McCarthy was voted in 88-6 by delegates alright but the vote wasnât on whether to ratify him alone - it was on whether to reappoint BOTH him and Conor Counihan. A nice little stroke by Frank considering Counihan was always going to be re-appointed after doing a good job last year. Surprised there wasnât more mention made by the players of this with all their talk about âprocessâ.
Tipp, Galway and Waterford? All high profile teams weâve beaten in big games in recent years?
Good man KIB-back to Celtic bashing with ya.
[quote=âcaoimhaoinâ]Y
Weâll wait til sunday night, i might try and go along with the chairman.[/quote]
good man kevin , you are exactly the sort of level headed straight thinking unbiased man to sort this out
[quote=âcaoimhaoinâ]You are right. But this is just th start of the roundabout again, iâm not going into it. But it was thrown in at the end of business without anyone (excep the executive) knowing about it. Much like last night.
Technically you are totally correct, and i suppose having not experienced the way it works down here i should realise that ye all are going to struggle to understand why this happens, why it hasnât been highlighted etc. Why the clubs let it happen? Iâm a club member, and maybe iâm an idiot for letting it happen, but you have no idea how oneâs hands are tied.
There is nothing else i can say, they did vote him in that night, just like they voted in Teddy Holland.
Weâll wait til sunday night, i might try and go along with the chairman.[/quote]
Yeah, I donât understand why people donât get that something passing at a county board meeting doesnât necessarily mean that the people have spoken. Most motions at county board meetings are never even heard about by anyone who wasnât at them.
God yeah, youâd understand if they were voting on moving club league games from a Sunday to a Saturday.
But with this episode. itâs high profile and is all thatâs been talked about. Not as if they were caught by total surprise or anything.
[quote=âMacâ]I find it pointless answering questions on things that havenât happened but anyway, I, as a supporter would get behind whoever the manager is. I didnt agree with Meylers appointment in the same way I didnt agree with Jason Ryans appointement and in the same way I generally disagreed with Maggot Murphys, John Conrans, Paul Bealins and Joachim Kellys appointments. Colm Bonnar is the first time Iâve genuinely been encouraged as I think weâve needed an outsider for a long time. Did my disagreement stop me from getting behind the team and travelling around the country to watch them in OâByrne Cup / Walsh Cup games, League and Championship games - No.
Would I feel the players were justified if they highlighted their issues to the county board - possibly. Should they kick up a stink? No. Trade Unions have this country bollixed as it is. Certain segments of the working force have a striking mentality and introducing this into an organisation that has provided consistenty to the Irish people regardless of economic climate is to the detriment of the entire GAA.
Striking should be the last possible option in any scenario and should always be avoided - whether thats in sport or in a general working environment. The minute you threaten to go on strike or actually go on strike, youâve lost the battle and handed the upper hand to the other side. Its the worst possible thing this panel of any panel could have done.
They could have aired their grievances and continued to maintain their dignity by representing their county and continuing to highlight their concerns on an ongoing basis rather than just throwing all their toys out of the pram. I genuinely believe only 20% of those on strike want to strike but that 20% probably accounts of 95% of the verbal rubbish we are fed by this panel every day.[/quote]
Ok. Perfectly good explanation of your views. By the way i tried to support the team, but having seen the disgusting carry on last sunday i just couldnât bring myself to it anymore. Following that team is following the CB in my view, rightly or wrongly.
Your last paragraph i agree with about the way they done things, totally agree, and have always said it. About it being about 20% of the players, well you could be right, it could be less. Strike is the option of a few, but i believe all 30 donât want ger, and have a major problem with CB.
Youâd be surprised, at least if i was stting in a room with Frank, the players and the CB iâd know where everyone stands, and iâd know their agendas.
You should go for the LImerick Secretarys job, it was on Irish jobs yesterday.
No lifetime guarantee for the job, so i didnât bother:D. Also iâm not from Limerick so i wouldnât know the politics very well.
[quote=âcaoimhaoinâ]Ok. Perfectly good explanation of your views. By the way i tried to support the team, but having seen the disgusting carry on last sunday i just couldnât bring myself to it anymore. Following that team is following the CB in my view, rightly or wrongly.
Your last paragraph i agree with about the way they done things, totally agree, and have always said it. About it being about 20% of the players, well you could be right, it could be less. Strike is the option of a few, but i believe all 30 donât want ger, and have a major problem with CB.[/quote]
Do you honestly think every county team panel member in Ireland is fully satisfied with their manager (bar Cody & Harte)? I know for a fact that a good portion of the Wexford panel had no time for Meyler but it didnt stop them turning up and doing the job. A trade union mentality has developed in your lads driven by a couple of lunatics who think they are gods and it stands to set Cork GAA back the best part of 5-10 years.
Cork people are tribal by nature and seem to like going against authority so its a natural thing for people to follow the striking players. You should get yourself out of the county for a few weeks and look at it as an outsider with an unbiased view and I guarantee youâll see it completely differently.
No-ones going to come out of this with dignity intact and to be honest Iâm sick of listening and reading about it all over the place at the moment. It wont be too long before OK magazine have a profile of how one of the players wives / partners supports her fella striking. As far as Iâm concerned (and Iâd be fairly sure most genuine GAA fans will be the same) the lads who put on the county jersey and go out and give 100% for the county regardless of their ability and the scenario are the lads who deserve our support, not the shower who sit in the background making snide comments and organising the most pointless marches the world has possibly ever seen.
