Gary Speed - RIP

Not as many as used to be that is for sure, a coroner has to make a report on each of these deaths now and they are ruled suicide . Pretty sure that didn’t happen in 1969.

I’m willing to float the decline in religion as a part-contributing factor in the over 2 and a half times increase in the suicide rate between 1969 and 2009.

Fear of God, fear of God. The fear is gone.

Not just fear Sid, I think the lack of spiritualism has also been a factor.

http://www.irishhealth.com/article.html?id=17852

‘Suicide rate higher than reported’
The rate of suicide in Ireland is prbably much higher than is stated in official figures, it was claimed yesterday.
The Oireachtas Committee on Health and Children was told that in a fifth of undetermined deaths, a suicide note is found, indicating that the real rate of suicide is much higher than officially reported.
Prof Kevin Malone of UCD and St Vincent’s Hospital in Dublin, said there were 527 recorded deaths by suicide in 2009, not taking into account these undetermined deaths.
The number of suicides in Ireland rose by 24% last year compared to 2008.

A total of 527 people died by suicide in 2009 compared to 424 in 2008. Last year’s figures marked the highest number of suicides ever recorded in this country.

It’s a quite amazing statistic really. 527 in a year! Very, very sad.

The alcoholics I’ve known over the years, including those at home when I was growing up, rarely, if ever, went to a pub, they drank at home, with the ensuing problems that caused their families.

Shocking news about Gary Speed, he seemed one of the better blokes in professional football. RIP.

there is an awful problem with suicide in north wexford. i directly know 8 lads whove topped themselves. most of them went into the woods and hung themselves or took a load of tablets. the most horrific case was a lad in gorey from a well to do family, blew his brains out in the front room of his parents house leaving his mother to find the body in that state when she got home from the shopping. she suffered terribly from that shock. in one of the cases one of the lads who found a body of a lad whod killed himself, offed himself a few months later. i think those who leave a body in a place where a loved one finds it are acting somewhat selfish, irrespective of their mental state, as they are also inflicting the shock of finding the body on that person as well as the normal grief, guilt and anguish. but its just my opinion. was speeds body found at his gaff?

also, i wonder if there are any stats for suicide rates among those who have found the bodies of loved ones who killed themselves?

Speed’s body was apparently found in the home.

Anyone about to commit suicide is suffering from some form, however temporary, of mental illness and who finds the body isn’t necessarily a priority for them. Its an interesting point though, how many people who find bodies, or are directly affected, go on to commit suicide themselves. I’d imagine its pretty high.

I would imagine that it would be high due to the cluster effect. There is a family in Midleton where two if not three brothers have killed themselves.

Case in Clonlara about three years ago where the brother committed suicide and the sister followed suit a few weeks later. Aged 19 and 16 respectively

On the figure for reported suicides I’d suspect the real figure is a good deal higher. I think there are certain single car accidents that aren’t really accidents, a guy I know attempted suicide in this manner and you’d have to suspect it looks a decent option to people thinking in that way.

yeah the family would definitely get the life assurance then I suppose, bit high risk if it goes wrong though. Still you have cases of people driving into the opposite lanes of traffic suicide runs. Pretty sure there was a case of that on the Quinncenntenial bridge in Galway a few years back. Thats as good as attempted murder of others really. Id say the numbers are higher than that and as for those who have attempted suicide that number can be multiplied by 4 or 5 Id say.

saw a documentary about suicide recently called The Bridge based on the golden gate. Shocking just seeing people jump.

Impossible to say what drove Gary Speed to hanging himself. But fucking hell leaving his wife and kids to find him can never be an acceptable solution.

mental illness truly is frightening.

I fully believe some people are completely rational, and know exactly what they are doing. Its our (or society) perception of it being irrational. I really believe some people just come to a point of having had enough.

as explained earlier in thread, a sucide could also be the outcome of an inability to deal with a crisis situation.

Very sad:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HVQoUpo9rX0

Don’t shoot me down here, but could this have been a Hutchence like incident? Discussing it with a few people earlier and it was brought up…

Check ur texts mate.

Edit

Heard* the wife had left him

*read on FB actually so likely complete bollocks

I see Joey Barton has branded Speed “selfish” with predictable results. That’s the problem with giving the likes of him a platform.