GGA Player Power Part II

In fairness you’d want a lot more than 2k to spend a weekend in Roscommon.

I know a Wexford footballer asked for close to a 4 figure sum to present medals to a local club at home a couple of years ago. As he was born in Wexford and spent his whole life there and both his parents are from Wexford I wouldnt have a problem with this type of thing.

The Wexford hurlers have hardly been blessed with top quality managers in the last number of years - Joachim Kelly, Maggot Murphy and John Meyler to name a few. They’ve got on with it though and never resorted to striking, nor have they demanded an input into selection of the manager.

Kev called Meyler’s removal player power earlier today but it was the chairman’s decision. Sure, he consulted with the players but it was his choice to do so and initiated by him.

[quote=“Bandage”]The Wexford hurlers have hardly been blessed with top quality managers in the last number of years - Joachim Kelly, Maggot Murphy and John Meyler to name a few. They’ve got on with it though and never resorted to striking, nor have they demanded an input into selection of the manager.

Kev called Meyler’s removal player power earlier today but it was the chairman’s decision. Sure, he consulted with the players but it was his choice to do so and initiated by him.[/quote]

Yeah but the Cork player power came about because they were treated badly by the county board. They specifically re appointed a manager who they knew the players didn’t want to settle old scores.
If the Wexford county board had done the same who knows how the Wexford lads would have reacted.
I’m not totally on the players side on this, I don’t think they should be on strike for a start and a lot of them (Donal Og for eg) seem like pricks, but it seems to me they have a full right to be very pissed off with the politics going on.
Surely you can accept this Bandage?
You’re just like that dubliner2 bollox and his ilk over on AFR if you just keep saying ‘he was democratically elected blah blah blah’.
This is the ultimate story with two sides.

[quote=“gola”]Yeah but the Cork player power came about because they were treated badly by the county board. They specifically re appointed a manager who they knew the players didn’t want to settle old scores.
If the Wexford county board had done the same who knows how the Wexford lads would have reacted.
I’m not totally on the players side on this, I don’t think they should be on strike for a start and a lot of them (Donal Og for eg) seem like pricks, but it seems to me they have a full right to be very pissed off with the politics going on.
Surely you can accept this Bandage?
You’re just like that dubliner2 bollox and his ilk over on AFR if you just keep saying ‘he was democratically elected blah blah blah’.
This is the ultimate story with two sides.[/quote]

I believe they’ve valid cause for complaint about the process alright but I completely disagree with them pissing off on strike for the third time.

There’s been a good chunk of us on here completely baffled as to why they don’t raise their grievances through their clubs and bring the necessary motions before the county boad.

Each time we’re met by the ‘big bad Frank Murphy’ response and, as I posted last week, I totally acknowledge that he’s a full time, paid official and can’t be shoved out of the way as if he’s insignificant.

However, his role is to administer Cork GAA and the clubs have the mandate to shape this through the motions they put before the board.

The players have got in completely arseways. They’ve been on strike for months before belatedly deciding they want to drive change via the clubs, e.g. meeting chairmen. This is the approach they should have chosen to begin with.

Instead, they pissed off on strike again and I don’t care if I offend anyone here but you listen to lads like Cusack, Gardiner and O’hAilpin speaking and they’re unable to calmly, succinctly and logically put their point across. They come across as rabid, reactionary, fanatic, even bordering on deranged as they breathlessly fuel the fire.

Take Cusack the other day on the radio - I listened to that and I thought to myself, maybe wrongly, ‘Jesus Christ, you seem like an utter, utter arsehole’.

I think there’s clearly fault on both sides but the failure of either party to take the initiative and drive some form of compromise is fooking sad. Hurling’s important but these cunts need a reality check and a dose of cop on. Ultimately, I reckon it’s more likely that 1 person will back down rather than 30 so I expect Gerald McCarthy to grudgingly move aside in the short-medium term.

[quote=“The Puke”]2000 euro a pop, no less NCC…Sickening really

True legends of the game like Seanie McMahon do it for nothing other than the love of the game…[/quote]

Why didn’t they ask Seanie McMahon so?

And truthfully, if, as part of my profession, I was asked to present or invigilate in Roscommon or anywhere else, my billed fees would be 1800 plus expenses plus VAT (Dept Rates)

[quote=“Mairegangaire”]Why didn’t they ask Seanie McMahon so?