[quote=âMacâ]Do you honestly think every county team panel member in Ireland is fully satisfied with their manager (bar Cody & Harte)? I know for a fact that a good portion of the Wexford panel had no time for Meyler but it didnt stop them turning up and doing the job. A trade union mentality has developed in your lads driven by a couple of lunatics who think they are gods and it stands to set Cork GAA back the best part of 5-10 years.
Cork people are tribal by nature and seem to like going against authority so its a natural thing for people to follow the striking players. You should get yourself out of the county for a few weeks and look at it as an outsider with an unbiased view and I guarantee youâll see it completely differently.
No-ones going to come out of this with dignity intact and to be honest Iâm sick of listening and reading about it all over the place at the moment. It wont be too long before OK magazine have a profile of how one of the players wives / partners supports her fella striking. As far as Iâm concerned (and Iâd be fairly sure most genuine GAA fans will be the same) the lads who put on the county jersey and go out and give 100% for the county regardless of their ability and the scenario are the lads who deserve our support, not the shower who sit in the background making snide comments and organising the most pointless marches the world has possibly ever seen.[/quote]
Well said Mac.
Kev wonât listen though
I like this picture.
hey rocko/bandage. any chance of merging this thread with the other one. its a bit all over the place trying to keep the same topic going on 2 threads (even if this one was about Offaly football!)
[quote=âPikemanâ]Tipp, Galway and Waterford? All high profile teams weâve beaten in big games in recent years?
Good man KIB-back to Celtic bashing with ya.[/quote]
When was the last time Wexford played Galway in a recent big game? 13 years ago I reckon.
Wexford people are deluding themselves in the extreme if they think bar KK that they are as good as anything else out there. I remember watching them play Clare in Croke Park a few years ago and it was embarrassing. It was Antrim esque
When did Wexford last win an All Ireland underage title in hurling or even a provincial one?
Its sad to see actually. A Wexford side playing Kerry in the NHL. Altho didnt Wexford lose to Westmeath before in a league match during the Liam Griffin reign so there is hope yet I suppose.
beat them in league quarter final year before last. think thats the last âbigâ game if youâd count it. league means feck all tho.
thing is tho, is Wexford can match the big sides of recent times. drew with Tipp and Cork when they both went on to win AI finals. beat tipp year before last, had Waterford to beat last year (but they are shite now anyway). Clare, for some reason have been the only team we havent got close to in recent years. I know KK have hammered us recently, but there have also been close games with them with the odd win thrown in.
won a couple of Leinseter U21 titles a few years back, and lost ot Limerick in final of it. We really need the minors form this year on tho to start making an impression. Last years had a chance to do something but they pretty much blew it on the line.
[quote=âKIB manâ]When was the last time Wexford played Galway in a recent big game? 13 years ago I reckon.
Wexford people are deluding themselves in the extreme if they think bar KK that they are as good as anything else out there. I remember watching them play Clare in Croke Park a few years ago and it was embarrassing. It was Antrim esque
When did Wexford last win an All Ireland underage title in hurling or even a provincial one?
Its sad to see actually. A Wexford side playing Kerry in the NHL. Altho didnt Wexford lose to Westmeath before in a league match during the Liam Griffin reign so there is hope yet I suppose.[/quote]
League Quarter final in 2007 was the last match of note. Our underage record is shocking and no-one will argue with you there but underage success doesnt guarantee senior success as myboyblue and anyone from Galway will testify.
[quote=âKIB manâ]When was the last time Wexford played Galway in a recent big game? 13 years ago I reckon.
Wexford people are deluding themselves in the extreme if they think bar KK that they are as good as anything else out there.[/quote]
League Quarter 2 years ago.
Right, who has walked over us bar Kilkenny in the last couple of years?
Gway KIB man, back to Celtic bashing with ya.
[quote=âPikemanâ]Well said Mac.
Kev wonât listen though[/quote]
Iâd listen to Mac alright.
Not you though.
But its better than no success at all.
[quote=âcaoimhaoinâ]Iâd listen to Mac alright.
Not you though.:D[/quote]
Cos heâs saying what Iâve been saying only apparently youâre too lazy to read my posts.
So you agree with Mac about following the current players then? A walking contradiction is right
Ah it is but it isnât really. As Gman said, we contested loads of U21 finals in the early part of this decade. As I mentioned on another thread 3 Wexford schools contested All Ireland finals in 1999 with 2 of them winning finals.
Weâve won U14 and U16 All Irelands over the past 20 years but it hasnât really done us much use. The county board sat back on their laurels after the AI win in '96 and weâre still feeling the effects of it. Last years minors were supposed to be the golden hope but were lucky to beat Dublin before Kilkenny taught them a lesson and then they handed the game to Galway on a plate.
[quote=âPikemanâ]League Quarter 2 years ago.
Right, who has walked over us bar Kilkenny in the last couple of years?
Gway KIB man, back to Celtic bashing with ya.[/quote]
Clare twice hammered the shit out of Wexford. They were average Clare sides too.
Wexford are destroyed by KK on an annual basis.
The replays against Cork and Tipp in those semi finals were hammerings.
One point wins over Offaly and Dublin dont hold much value.
Iâm struggling to think of the last really good Wexford performance in the Championship. When was the last league title or even league final appearance?
John Meyler may not have been much of a manager but you cant shine shit either.
I have a feeling that u21 final appearance was in 2001. Did Barry Lambert not miss a free at the end to equalise? Its 8 years ago this year too.