Giving to Charity

Bit of a first. Short video I recorded for everyone. Nearly €1,000 donated from tfk members thus far. Many thanks all.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WZOPzZCHDd8&feature=youtu.be

Outstanding. Finally this place has a purpose.

Thanks for the reminder bud, sorted it there this morning.

Fair play @RaymondCrotty, best of luck with the fundraising and the teaching program.

That was cool, nice how you got that salt of the earth Dub chap to present it for ya.

Very good @RaymondCrotty, not easy putting yourself out there. Will pass on a donation when the pay cheque is in.

What the fuck is the story with the Galway colours all over the video @RaymondCrotty??

By my calculations €1125 has been donated thus far by TFK posters.

What Does This Mean In Real Terms?
We support families who earn less than $2 a day (€1,75) to ensure they can send their child to school. These families get €50 per year from us (if their child continues to attend primary school regularly).

TFK support has meant that children from 11 families will now attend school regularly.
TFK contribution = €550

€575 is used to support our Quality Teaching Programme. This means 168 quality teaching lessons will take place for children in grades 1 to 3. Children will learn and because they are learning they are more likely to stay in school and not work in rice fields or factories…

Please feel free to pass any content from here on to others. The fundraising page will remain open until Christmas Day. Happy Christmas! Huge thanks one and all.

Forwarded. I’ll keep you posted.
May need to take it to pm if it works.

Pal of mine donating :+1:

Superb!!

get a few of the Cambodian lads posting on here @RaymondCrotty we could use fresh impetus

Yeah fair call. There is a Khmer chap I know who would make a fine celebrity spot adjudicator.

they’ll get a fair education on here too.

They were Hearts colours for @Rocko

Just seeing this now ---- @RaymondCrotty , tell us more about the teachers… how and from where do they qualify as teachers? And to what or whose standards are you upskilling them- and in what areas specifically?

Separate question - Do they educate kids on the events of the recent past - or are the horrors of that still too raw?

Great stuff mate.

fuck that
organise a live stream with a few local women and im sure posters will be only too enthusiastic to throw a few pound in the e-bucket if they get their knockers out, etc

How was Brady’s on Saturday mate?

ah it was grand - had 3 pints - was in old front bar for 2 and then caulfieds for 1 next to paddy power

Hi CM. After the Khmer Rouge there were very few teachers left in the whole country. The educated class was completely wiped out. When country was trying to rebuild, the schools had no teachers and they just got local villagers in to be teachers. Many of these people are illiterate, struggle with very basic Maths concepts and have received absolutely no training.

Today over half of Cambodian primary teachers have not completed secondary school or gone to teacher training college. The fact that teachers cannot teach effectively is the.major reason why children don’t stay in school. Dropouts are down to fact the children are not learning and so incentive of working in Thailand or in fields is much more appealing.

What is encouraging however is that when teaches are shown what ‘good teaching’ looks like they have a great thirst for learning. First we teach them the basis concepts (what they are meant to be teaching in topics like + - x). Then we teach them the pedagogy (how to teach, voice projection, assessment, classroom management etc). Unsurprisingly when teachers are properly eqioeed with skills the necessary, childrens’ learning outcomes are transformed. As a result of that they stay in school and then can eventually improve their lives and lives of their families. Improving teachers has the power to improve huge numbers of children. There is a great buzz in seeing teachers improve and develop.

On recent history no it is not taught in an effective manner. Cambodia has very high cases of PTSD and second only to Greenland in suicide rates per capita. An issue that is not really talked about here.

Thanks for the questions. Enjoy speaking to people who are interested about it.