GGA Player Power Part II

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]You avoided the real question there like Dick Cheaney.
I’ll ask you straight out.
If Her Doyle or the CB had ignored the views of the players and re-appointed Myler, what would you have thought?
Would you thought they would be right to kick up a stink? Or should they just carry on?

And by the way, i can say that our “lads” have turned out for the love of the jersey. But in Cork there is a winning mentality, now that gets us into trouble from time to time, but i’d rather it that way than the “taking part” way of alot of clubs, places, teams or counties.

And another thing, i wouldn’t put ye in our bracket as a sporting county, nowhere near it, so you don’t have to worry abot that Pike. Hope i didn’t offend you so much.[/QUOTE]

you’re very hah’sh Cimon, very hah’sh

aren’t they a dual county too?

[quote=“Mairegangaire;124774][QUOTE=caoimhaoin”]You avoided the real question there like Dick Cheaney.
If Her Doyle or the CB had ignored the views of the players and re-appointed Myler, what would you have thought?
Would you thought they would be right to kick up a stink? Or should they just carry on?

And by the way, i can say that our “lads” have turned out for the love of the jersey. But in Cork there is a winning mentality, now that gets us into trouble from time to time, but i’d rather it that way than the “taking part” way of alot of clubs, places, teams or counties.

And another thing, i wouldn’t put ye in our bracket as a sporting county, nowhere near it, so you don’t have to worry abot that Pike. Hope i didn’t offend you so much.[/QUOTE]

you’re very hah’sh Cimon, very hah’sh

aren’t they a dual county too?
:rolleyes:[/quote]

They are, and potentially a very good one as well.

[quote=“caoimhaoin;124775][quote=Mairegangaire”]

They are, and potentially a very good one as well.[/quote]

and they’re not afraid to go outside the County to find management.

[quote=“Mairegangaire;124784][quote=caoimhaoin”]

and they’re not afraid to go outside the County to find management.[/quote]

Your correct. But of course Cork don’t need to, is just the candidates requirments are a bit, lets say, complicated.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]If Her Doyle or the CB had ignored the views of the players and re-appointed Myler, what would you have thought?
Would you thought they would be right to kick up a stink? Or should they just carry on?[/quote]

Yeah, carry on. Apparently you play the game-surely you’ve had a manager you didn’t get on with (and if you’re as much a tard in real life as you are here it’s guaranteed you didn’t). You’d still play wouldn’t you?
Also, it would have been run by the club delegates surely to ratify (Like it was in Cork-Ger voted in by a HUUUUGE majority lest we forget) and would have been up to that.
But basically, as I said, as a corkman, a traitor, you think we should go on strike?

And the cheek of you to call yourself a sporting county?
Open your eyes man- I’m glad you don’t put us in the same bracket as your traitor county.

[quote=“caoimhaoin;124791][quote=Mairegangaire”]

Your correct. But of course Cork don’t need to, is just the candidates requirments are a bit, lets say, complicated.[/quote]

Who in their right mind, apart from a Langer, would want to step in and manage the biggest bunch of troublemaking traitors in the history of the GAA?

[quote=“Pikeman;124796][quote=caoimhaoin”]

Who in their right mind, apart from a Langer, would want to step in and manage the biggest bunch of troublemaking traitors in the history of the GAA?[/quote]

do you want to have another go at that Pikey

[quote=“Mairegangaire;124798][quote=Pikeman”]

do you want to have another go at that Pikey[/quote]

Since the Black and Tans :stuck_out_tongue:

[quote=“Pikeman”]Yeah, carry on. Apparently you play the game-surely you’ve had a manager you didn’t get on with (and if you’re as much a tard in real life as you are here it’s guaranteed you didn’t). You’d still play wouldn’t you?
Also, it would have been run by the club delegates surely to ratify (Like it was in Cork-Ger voted in by a HUUUUGE majority lest we forget) and would have been up to that.
But basically, as I said, as a corkman, a traitor, you think we should go on strike?

And the cheek of you to call yourself a sporting county?
Open your eyes man- I’m glad you don’t put us in the same bracket as your traitor county.[/quote]

In my club it has varied from year to year. The players have been asked every year what they think. Most managers have been with us for 4-5 years on the trot. Everyone knew the time was up when it was, thre was never any hassle, except when we couldn’t get anyone one particular year as the guy who had said he’d do it had to pull out, so i stoped playing for the year and done it.

You still won’t answer the question. You brought up my club, (why i don’t know). The huge majority in the CB voted without going to their clubs, and without any other canidates.

Your pathetic goings on about Cork doesn’t really bother me, sticks and stones and all that. I’ve heard it all, we’re tougher than that.

You still haven’t answered the real question. Would you really think it was ok if the Wexford CB had gone against the players wishes? Thats all i’m asking. Your avoidence of this question makes me think your afriad of the answer as it would make it look like your agreeing with the Cork players.

I don’t agree with the Cork players way of doing things, but i do agree with their grievencies.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]In my club it has varied from year to year. The players have been asked every year what they think. Most managers have been with us for 4-5 years on the trot. Everyone knew the time was up when it was, thre was never any hassle, except when we couldn’t get anyone one particular year as the guy who had said he’d do it had to pull out, so i stoped playing for the year and done it.

