Ambition is a terrible vice.
No problem with ambition, buddy, but ffs. Is he the best actor they could have hired?
Make the plant more realistic
It also important to highlight that income tax is only one part of the tax people pay. There are also indirect (consumption or stealth) taxes such as VAT, motor tax, A & E charges, water charges etc. VAT takes in a third of all taxes. And lower income households pay a 5 times higher rate of their gross income on these consumption and stealth charges than those on higher incomes.
Lower income households pay between 27 and 18% of their gross income on indirect taxes in contrast to between 5 and 8% of higher incomes. That is why lower income households have opposed the water charges so intensely. Because they are hit much harder by such consumption charges.
Ah here - those sort of interviews play into Mary Louâs hands. At this stage SF are looking to consolidate their base - not trying to win over the largely sceptical middle classes.
Interviews like that make yourself, @ChocolateMice and @Sidney all indignant and emotional and half wondering whether youâd be able to sneak Mary Lou into the Auld ones youâd shag thread.
Mary Lou is a beautiful woman.
Not sure what youâre arguing here cos it sure as hell doesnât counter my point that the Irish tax system (including direct taxes) is currently highly progressive.
You argue it should be more progressive - fair enough - but at least accept the current progressive nature of it.
http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/michael-noonan-rejects-claim-he-did-a-runner-from-families-of-sex-abuse-victims-382861.html any views @tallback
SF want to tax the smart people even more to allow them subsidize the stupid people.
Iâm outraged by that, seems youâre not.
Saw that Labour Party guy on grafton street on the news there. He basically said fuck the poor if it costs me more.
@Juhniallio what turned you into such a fucking Gordon gecko wannabe?
Labour are rotten to the core. Grassroots labour are bitter and resentful at how sinn Fein speak for the ordinary citizen. They are getting a lesson that the legacy of James Connolly belongs to sf and not the champagne socialist boys.
Rumours of an averill power - Labour Party transfer pact in Dublin bay North. @Rocko you might warn her In the words of the reverend Willie mccrea âif you lie down with dogs you will get up with fleasâ.
http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/election-2016/gerry-adams-plans-to-double-the-cost-of-workers-pensions-34467150.html @ChocolateMice @Nembo_Kid
Lucky for your mickey that youâre asexual if marylou is your type pal. She looks like sheâs eaten an old armchair.
Great stuff.
If Gerry wants me to contribute more to help the country then Iâll do it.
I donât know enough about it to really comment Joe. I read the examiner article where yer man said Noonan ran away from him and I saw Noonans denial. Iâm not sure where the story goes from there? Did Noonan get allegations and pass them on or did he sit on them?
The top 10% of earners in Ireland pay 29% of their incomes in tax.
The bottom 10% pay 28%.
That doesnât seem particularly progressive to me.
Fine Gael want to distort the balance of that even further to the advantage of the wealthy.
Sure Iâll respond for the craic.
1 You and your sf posse are getting very whiney and indignant over the last few days @funboy. Fg losing support by the day, you should be delighted. Instead youâre whingeing like a bunch of oul ones.
What turned me into a gecko type? Fucking success. And the smell of my own testosterone when I make big deals.
Grassroots Labour are busy canvassing pal. Sunshine SF lads like yourself are on the hyper Web being screaming Marys.
James Connolly would very much approve of raising the minimum wage twice and setting up a low pay commission. He wouldnât be a mad fan of capitalist cunts trying to make quick money on property investments in turkey/Bulgaria/Slovakia and other slums cos he had a few pound himself. Heâd see that as driving up the cost of housing in those countries for the the poor and low paid in those countries. Heâd have no time for rim job republicans up for that craic.
As for the dogs and fleas issue, youâve taken more shits in public parks than the whole of crufts.
You are not addressing the issue
It was obvious that Sinn Fein would go through the floor the closer we are to the election.
The electorate will be voting for who they want to govern the country. You will always have a protest vote within the bottom 15% of society.
You are not addressing the issue.
Look at it in the round. The link below from a think tank funded by Atlantic Philantrophies (Chuck Feeneyâs crowd) addresses this point including direct taxes and concludes that the Irish tax system is one of the most progressive in the OECD.
http://www.publicpolicy.ie/is-irelands-tax-system-progressive/