Gigs coming up

Thought I had posted on here about Bloc Party but seemingly not. Was at their gig in Sydney a couple of weeks ago and they were sensational. Would definitely let their drummer have sex in me.

Crowd was rubbish though. Didn’t know any of their stuff and I think they were just there to try and be cool.

[quote=“ClarkeyCat”]Thought I had posted on here about Bloc Party but seemingly not. Was at their gig in Sydney a couple of weeks ago and they were sensational. Would definitely let their drummer have sex in me.

Crowd was rubbish though. Didn’t know any of their stuff and I think they were just there to try and be cool.[/quote]what does he look like?

I didn’t go because my tie-dyed T-shirt was in the wash and I didn’t want to get covered in puke and spit but I heard the Levellers were ace tonight in the Academy.

As I walked down by the riverside
One evening in the spring
Heard a long gone song
From days gone by
Blown in on the great north wind
Though there is no lonesome corncrakes cry
Of sorrow and delight
You can hear the cars
And the shouts from bars
And the laughter and the fights

May the ghosts that howled
Round the house at night
Never keep you from your sleep
May they all sleep tight
Down in hell tonight
Or wherever they may be

As I walked on with a heavy heart
Then a stone danced on the tide
And the song went on
Though the lights were gone
And the north wind gently sighed
And an evening breeze coming from the east
That kissed the riverside
So I pray now child that you sleep tonight
When you hear this lullaby
May the wind that blows from haunted graves
Never bring you misery
May the angels bright
Watch you tonight
And keep you while you sleep

[media=youtube]hiwYoznEFLU

[media=youtube]L0RRne6s888

Lads anyone been in the new O2 venue yet? Whats it the like?, The Point was a pretty shite venue but rumour has it this place is a big improvement

[media=youtube]SirutCHZ-QI

No youtube access so posting lyrics

Thanks and praises
Thanks to jesus
I bet on the bottle of smoke
I went to hell
And to the races
To bet on the bottle of smoke

The day being clear
The sky being bright
He came up on the left
Like a streak of light
Like a drunken fuck
On a saturday night
Up came the bottle of smoke

Twenty fucking five to one
Me gambling days are done
I bet on a horse called the bottle of smoke
And my horse won

Stewards inquiries
Swift and fiery
I had the bottle of smoke
Inquisitions and suppositions

Fuck the stewards
A trip to lourdes
Might give the old fuckers
The power of sight
Screaming springers and stoppers
And call out coppers
But the money still gleams in my hand like a light

Bookies cursing
Cars reversing
Glasses steaming
Vessels bursting
Slip a fifty to the wife
And for each brat a crisp new five
To give me a break on a saturday night
When I had the bottle of smoke
Priests and maidens
Drunk as pagans
They had the bottle of smoke
Sins forgiven and celebrations
They had the bottle of smoke

Fuck the yanks
And drink their wives
The moon is clear
The sky is bright
Im happy as the horses shite
Up came the bottle of smoke

“Big improvement” might be understatement of the year. Whole different ball game from what I’ve read. The Point was a shithole alright. I was fond of it though seeing as I saw all my first big concerts there. Madness when I was 13, Blur, Manic Street Preachers. Good days.

Any reports on the Pogues last night?

Blur in 97(?) was an absolute belter of a gig, one of my favourite ever. Same for the Manics 3 days before Glastonbury in 99.

At least one hundred million times better than the point. Sound, access, comfort, atmosphere, layout, the ability to have a drink while you’re watching a gig all vastly improved.

The only issue is access to the place. That should be ok when the Luas makes it’s way down there though. The area could do with a really decent pub aswell.

[quote=“Fran”]At least one hundred million times better than the point. Sound, access, comfort, atmosphere, layout, the ability to have a drink while you’re watching a gig all vastly improved.

The only issue is access to the place. That should be ok when the Luas makes it’s way down there though. The area could do with a really decent pub aswell.[/quote]

Great venue, now all we need is a half decent band to play there

The list for the upcoming 6 nmonths is fairly miserable alright.

Clapton, Dylan & The Australian Pink Floyd are the only ones that might be any use.

[quote=“Fran”]The list for the upcoming 6 nmonths is fairly miserable alright.

Clapton, Dylan & The Australian Pink Floyd are the only ones that might be any use.[/quote]

I hear those lads AC/DC are decent enough in a live setting.

Fairly shite line-up of shows apart from that though, granted.

Who would you like to see and could realistically fill the place though?

[quote=“Thrawneen”]I hear those lads AC/DC are decent enough in a live setting.

Fairly shite line-up of shows apart from that though, granted.

Who would you like to see and could realistically fill the place though?[/quote]

Forgot about AC/DC. They don’t do much for me anyway.

[quote=“Thrawneen”]
Who would you like to see and could realistically fill the place though?[/quote]

It doesn’t have to be full though really, does it? Reducing the ticket prices would help though.

I know the best way to get into the Point (O2 me bollix) but fuck it if I’m posting it up here.

No, but the novelty of going to the o2 seems to be selling out most of the shows there anyway. I mean, I’m thinking about 75% of the people who bought Bob Dylan tickets and sold it out in a couple of days are gonna be pretty fucking pissed when they see his show.

Anyway, I’d like to see Sigur Ros, Daft Punk, Neil Young, Flaming Lips. I reckon they’d all fill the place.

I will.

http://www.liffeyvoyage.ie/index.html