GGA Player Power Part II

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Ok, answer this.
If the chairman in Wexford had not listened to the players, and had forced John Myler through last winter, would you have thought that was alright? Would you think the players should kick up a stink? Or do you think they should just get on with it and take it that the CB knows best? And, with knowing the players were not happy, would you support John Myler if he took the job, knowing all this.

Its pretty simple. You can put in another county name in there, it could happen anywhere. Most counties deal with it correctly, including Wexford. I just want to know how you actually feel about the initial issues, taking away Donal Og, Sean Og and all the other power and money hungry monsters that you have no time for.[/quote]

Answered this already.

I’m going to answer that anyway kev.

If the players had come out and said they were completely unhappy, then I suppose I’d have been annoyed if the Co board nominated him in spite of that. but if the board had put him back in, and in spite of the players grievances the club delegates ratified him through a vote, then i think the players should be big enough to move on with things and give their best for the year. not everyone is always going to get on with their manager. if you have given your say, and a democratic vote is taken place, then you should accept it and get back on the field of play.

Its a hypothetical question tho, because firstly, the players were consulted, and secondly, there is a vote before a manager can be put back in charge. The chairman went behind the boards backs in all this and got rid of the management, and was rightly called up for it (as I pointed out to you before). Mylers sacking was a surprise to a lot of people, as some though he was moving in the right direction. but hard facts show he gave us our worst defeats in a long time and relegated to div 2.

Whats the point in answering hypothetical questions on this Kev? It serves no purpose for your argument whatsoever.

Show me where and i’ll take you seriously.

You look for it.

I’m on strike.

Because we are all GAA people, right? I want to get your opinions on the matter that is one of the serious causes of this mess.
I know you and Pike are tagging, but more power to ye. I personally believe ye are avoiding the question so ye can still keep banging on about Cork this, Cork that, Cork are wankers blaa blaa blaa.
If not, prove me wrong.

[quote=“Pikeman”]You look for it.

I’m on strike.[/quote]

always knew there was Cork blood in you. Pikeman the langer.

[quote=“Pikeman”]You look for it.

I’m on strike.[/quote]

Your full of shit. Well now i know your agenda, and thats fine, but at least have the balls to say it.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Because we are all GAA people, right? I want to get your opinions on the matter that is one of the serious causes of this mess.
I know you and Pike are tagging, but more power to ye. I personally believe ye are avoiding the question so ye can still keep banging on about Cork this, Cork that, Cork are wankers blaa blaa blaa.
If not, prove me wrong.[/quote]

first of all its fcukin GGA- there is a real body that deals with athletics & stick hurling is a game not a sport
secondly we arent all GGA people & some of us are loving seeing cork GGA imploding & finally carkies are so up themselves & full of self importence its good to see this coming back to haunt them

[quote=“Pikeman”]Yeah, carry on. Apparently you play the game-surely you’ve had a manager you didn’t get on with (and if you’re as much a tard in real life as you are here it’s guaranteed you didn’t). You’d still play wouldn’t you?
Also, it would have been run by the club delegates surely to ratify (Like it was in Cork-Ger voted in by a HUUUUGE majority lest we forget) and would have been up to that.[/quote]

There it is you lazy hoor

[quote=“Gman”]I’m going to answer that anyway kev.

If the players had come out and said they were completely unhappy, then I suppose I’d have been annoyed if the Co board nominated him in spite of that. but if the board had put him back in, and in spite of the players grievances the club delegates ratified him through a vote, then i think the players should be big enough to move on with things and give their best for the year. not everyone is always going to get on with their manager. if you have given your say, and a democratic vote is taken place, then you should accept it and get back on the field of play.

Its a hypothetical question tho, because firstly, the players were consulted, and secondly, there is a vote before a manager can be put back in charge. The chairman went behind the boards backs in all this and got rid of the management, and was rightly called up for it (as I pointed out to you before). Mylers sacking was a surprise to a lot of people, as some though he was moving in the right direction. but hard facts show he gave us our worst defeats in a long time and relegated to div 2.[/quote]

Didn’t happen.
But thank you for outlining how you thought, and your right about what should happen. The players opinions were not considered either, that is clear.
And fair play to your board for pulling the chairman on it, wish we had people of similar backbone in the Board.
Myler (like Ger Mac funnily enough) from my experience is an old school coach. This could be why Wexford are in Div. 2. Because its not because they don’t have the hurlers.

