The oul aussies love their sport. The four major struts of aussie life are
1 Telling everyone how great they are (largely true)
2. Taking sport too seriously.
3. Selling coal to the Chinese.
4. Bleating about global warming.
Mind yourself @Fitzy. Let this be the end of it now mate if it is ACL. Recovery from that is torture and a young man’s game
Running around once a week for a kick about isn’t being fit.
Is there a pre season ?
Played my first junior game of the year last night. Absolutely crippled today. With all the coaching I havent had a chance to do any training myself.
It was a classic junior football encounter. The other team arrived with 25 fellas, and launched into a 30 minute warm up, while we sat around talking and trying to count up who had. Only had 14 at throw in time but luckily the ref didnt arrive until 20 mins after throw in time, by which stage we’d collared a lad who was passing in a tractor and the secretary drove off to get him gear.
The other team were seriously up for it, when they stuck their 2nd goal my man dropped to his knees with fists clinched roaring “c’maaaaaaan”. They got 3 early goals but we plugged away and had it back to 2 points at HT. It was a fairly even 2nd half and eventually we clinched a draw with an Eoin Mulligan-esque goal in the dying seconds.
It was a fair rag tag outfit and the other crowd were absolutely sickened. Our tactic of no warm up meant we had a bit more in the tank for the last 5 mins.
I’d say our full forward line easily touched the scales at a combined 55 stone, including one lad who was making his football debut at 26.
Did Athea re grade a pile . 25 for a 2nd team on a sunny bank holiday Saturday evening is fair going .
Classic junior alright. Some lads just have it and the lads that don’t can be as fit as they want but it probably won’t matter
How did the lad in the tractor do, man of the match I suppose?
Rapped a shot off the cross bar in the first minute and plugged away after that. He’d still be hurling but never really played football. The type of lad who goes through hurleys like match sticks.
5 month on, here we are.
A few hours before a massive west championship semi final clash.
Our championship campaign got off to a very rocky start with a loss in our opening game. However we used that loss as motivation and really turned things around. We had two remaining games in the group and our redoubling of efforts saw us comfortably overcome Rathkeale in a walkover in round 2. This was followed up with another hard earned walkover against Ballingarry in crunch final round game. A victory which saw us progress to the quarter finals in 2nd place.
The quarter final was unusual in that we actually had to play the match. Despite this set back our gallant band of 16 men narrowly overcame near neighbours St Senans with a last minute point.
Tonight’s opponents, Ballingarry are favourites to win the competition out. That said they are favourites every year but sometimes don’t turn up on the day(literally). We’ve great momentum now, being undefeated in 3 consecutive games, so hopefully that momentum will get us over the line, or failing that we get a late walkover.
C’maaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaannnnnnnnn
What’s this now
We fulfilled the fixture and nothing more.
The match attendance was seven (7) I hear.
Good luck in the final.
Fair play to ye. Big wesht final against Knockaderry Thursday night.