There you go Kev, player power.

You lost the run of yourself yesterday when you gave out yards about the Wexford players being consulted but now you admit it goes on in your own club. As I said, a walking contradiction.

Apologies if this has been posted. Well worth a read though.

Blow for McCarthy as Cork backroom member quits
By Michael Moynihan

EMBATTLED Cork hurling manager Gerald McCarthy suffered another setback yesterday with the resignation of Martin Walsh, the team’s logistics manager for the last two seasons.

Walsh said yesterday that McCarthy’s ongoing criticism of the 2008 senior hurling panel was the reason he was stepping down. “I thought Gerald’s interview on Saturday was very unfair,” said Walsh.

"Anyone who ever worked with Donal g Cusack knows he’ll listen to you. He wouldn’t make you feel uncomfortable, no matter what you’re saying; he’d do anything for you. He, Sean g and John Gardiner, as player reps, did everything they could to help Gerald over the last two seasons.

"The reason I’m stepping down now is that it’s hard enough listening to things being said about the players, what they’re getting out of the game and so on. Babs Keating’s attack on Diarmuid and Paudie O’Sullivan last week — and on their father Jerry — was very unfair as well. Babs probably has a hidden agenda, maybe he’s getting back at modern players.

“Donal g Cusack is an easy target for fellas to have a go at, an easy man to blame. As is Frank Murphy on the other side, in fairness. But to me Donal g is the ultimate professional — he, Sean g, Tom Kenny, they’re lads who’ll go to any lengths to get that extra one per cent out of themselves. To say Donal g doesn’t want to be coached and so on — I know he’d row in 100% behind anyone who could improve things. That’s the way he is — he’s a great man for the organisation. So is Sean g.”

Walsh credited facilitator Cathal O’Reilly with improving the atmosphere in the group last year, but agreed with the players who felt the quality of training had slipped.

"Cathal did fantastic work with the group — you could see them pulling together. He got them to gel and to build trust. But the one thing is that respect is a two-way street. You see what’s being written about the players and you have to ask is there respect there? If there’s no respect in the dressing-room, you have no business being there.

“Were things as bad as people say? Yes, they were. Jerry Wallace put in fierce work to keep things going last year, so did Brian Roche, but the players came from a background where Declan Kidney was watching them train, where people involved with Kilkenny would watch the sessions. The players are doing the training and if they feel that it’s gone from up here to down there, then it must have gone back. People forget the work the two trainers, Jerry Wallace and Seanie McGrath, put in under Donal O’Grady and John Allen.”

Walsh was involved with the 2009 team up to Sunday’s defeat to Dublin at Pirc Ui Chaoimh but had also continued to work with the 2008 panel.

""I felt this would be resolved, and that it was my duty to help the (2008) lads and make sure they could come back to play for Cork.

"You talk about pride in the jersey. These players have the ultimate pride in the jersey.

"Part of my job was to collect jerseys after games, and not one of them would throw the jersey to you. They hand the jersey back.

"They wait to sign autographs, to stand for photographs — I was at training for them at quarter to five, they’d start arriving at quarter past five and the last man would leave at ten o’clock.

“They’re superb men and they’re being dragged through the dirt here, when all they want is to get back to where Kilkenny are, to win All-Irelands.”

Walsh acknowledged the pressure on the new panel and on the county board.

"There are good men in the board — (chairman) Jerry O’Sullivan and (PRO) Ger Lane are friends of mine and they’re good men.

"Jerry is a sound man, he has club men and sons involved and it’s difficult for him.

"I got on well with Gerald as well, but he’s being left out on a limb here.

"It’s difficult for the 2009 players. There are grand guys there who could be developed, but they’re getting tarred with this thing.

“I’m a players’ man and I wouldn’t knock them, they answered the call, but they’ll probably be easy targets.”

Walsh, chairman of Ballinacurra GAA club, refuted suggestions the players were motivated by personal gain.

"At least 10 Cork players have been down there to help us in Ballinacurra, and all it cost us was a lunch for Shane O’Neill and some crystal we gave Sean g after he presented trophies.

"All the talk about money for them is rubbish.

“How come nobody is talking about Donal g and Kevin Hartnett working for Alan Kerins in Zambia, or about the fact that they’re getting 20 people to go out there again in October?”

Walsh sees more pressing problems for Cork GAA.

"If the board can leave their greatest asset, the players, on the outside, have another 30 footballers threatening to go — and maybe another 50 players who won’t play — then something has to give.

"It’s grand saying people are looking after underage teams and so on, but we’re not promoting ourselves.

"I’m my club’s East Cork Board delegate, and I see clubs amalgamating at minor, pushing for twelve-a-side at U21.

"We’re holding our own but stronger clubs are coming back to our level.

"You’d wonder just how strong the GAA is in Cork.

"We should be pushing our inter-county hurlers and footballers, not knocking them.

“Rugby and soccer motor away at their own thing. Why can’t we?”

