"[/I]
And yet there was nothing between them in the league semi.
Hesitant vote for galway.
Re cloonan I would have labelled hon in a similar way to kid until I heard him speaking at a preview night.
Very articulate and thoughtful in his analysis.
There is enough time in the year to work on both. You don’t have to sacrifice skills for conditioning. You can have all the skill in the world but if you can’t win a ball or get to it first then you are done
[QUOTE=“twiceasnice97, post: 958997, member: 1061”]
Re cloonan I would have labelled hon in a similar way to kid until I heard him speaking at a preview night.
Very articulate and thoughtful in his analysis.[/QUOTE]
Cloonans rep is based on his colourful hurling career. The guy has matured and has a good hurling brain. We’ll give him the benefit of the doubt for now.
The other selector Curley… he’s the one I am unsure about, not sure what he brings to the table.
[QUOTE=“Kinvara’s Passion, post: 958994, member: 686”]Like the fucking idiot I am I cannot wait for this game and I 100% believe we’ll sow it into these cunts.
[I]"Cody prowling the sideline barracking the referee and sideline officials as his team set about pulping Galway. Six Kilkenny players were cautioned in the first half alone and two significant incidents and images reflected the game; Fergal Moore running out of defence and having his helmet violently removed by a high tackle, and the sight of the Galway “hardman” Eugene Cloonan on all fours having received some special attention from his marker.
In another hugely critical incident in the first half Brian Cody found himself at the back of the Kilkenny goal remonstrating with the two officials. Galway had won a very scorable free and Eugene Cloonan stood over the sliotar. On noticing Cody the referee stopped the free taker and instructed Cody to move away from the goalmouth area. Cody slowly walked one way, then turned and walked back across the goal area in the other direction"[/I][/QUOTE]
None of that could possibly have happened.
I think you will find that any violent behaviour involving kilkenny was inflicted on them and the idea that cody would engage in intimidation of officials or opponents is obviously ludicrous surely.
[QUOTE=“Kinvara’s Passion, post: 959007, member: 686”]+1
Cloonans rep is based on his colourful hurling career. The guy has matured and has a good hurling brain. We’ll give him the benefit of the doubt for now.
The other selector Curley… he’s the one I am unsure about, not sure what he brings to the table.[/QUOTE]
Can he sing or otherwise entertain?
[QUOTE=“Kinvara’s Passion, post: 958994, member: 686”]Like the fucking idiot I am I cannot wait for this game and I 100% believe we’ll sow it into these cunts.
In another hugely critical incident in the first half Brian Cody found himself at the back of the Kilkenny goal remonstrating with the two officials. Galway had won a very scorable free and Eugene Cloonan stood over the sliotar. On noticing Cody the referee stopped the free taker and instructed Cody to move away from the goalmouth area. Cody slowly walked one way, then turned and walked back across the goal area in the other direction"[/I][/QUOTE]
That was 2005.
The question on my mind is whether canning is now useless or was he just not bothering his hole in the league
2004, surely. Their first game after Wexford shocked them in the Leinster semi-final. 10 years ago this weekend, isn’t it? Where do those years go, pal?
Like Tony?
[QUOTE=“Kinvara’s Passion, post: 958959, member: 686”]Yeah, still in recovery from a leg injury. Should be close to making a start but he was the kind of a lad who had to work extra hard to make it and getting back to where he was may or may not happen.
2014 is a do or die year for a bunch of these lads to be honest.
Tannian, Moore, Collins, Kavanagh, Hayes, Donnellan, Smith…[/QUOTE]
Pity, he had a super year in 2012. A pity ye lost Healy too, chewy has a point about the forwards being one paced. Glynn is a good player to have but Canning has to spend time at 14, you’d hope there is some rotation. The two Burkes up front don’t seem to be playing at their best either. Conor Cooney is a star though.
There was nothing between Galway and kk in the league semi, and you can’t judge kk by that Offaly game. I fancy Galway to pull out one of their inspired hurling genius performances and win a goal fest.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YKBVeaqxKy4
This is the game I thought kp was referring to. Maybe I’m wrong.
There are still plenty of great years ahead mate.
Very good question.
Canning has the hang of an isolated figure in his brief appearances for Galway this year. I get the feeling that Cunningham has somehow tried to instill the belief that the team is bigger than Canning and that other guys need to stand up…
Its strange territory for him… He is captain, yet he has been removed from the free taking duties.
I suspect we have seen the best of Joe Canning at this stage, that doesnt mean he wont be a huge player for Galway in the years to come but injury has taken its toll on him. He got an injection in the knee for the replay in 2012 about 30 mins before the game… His hunger for the game could be on the wean too and possibly he now realises there is more to life than hurling. He’s probably right.
