General Election 2016

labour are actually rewarding people who fucked up the economy-madness

Where I work it has been positive more so then not, but it is an exploitation of new graduates and in even worse case scenarios unskilled workers.

It is exploited more so then it’s beneficial to people starting out in their careers imo.

What are you talking about? Ambrosè made a point that the bank bailout was a trifling matter. My point is that it wasn’t, the numbers were so big it managed to have a massive impact on every public servant for a fraction of the bailout cost.
The second point is that he had no idea either how much it would cost and sought advice on it from the people who it would benefit. You think it’s childish but sf don’t. Sf td caoimh o caolàin seemed to think it was a huge concern that the government were pally with the bank. So much so that he raised it in the Dail as a pq and asked them to go on record stating exactly what happened at a golf game the week before. We’re sf being childish?

Your opinion reminds me of a donkey farting.

I see where you are coming from Har, and people who put in the hours deserve to be rewarded etc, but the middle classes are even been screwed now.

There is talk of another recession about to hit us this year, China is fucked, Manufacturing in the US is down and FG are trying to cut taxes to get votes.

It’s not deja vu, but its close.

Anyone who couldn’t sell themselves as employable through Jobsbridge was clearly a fucking dunce.

You said he gave public sector workers longer working hours to protect his mates in the bank. That’s just ridiculous nonsense. SF raising questions about the relationship between ministers and the banks is not the same thing as suggesting that public sector workers were being flogged because of personal relationships with the banks.

Do you think public sector workers should have had to pay no fraction of the bailout cost? I can’t understand your logic here.

Ambrose didn’t day anything before you mentioned the extra hours and before you mentioned Lenihan.

Is it your suggestion now that they should have gone ahead with he bailout without talking to the banks first? So maybe just guess an amount and hope it’s right. Whether the bailout was right or wrong, it was obviously imperative to understand the requirements of the banks if you were going down that route. I’d have thought that was fairly obvious.

Absolutely, but when the likes of Tesco started offering it for lads stacking shelves something was very wrong.

It was a great initiative to get people a foot in the door, but would those positions not have been there naturally with a salary.

We are very exposed here though to global markets and from what I heard today, a top Limerick employer in same made an announcement which won’t make the papers before the election.

Roaster Alert…

rte.ie/elections has a feature (60 seconds) from all the candidates. Quite informative to look, study and listen to the candidates giving their spiel.

I kicked off with Carlow/Kilkenny and the 1st one up was Bobby Aylward. Well if it looks like a roaster, talks like a roaster you may guess it is in fact a roaster. Bobby is the real deal here.

And imagine I have another 499 to trawl through…:pint:

edit…Have a peep at the Offaly selection…John Foley (of nodding off fame) is running a tight 2nd…

Comedy Gold here…

Have a look at Terence Flanagan. His is smashing. Reading his script and reading it with all the personality and conviction of a glass of water.

No I didn’t, that’s ludicrous . I illustrated the level of hardship those cuts of ‘only’ 3 billion imposed. In direct relation to the 37 billion of the Anglo bail out which they willingly signed off on… You are deliberately misrepresenting my position. You seem to be hung up on the post where I mention hookers and coke. This was to emphasise that unlike previous administrations, say haughey and nd bertie, there is no evidence that cowen or lenihan took money personally. I’d almost be happier if they were on the take. They weren’t, they just did it because they believed the lads who had cosied up to them and had great craic with them at the golf and the races for years.

I said his bank bailout decision was made without properconsideration and protected his and the parties’ mates. I stand by that.

No. I think public sector workers had to share some of the burden of course. I do think it’s rubbish to suggest the bailout of banks was insignificant because our deficit was so high at the time. Had we not signed away billions to bank, and Anglo in particular, the cuts need not have been so severe.

No. Again you are deliberately misrepresenting my position. Of course he should have consulted the banks. He should have carried out some due diligence and checked them out. They are happy to put out that they were told it was a liquidity crisis and nothing else. It is my suggestion that he should have consulted independent sources and his own department properly before signing a blank cheque.

Look at this pain in the hole here. He has had a long running weekly slot on the George Hook radio show where he reviews some really obscure, arsey, destination and in his condensing, sneery delivery. Running for the Greens in Longford-Westmeath, they’ll take any old eejit.

His pronunciation of distant places is worth listening to. He’s completely making it up sometimes.

In fairness to him though smark, he did live for over a year completely off the land. No running water nothing. He believes in the green ethos.

Ah jaysus.Beefy Heffernan here. :grinning:

You man Emmet O’Brien came across ten times better in his one minute @TreatyStones

http://www.rte.ie/news/election-2016/candidates/754251-james-heffernan/

The Tipp constituency on fire already :grin:

Kelly is a megalomaniac.

Fuck sf

There’s great value at 9/1 with Dessie Shiels (IND) to get elected in Donegal.

Donegal Daily had him polling 3rd on first preference votes yesterday. Considering the early eliminations will be other Letterkenny-based Independent Candidates he should mop up plenty of votes from them, particularly Niamh Kennedy (who should poll decently) and Frank McBreaty Jr.

Pringle is from the old South West Constitunecy and has seen some of the areas that he polled well in the last time shifting to a different constituency.

It could come down to a battle for the last seat between Pringle, Shiels, McConalogue (FF-Letterkenny based) and Doherty (SF). I don’t think SF will get three TDs in so if Shiels stays ahead of McConalouge those transfers should get him across the line.