And truthfully, if, as part of my profession, I was asked to present or invigilate in Roscommon or anywhere else, my billed fees would be 1800 plus expenses plus VAT (Dept Rates)[/quote]

mary, at those prices i don’t see you getting ‘the whip’ any time soon :stuck_out_tongue:

[quote=“Bandage”]I believe they’ve valid cause for complaint about the process alright but I completely disagree with them pissing off on strike for the third time.

There’s been a good chunk of us on here completely baffled as to why they don’t raise their grievances through their clubs and bring the necessary motions before the county boad.

Each time we’re met by the ‘big bad Frank Murphy’ response and, as I posted last week, I totally acknowledge that he’s a full time, paid official and can’t be shoved out of the way as if he’s insignificant.

However, his role is to administer Cork GAA and the clubs have the mandate to shape this through the motions they put before the board.

The players have got in completely arseways. They’ve been on strike for months before belatedly deciding they want to drive change via the clubs, e.g. meeting chairmen. This is the approach they should have chosen to begin with.

Instead, they pissed off on strike again and I don’t care if I offend anyone here but you listen to lads like Cusack, Gardiner and O’hAilpin speaking and they’re unable to calmly, succinctly and logically put their point across. They come across as rabid, reactionary, fanatic, even bordering on deranged as they breathlessly fuel the fire.

Take Cusack the other day on the radio - I listened to that and I thought to myself, maybe wrongly, ‘Jesus Christ, you seem like an utter, utter arsehole’.

I think there’s clearly fault on both sides but the failure of either party to take the initiative and drive some form of compromise is fooking sad. Hurling’s important but these cunts need a reality check and a dose of cop on. Ultimately, I reckon it’s more likely that 1 person will back down rather than 30 so I expect Gerald McCarthy to grudgingly move aside in the short-medium term.[/quote]

I’m curious about something,

Does the Wexford Secretary get involved in team selection or indeed has the Wexford Secretary ever taken a subs note from the team manager thrown it away and hand a different one to a match offical and a different sub?

[quote=“gola”]I’d say it’s complete rubbish that Sean Og is getting 2 grand for presenting medals. Where is he presenting them, Chelsea? What club is going to pay money like that? it’s ont as if people are paying to come to these under 12 B presentations so they’re not going to make any money back.
Maybe he asked for it as another way of saying I don’t have the time to do it, but I doubt that either.

Funny how upset the Wexford boys over suggestions their own lads might have done anything similar to those evil Cork gargoyles!
The cork hurlers aren’t some kind of genetic abnormality completely different from other bunch of lads from the same backgrounds, playing the same games who just happena to live the far side of a county boundary.

There are a few over earnest clowns but the whole 30 of them can’t be power hungry pricks. I’m sure they’re just normal enough young lads for the most part, and they’ve obviously been seriously pissed off to go this far.
Can’t believe fellas who see the issue in such complete black and white terms.

The key point is this. When the Wexford players were asked about John Meyler and they said they didn’t fancy him as a manager, If the county board had then appointed him specifically to piss them off (as there is no doubt happened in Cork, whatever side of the debate you’re on).
The Wexford boys would want to be fair forelock tugging, lickspittles if they didn’t at least kick up some kind of stink. And I’m sure they would have.
The point is their county board acted reasonably and realised if the players have no respect for a manager, then he’s not much of a manager. End of Story.[/quote]

Best post on this particular issue, only sorry i wasn’t able to articilate like that myself.

thru’ muck durt and bog
thru’ wind rain and hail
thru’ strikes strops and snots
thru’ wins, draws and shocks
thru’ hang, tay and jersey creams

to the Red Cow Roundabout and city council clampers
to PJ wearing Mah’s and white van men, Hill 16 gurriers and urban horses

and for however long it lasts

I’ll always be from d’cun’tree’

Like this is the shit i’m on about Bandage. In the last 2 years i must have heard 50 comments/stories like this, but nobody, and i mean absolutely nobody has ever actually been the person who talked to Sean Og or his agent.
Now, i have no doubt that going to Rosscommon would need a few bob for, but 2k? I know 3 Cork hurlers went to Antrim a year or two ago, they got 400.00 each. They had to make their own way up. I hardly think thats outrageous, and they were coaching as well for the day.