Word is that Cunningham wanted to replace his against Laois but Cloonan intervened and advised him otherwise.
[QUOTE=“Kinvara’s Passion, post: 959036, member: 686”]Very good question.
Canning has the hang of an isolated figure in his brief appearances for Galway this year. I get the feeling that Cunningham has somehow tried to instill the belief that the team is bigger than Canning and that other guys need to stand up…
Its strange territory for him… He is captain, yet he has been removed from the free taking duties.
I suspect we have seen the best of Joe Canning at this stage, that doesnt mean he wont be a huge player for Galway in the years to come but injury has taken its toll on him. He got an injection in the knee for the replay in 2012 about 30 mins before the game… His hunger for the game could be on the wean too and possibly he now realises there is more to life than hurling. He’s probably right.
Word is that Cunningham wanted to replace his against Laois but Cloonan intervened and advised him otherwise.[/QUOTE]
Your right on the mark there. He will be living in America in a couple of years.
chewie re pace, Niall and David Burke and Karl Mannion are all pacey as is Glennon.
Galway are big, some of their players look slow Canning/Glynn, but esp in the case of Canning, if he gets turned is not slow…I don’t think “pace” will beat them. I think Tannian is a huge worry, really dreadful defender. Looks for the big catch/bang/clearance no positional awareness and really poor at tracking a drifter. If he wasn’t playing id be reasonably confident of an upset
Word is that Cunningham wanted to replace his against Laois but Cloonan intervened and advised him otherwise.[/QUOTE]
He will now go and score 3-9 from play.
I really hope you’re wrong KP. I suspect you are. He is the most talented player I’ve ever seen and simply too good to let it slide away like you suggest, he has years ahead of him yet to recapture form.
The problem is still getting the best out of him. They hit on it in 2012, roving full forward. He’s a forward, and despite his talents to create scores for others, he’s a supreme finisher. If he plays full games out as a third midfielder it is a waste of his biggest talent, goal scoring. Also, he’s very fit now compared to his early years, but he’s still not a racehorse, he’s not built for running around midfield for 70 minutes. Even if teams decide to double mark Canning when he plays inside, Galway have the players that should be able to exploit the additional space and take points from further out. Galway needed to work on getting ball to Canning anywhere around he D with his body facing goal. This wouldn’t have overly focused on Joe as he could rotate outfield during games and be the one delivering those same passes to the like of Cooney, Glynn and Niall Burke -all similarly hard to stop if set facing goal with ball in hand.
Cunningham needed to encourage others to step up and take responsibility for sure. But if this comes at the cost of marginalising the best player in the country then he hasn’t gotten the balance right.
[QUOTE=“glasagusban, post: 959093, member: 1533”]I really hope you’re wrong KP. I suspect you are. He is the most talented player I’ve ever seen and simply too good to let it slide away like you suggest, he has years ahead of him yet to recapture form.
The problem is still getting the best out of him. They hit on it in 2012, roving full forward. He’s a forward, and despite his talents to create scores for others, he’s a supreme finisher. If he plays full games out as a third midfielder it is a waste of his biggest talent, goal scoring. Also, he’s very fit now compared to his early years, but he’s still not a racehorse, he’s not built for running around midfield for 70 minutes. Even if teams decide to double mark Canning when he plays inside, Galway have the players that should be able to exploit the additional space and take points from further out. Galway needed to work on getting ball to Canning anywhere around he D with his body facing goal. This wouldn’t have overly focused on Joe as he could rotate outfield during games and be the one delivering those same passes to the like of Cooney, Glynn and Niall Burke -all similarly hard to stop if set facing goal with ball in hand.
Cunningham needed to encourage others to step up and take responsibility for sure. But if this comes at the cost of marginalising the best player in the country then he hasn’t gotten the balance right.[/QUOTE]
He hasn’t been the best player in the country at county level ever. He will do it for his club but once Ollie retires he will be off.
Just because a player is supremely talented doesn’t mean they necessarily enjoy the game or the shit that surrounds it especially when you are the first true ‘superstar’ hurler.
[QUOTE=“Bad Winner, post: 959104, member: 2406”]He hasn’t been the best player in the country at county level ever. He will do it for his club but once Ollie retires he will be off.
Just because a player is supremely talented doesn’t mean they necessarily enjoy the game or the shit that surrounds it especially when you are the first true ‘superstar’ hurler.[/QUOTE]
Disagree. He should have been awarded hurler of the year in 2012. In his early seasons for Galway he was at least arguably the best forward in the country, just unlucky to be playing for a poor team. I don’t think he’ll retire when Ollie does. I take your point about enjoyment. Taking a year off from hurling the way DJ and Ollie did could ultimately prolong his career and boost his form on return.