I was amazed at how little I knew about Wexford until I looked it up. Most of it borders Wicklow so thereās no rivalry there. I passed through Rosslare a few times but thatās it. You would imagine he should be very neutral. Have been told that Gorey is a nice spot but canāt verify as such.
Great work pal. I already have his home phone number and have added his wife as a friend on Facebook. Any signs of bias, if his wife likes photos of cats for example, and im putting out a fatwah.
Tis nowhere near Kilkenny and until PJ Nolan played for Wexford I donāt think Askamore had a player on the county hurling team. Askamore is just outside Ferns which is almost slap bang in the middle of the county. One of these weird country villages people not from there have no reason to go to unless playing a match or chasing a bird from there.
Askamore isnāt actually a place, itās a generalised description for postal purposes.
Askamore club line out in black and amber
So do Killimor which is the official home of hurling.
The best hurling club and little village in Ireland
KK by 10.
Celebrity gyms, songs
This could get ugly
Owens is a grand ref. I have never known him to be biased, unlike that fat Offaly wanker.
Kk will have to play well, very well, to beat us. They may well do, but itās irrelevant to an extent. Itās been a fucking great year for galway no matter what. They will not show the belly.
For the first time in a long time weāve got a group of players able to give and take timber. Canning, Glynn, Donnellan, Smyth, Daithi B, etc. KK have had this steel for years (and Iām not buying anyone that says KK have not dished it out at will in the Cody era. Theyāre ruthless bastards, and have a ākill to winā mentality. Galway need the same to beat them). Two physical teams with plenty of hurling, but nice hurlers aināt gonna win this one.
KK have a winning psychology, and in finals that counts for a lot. They also have two of the consistently top performers in the game - TJ and Hogan. Galway have point to prove after 2012.
On another note, watched the 1987 final again recently. A lot of ground hurling, mostly because putting your hand out for a ball was looking for trouble. How nobody got the line that day, I will never know. Probably the toughest battles Iāve ever seen. Loved reading this article before the 2012 final:
This game doesnāt need a ref. Bar a wilful attempt to break a hand or whatever i dont want to see any lad sent off. Just let them at it.
Maybe let Cody ref it?
Owens has made a name for himself to generally let things go. He was always in favour of the advantage rule and was pretty much using it long before it came in. Any criticsim he will get in the aftermath I predict will be that he didnt blow for this free or that free.
It might not be up there with 2009 hurling wise but itāll be at least as physical. The 2012 replay was ruined when Donnellan was sent off for an innocuous enough flick that he has a bad habit of doing, one he got away with the last day. We were leaking goals anyway but gone after that. We were too hyped up for the Leinster final I thought, hopefully a bit calmer but some lad could get a rush of blood to the head. Owens will have his hands full. I remember Wexford lads at the 2010 league finals when I asked them telling me he was considered atrocious in Wexford, maybe they just had an axe to grind. Hopefully he wonāt be the lad on the field who gets the rush of blood this time.
Everyone always complains about refs from their own county as if to try claim they know him well or something. I think he is grand. You know where you stand with him. There are far, far worse refs in Wexford that wouldnt get near a field outside of the county. Owens wants play to continue, he doesnt want lads whinging and looking for frees, and is more likely to go against you if you start moaning to him for harmless frees.
He canāt be as bad as that bollox Alan kelly from Galway. I told him as much one night over an imaginary pint in a pub he may or may not frequent but Iāve never been to.