I never brought up your club? Don’t know who the hell you play/are a sub for?

The Wexford players never asked for the manager to be sacked Kev. You keep missing this point.
The panel of players, hurling and football, were set up to talk independently to the CB about how their year went. They never said to Ger Doyle, or issued a statement asking for Meyler to be removed from his position.
The Cork players did, and want to in the future-that’s the power the traitor county players are looking for.
You’re obviously not that tough about your traitor county if you keep answering any criticism of a player from there.
I’m done with this anyway, going around in circles with you and you keep coming back to Wexford for some reason to argue about the biggest bunch of troublemakers ever to grace this land since 1169.

The best thing about all this traitor talk is you can see all the boys who would jump in on the side of the authorities at the first sign of trouble. No wonder the free state had no bother finding firing squads during the civil war.

And you a clare man?-christ

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]You avoided the real question there like Dick Cheaney.

And another thing, i wouldn’t put ye in our bracket as a sporting county, nowhere near it, so you don’t have to worry abot that Pike. Hope i didn’t offend you so much.[/quote]

You still don’t get the point that’s repeatedly been made here. The first avenue for players disagreeing with the county board should never be to strike. How the fook can you avoid this in all your ‘what if’ scenarios? I said it last night on this thread too - do you disagree with it or something?

If Ger Doyle had insisted that John Meyler was the best man for the job and informed the players accordingly, then they would have had the option of taking this to their clubs and requesting that their board delegate raise these concerns in the debate, as well as ultimately vote against the appointment, at the meeting to ratify the manager. It’s belatedly what the Cork hurlers have decided to do in their statement from a couple of weeks ago, i.e. try to get clubs onside and meet with club chairmen.

You seem to have been glorifying the strikers in some other posts this morning as being men of principle and lauding their refusal to settle for second best. You actually think they’ve gone about this the correct way and they deserve praise for it?

It’s also quite hypocritical to see you dismiss my example of a Fijian looking for money as hearsay, yet you’ve taken a quote from some jersey washer from the Cork set-up on another thread, who you say you don’t know at all, as definitive proof that they don’t demand cash. There’s nothing at all different about it but you’ve chosen to believe one tale - that’s your prerogative - but it doesn’t make you right.

Ha ha. Well to be fair, at least in Clare the 3rd Dail election returned 2 pro-treaty and 2 anti-treaty candidates. Unlike the wexicans who decided to throw most of their votes to the Farmers Party and the Labour party. Ah sure it wouldn’t be fair to ask ye to carry all the burden I suppose. Sure it wasn’t even 150 years since ye had massacred all those protestants and got trapped up a hill by the british army.

True-to be fair, and proud of it. Never had you backing langers though.

that was the North Cork Militia at that craic. Rebels me hole

[quote=“Mac”]There you go Kev, player power.

You lost the run of yourself yesterday when you gave out yards about the Wexford players being consulted but now you admit it goes on in your own club. As I said, a walking contradiction.[/quote]

Where is that Mac. I was trying to compare the situations. It was then explained the way your chairman had delt with things. I believe thats the way it should be delt with. Ultimately i don’t think players should have a final say in a manager or anything, but they certainly should be heard. This hasn’t happened in Cork. I also mentioned a few other counties. Waterford delt with theirs badly, so did Offaly. As it happens i thought Wexford delt with it correctly.
What i’m trying to say is that a little player influence or interaction isn’t a bad thing, once its used well.

You still don’t get the point that’s repeatedly been made here. The first avenue for players disagreeing with the county board should never be to strike. I agree here, i have repeatidly said i disagree with the way the players have gone about all of this. How the fook can you avoid this in all your ‘what if’ scenarios? I said it last night on this thread too - do you disagree with it or something? I disagree with the way the players went about it. Is that what your asking?

If Ger Doyle had insisted that John Meyler was the best man for the job and informed the players accordingly, then they would have had the option of taking this to their clubs and requesting that their board delegate raise these concerns in the debate, as well as ultimately vote against the appointment, at the meeting to ratify the manager. It’s belatedly what the Cork hurlers have decided to do in their statement from a couple of weeks ago, i.e. try to get clubs onside and meet with club chairmen. The clubs got to debate nothing, thats what your missing.

You seem to have been glorifying the strikers in some other posts this morning as being men of principle and lauding their refusal to settle for second best. You actually think they’ve gone about this the correct way and they deserve praise for it? No, but the principal of the situation i agree with the players on.

It’s also quite hypocritical to see you dismiss my example of a Fijian looking for money as hearsay, yet you’ve taken a quote from some jersey washer from the Cork set-up on another thread, who you say you don’t know at all, as definitive proof that they don’t demand cash. There’s nothing at all different about it but you’ve chosen to believe one tale - that’s your prerogative - but it doesn’t make you right. I know what i’m been told by someone very close to the situation in hand. I have gotten the player in question out to my club. Nobody who has ever actually spoke to him or his agent have actually told me he asked for this or that. As i stated, i know of hurlers going up the country and getting 400 each. I believe players get money, no doubt, my biggest issue is with the totally overblown amounts being bandied about.