Thats not an answer.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Didn’t happen.

I thought GMC was voted in last november? I could well be wrong here, but I’m nearly sure there was a vote on his ratification.

I pretty much said what Gman just said about it going to the club delegates to be ratified democratically.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Didn’t happen.
But thank you for outlining how you thought, and your right about what should happen. The players opinions were not considered either, that is clear.
And fair play to your board for pulling the chairman on it, wish we had people of similar backbone in the Board.
Myler (like Ger Mac funnily enough) from my experience is an old school coach. This could be why Wexford are in Div. 2. Because its not because they don’t have the hurlers.[/QUOTE]

John Meyler is not the reason why Wexford are in Div 2 and have been pretty shite for the last 10 years. What players do they have that would make even the Tipp team? Rossiter, Jacobs, Quigley, Stamp and Redmond are decent players but would they even make a Tipp, Galway or Waterford side? I think its a complete myth that Wexford have the hurlers to seriously challenge even the also rans.

kevin has already admitted he is unwilling to overlook the importance of democracy and due process in all this.
Well actually he will if the process is set by him and the outcome agrees with him.

the man is playing a blinder today, he is rabbiting on like Donal Og and its keeping me well entertained.
Imagine a place with thousands of kevins and you can begin to grasp the problem down there.
Its mental

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Ok, answer this.
If the chairman in Wexford had not listened to the players, and had forced John Myler through last winter, would you have thought that was alright? Would you think the players should kick up a stink? Or do you think they should just get on with it and take it that the CB knows best? And, with knowing the players were not happy, would you support John Myler if he took the job, knowing all this.

Its pretty simple. You can put in another county name in there, it could happen anywhere. Most counties deal with it correctly, including Wexford. I just want to know how you actually feel about the initial issues, taking away Donal Og, Sean Og and all the other power and money hungry monsters that you have no time for.[/quote]

I find it pointless answering questions on things that haven’t happened but anyway, I, as a supporter would get behind whoever the manager is. I didnt agree with Meylers appointment in the same way I didnt agree with Jason Ryans appointement and in the same way I generally disagreed with Maggot Murphys, John Conrans, Paul Bealins and Joachim Kellys appointments. Colm Bonnar is the first time I’ve genuinely been encouraged as I think we’ve needed an outsider for a long time. Did my disagreement stop me from getting behind the team and travelling around the country to watch them in O’Byrne Cup / Walsh Cup games, League and Championship games - No.

Would I feel the players were justified if they highlighted their issues to the county board - possibly. Should they kick up a stink? No. Trade Unions have this country bollixed as it is. Certain segments of the working force have a striking mentality and introducing this into an organisation that has provided consistenty to the Irish people regardless of economic climate is to the detriment of the entire GAA.

Striking should be the last possible option in any scenario and should always be avoided - whether thats in sport or in a general working environment. The minute you threaten to go on strike or actually go on strike, you’ve lost the battle and handed the upper hand to the other side. Its the worst possible thing this panel of any panel could have done.

They could have aired their grievances and continued to maintain their dignity by representing their county and continuing to highlight their concerns on an ongoing basis rather than just throwing all their toys out of the pram. I genuinely believe only 20% of those on strike want to strike but that 20% probably accounts of 95% of the verbal rubbish we are fed by this panel every day.

Ah lads how many times do ye have to do this dance?

You are right. But this is just th start of the roundabout again, i’m not going into it. But it was thrown in at the end of business without anyone (excep the executive) knowing about it. Much like last night.
Technically you are totally correct, and i suppose having not experienced the way it works down here i should realise that ye all are going to struggle to understand why this happens, why it hasn’t been highlighted etc. Why the clubs let it happen? I’m a club member, and maybe i’m an idiot for letting it happen, but you have no idea how one’s hands are tied.
There is nothing else i can say, they did vote him in that night, just like they voted in Teddy Holland.

We’ll wait til sunday night, i might try and go along with the chairman.

There are two threads on it for fuck sake!