Gardai acting quite aggressively

My brother in law is a GP. He will not treat family members under any circumstances.

So now youā€™re calling her brotherā€™s ethics as a doctor into question ā€¦ None of us know 100% the facts here ā€” but it seems the extended sick period coincided with the death of her mother who she cared for at home. Regardless of who her doctor was, itā€™s more than plausible that someone would need extended time after suffering a loss, people cope, or dont, in different ways.

If we knew that there was similar extended leave over the 14 years then thatā€™s a red flag for sure ā€¦ but it seems that only the period immediately following her making a bullying complaint against a Guard was brought to light.

Thereā€™s nothing illegal about going to a family member if they are a doctor ā€¦ princess and siblings went to their dad when he was alive ā€” tho you will get some people that will want to keep these things separate.

I thought it said in the article that she had been going to the practice for years, no?

Itā€™s really up to the doctor - but nothing illegal. I dont think I would either if I was a doc.

Its against code of ethics. Not illegal but should not happen especially in cases of suspected depression.

she missed 12 days in 6 months and she was a patient at her brothers practice.
it was a form of depression and she may have felt comfortable going to her brother.
A regular non family member doctor would sign you out for it.

I donā€™t know if itā€™s misogyny or a forelock tugging tendency here but lads are going to awful lengths to excuse the shades

Can a doc diagnose depression? His job would be to refer to someone else no? But could write a sick note if someone was showing signs and not up to carrying out their duty. most companies offer stress leave without a sick note these days - some will insist. Someone went to an awful lot of bother here for 12 sick days

The ethical guidelines say it is ā€œnot advisableā€ for doctors to treat their own family members , unless it is a medical emergency or a minor illness, or provide them with prescriptions

My wife has a doctor friend who was called in front of a gmc fitness to practise hearing for prescribing their own child antibiotics.

they didnā€™t go after them for prescriptions Flatty. Thatā€™s whataboutery

We could turn this into a debate about the rights and wrongs of what a doctor should be able to treat family members on but it really is a side issue hereā€¦ Prescribing drugs or giving a family member a few days to over come grief and potential bullying in work is slightly different.

Great to see the law acting aggressive via pikeys in Cork this morning, ongoing with CAB in tow delighted,one of the scrotes had a near miss a while back after a reputed real Ra unit were intercepted on the way to say hello to a recently released pikey rapist in the whites X area

the bullying happened after the fact. The bullying case was raised in July, after she had returned to work. The sickness happened between January and July. They didnā€™t care about the certificates until after the grievance was raised. They looked for something to go after her with and this was all they had.

Bullying followed up with bullying.

Well when my little fella passed away, it was my doctor who signed me off.

Look, if you canā€™t see a problem with the principle of a doctor writing multiple sicknotes for a sister, brother, close relative, or even close friend, thereā€™s no point discussing it further. Iā€™m not talking about whether the notes are individually justified.
Anyhow, as you were.

There may be an ethical issue but it isnā€™t illegal

Can you not see a problem with the Police going after the woman for it? They had no grounds to access her medical records.

Do you not think the bigger issue here is the behaviour of the Police?

Youā€™re the one throwing the word ā€œillegalā€ about the place mate.
Nothing about the behaviour of the gardai, the PSNI, or the police surprises me after the past few years.

Look the brother was throwing her sick certs and stamping them with a different doctors stamp because he knew he shouldnā€™t be doing it. Whether she was sick or not is irrelevant.
That said the Guards are all kinds of wrong here. Theyā€™ve acted illegally in accessing her medical records and itā€™s obviously very dodgy behavior. Itā€™s hardly a coincidence it all started after she made a complaint. Seems to be standard practice for the Guards to go after the complainant.
Iā€™d imagine like all civil service jobs thereā€™s a huge amount of people in the Guards on long term sick leave and I doubt anyone cares even a small bit.

The sick certs themselves are small change compared to the madness that followed. How much time and resources were wasted on this. Three officers to arrest a woman on a civil matter the first day alone is madness never mind the man hours of the Guards and DPP wasted afterwards.
DPP have questions to answer too. If the judge wouldnā€™t even allow the case to proceed what the fuck were they doing even bringing it in the first place. DPP are supposed to be a check on the Guards not their clean up squad. Another example of the Guards being rotten to the core.
They should all be fired but nothing ever changes

the Guards brought a case before the DPP where no laws were broken. The DPP pushed the case through to the courts.
The courts dismissed it immediately because her privacy was breached.
there was nothing illegal about what was done.

Do you think the Police acted appropriately?

A show of strength and unity. This is what happens if you go after one of us. Cunts

The ignorant bastard.