Eh, it ain’t the best post as gola was talking through his hole like your good self.

Stephen Ireland and Roy Keane lived across that boundary as well. So did three striking GAA panels.

Coincidence?

Ye wexicams are very ancy about all of this. A bit paranoid about something lads?
The fact ye can’t accept that your own CB acted better than the Cork CB (ok Bandage, you did concede something) is baffling. It’s like ye wished the CB forced a guy the players hated, but that then your players kept their mouths shut and wallowed in mediocrity for a couple of years.Things are clearer now, i often wondered why a county with the tradition and love for hurling had been so poor from time to time, and especially the most of the last 12 years, with one or two noteable exceptions.
Ye can’t blame the bad management selections on anyone else lads.

[quote=“Bandage”]The Wexford hurlers have hardly been blessed with top quality managers in the last number of years - Joachim Kelly, Maggot Murphy and John Meyler to name a few. They’ve got on with it though and never resorted to striking, nor have they demanded an input into selection of the manager.

Kev called Meyler’s removal player power earlier today but it was the chairman’s decision. Sure, he consulted with the players but it was his choice to do so and initiated by him.[/quote]

Absolutely. And Wexford have probably been the team to beat over the last eight or nine years.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Ye wexicams are very ancy about all of this. A bit paranoid about something lads?
The fact ye can’t accept that your own CB acted better than the Cork CB (ok Bandage, you did concede something) is baffling. It’s like ye wished the CB forced a guy the players hated, but that then your players kept their mouths shut and wallowed in mediocrity for a couple of years.Things are clearer now, i often wondered why a county with the tradition and love for hurling had been so poor from time to time, and especially the most of the last 12 years, with one or two noteable exceptions.
Ye can’t blame the bad management selections on anyone else lads.[/quote]

ara’ leave the wexicans alone with their own problems.

Back to our own backyard C please; now any news? Will Ger be gone by lunchtime?

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Ye wexicams are very ancy about all of this. A bit paranoid about something lads?
Ye can’t blame the bad management selections on anyone else lads.[/quote]

You’re some slurry spreader boy. Funny a Cork man asking us are WE paranoid.
You were comparing us to Cork lad when it was nowhere near it. Now you’re steering things in another direction as usual.
So you think because Wexford have been so poor that we should go on strike? That’s what you’re intimating towards here. For the last time Kev, don’t be putting us inside the same brackets as your traitor county.
And yes, Wexford do have a long and proud traditon in hurling-players have turned out for the love of the jersey in the good and bad years. Can’t say the same about your lads now can we, hurlers, footballers (soccer players too).
Not sure we hand our jerseys to the kit man now mind you.

[quote=“Pikeman”]You’re some slurry spreader boy. Funny a Cork man asking us are WE paranoid.
You were comparing us to Cork lad when it was nowhere near it. Now you’re steering things in another direction as usual.
So you think because Wexford have been so poor that we should go on strike? That’s what you’re intimating towards here. For the last time Kev, don’t be putting us inside the same brackets as your traitor county.
And yes, Wexford do have a long and proud traditon in hurling-players have turned out for the love of the jersey in the good and bad years. Can’t say the same about your lads now can we, hurlers, footballers (soccer players too).
Not sure we hand our jerseys to the kit man now mind you.[/quote]

You avoided the real question there like Dick Cheaney.
I’ll ask you straight out.
If Her Doyle or the CB had ignored the views of the players and re-appointed Myler, what would you have thought?
Would you thought they would be right to kick up a stink? Or should they just carry on?

And by the way, i can say that our “lads” have turned out for the love of the jersey. But in Cork there is a winning mentality, now that gets us into trouble from time to time, but i’d rather it that way than the “taking part” way of alot of clubs, places, teams or counties.

And another thing, i wouldn’t put ye in our bracket as a sporting county, nowhere near it, so you don’t have to worry abot that Pike. Hope i didn’t offend you so much.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]You avoided the real question there like Dick Cheaney.

‘Cheney’

Cheers, spelling isn’t a forte, even though i saw his name about 12 hours ago.:rolleyes: