General Election 2016

The issue was more @funboy nonsense. I addressed it directly.

I am looking at it in the round. The “tax system” encompasses all taxes collected by the state. You’re only looking at it through a narrow focus on income taxes, which comprises just 41% of the tax system.

FF are a bit like Manchester United, living off past glory with fuck all talent on the current team.

Shite manager or not, neither are were they should be.[quote=“Smark, post:2465, topic:21776, full:true”]
Vincent fairly schooled young Jack Chambers last night on a number of occasions. The young FF man had a really poor showing but the party must rate him a rising star of sorts as he’s the only candidate running for them in this constituency. He’s 1/8 to win a seat where Joan Burton for example is 11/8 in the same constituency.

Did he just have a bad night because he looked really wet behind the ears to me?

Gerry Adams, hammered by the Indo?
Where have you been for the past 3 years?

They are the most biased shower of blueshirt sympathizers you’ll ever see.

But in @iron_mike’s defence It has become way more visceral since DOB started to realise that SF are potentially the 2nd largest party in the county.

No need for the independent to hammer him. Gerry Adams has hammered himself this week.

Not sure if this matters to anyone but here’s an article on the various arts policies of the parties.

Not true, anyone with a bit of cop on is earning at least 70k per year.

Fine Gael made a big play the last time around about how they were going to change the way politics was done, reform the Dail etc.

They did nothing of substance in this regard, and none of the major parties seem to be mentioning it this time around, bar some crowd who want the people to be able to initiate citizens referendums for every major decision.

Should mean another handy two point poll boost for Sinn Fein.

You didn’t even read my post did you? The article I linked included direct taxes.

Good article from Donnelly.

[quote=“tallback, post:2506, topic:21776, full:true”].

Look at it in the round. The link below from a think tank funded by Atlantic Philantrophies (Chuck Feeney’s crowd) addresses this point including direct taxes and concludes that the Irish tax system is one of the most progressive in the OECD.

http://www.publicpolicy.ie/is-irelands-tax-system-progressive/

I take it you mean indirect taxes.

That’s not what that article is saying at all.

It says that Ireland’s income tax system is one of the most progressive in the OECD.

In taking all taxes into account, the article only compares Ireland to Finland. One single country. That’s not making any sort of widespread claim.

Finally, the author of the piece is a former General Manager of AIB, Assistant Secretary in Revenue and a director of the HSE. He’s not exactly impartial.

Do you consider a system in which the top 10% of earners pay 29% of their income in taxes and the bottom 10% pay 28%, to be progressive?

I don’t.

That’s what Ireland is.

And Fine Gael want to redress the balance even more so that those at the bottom will end up paying more of their income into the tax system than those at the top.

Somewhat of a low move bringing my personal situation into your posts @Juhniallio. I knew you had family obligations to follow the labour / fg but I expected you would retain a certain respect for the confines of the forum debate. Please note I have not opted for the obvious cheap swipe at your own family.
My kids are Slovak citizens. Their grandparents do not live in slums. They are ordinary working class people but I guess it’s not exactly a demographic you and your family are familiar with.
Grassroots labour are a bunch of cunts who couldn’t get into grassroots ff. it’s jobs for the boys and planning permission help for lads in the know. They can keep ringing bells of gaffs over 400k and call themselves the rightful inheritors of the legacy of James Connolly but truth be told most of you cunts couldn’t find Belfast or Derry on a map and support neither a socialist nor a republican Ireland. Your teasing of @Nembo_Kid asking him ‘btw do you have a vote’ is a partitionist taut that ought to shame any Irishman. The electorate will call you as you are - the party that sold out the working class and allowed fg to claim their sale of Ireland to capitalism was in the name of Irish citizens.
True that I shit in parks. No contest on that. Pre game routine, I’ll use a labour manifesto next time.

Your bird is Slovak?
Nice one. Top top birds the slovaks.

Yeah Slovak Allright. You’d be half suspect that their taking calls from the Kremlin half the time. Moscow calls the shots in our relationship

That “small businesman” who confronted Mary Lou McDonald at the top of Grafton Street today about Sinn Fein’s tax policies is the CEO of the Irish arm of this “small business”.

London based Sarasin & Partners manages about £13.5bn (€16bn) on behalf of charities, institutions, intermediaries, pension funds and private clients, from the UK and around the world. It is part of Bank J Safra Sarasin, a Swiss private bank.

Can everyone be surgeons? Should the citizens who advance in life be forever covering the holes of layabouts?