Greatest Mugging Off of All Time - Log Thread

That’s the thing, we’re acting like yanks yet we don’t have to pay for education like they do.
And the whole thrust of my argument is you (not specifically you, but in general) are working more to do less, and have less time.

How do guys keep themselves healthy with this lack of time? You are fuck all use to kids if you are unhealthy. As I’m assuming most are in office type work.

I agree to an extent, but I do find the Aussie women a bit more old school than the Irish, most of that is a positive.

sound scary alright…

Six pages of off-topic waffle…

Get ta fuck!

for the ride?

[QUOTE=“Gary Birtles Lovechild, post: 1066741, member: 2585”]Six pages of off-topic waffle…

Get ta fuck![/QUOTE]
thread hijacking is the rock TFK is built on…topics are the platform to launch personal attacks, both warranted or otherwise…

[QUOTE=“Gary Birtles Lovechild, post: 1066741, member: 2585”]Six pages of off-topic waffle…

Get ta fuck![/QUOTE]
Get in line

[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 1066596, member: 273”]What has that got to do with it?
Am I not allowed make observations? It was a comment on what I was hearing.
Do you not think I’m intelligent enough to do te maths myself?
Or that I don’t have the emotional intelligence to see what people are saying and the bluff they are going on with.
Do you not think I can observe friends, relations and neighbours and come to logical conclusions?

It’s hardly news to say we have lost sight of what is important. Literally everyone who disagrees with me, weather willingly or unconsciously, seems to put making money ahead of time with their kids. As if the kids appreciate that more, which of course has been proven to be completely incorrect.
And might it occur to you that I take a keen interest in this as I don’t want to live the same life.

Now going out and working the bollix out of it doesn’t make anyone a bad parent. It just might be the wrong thing to do for the right reasons.

The thing is, the people with a similar view to me rarely get into this position anyway, it’s just the demographic on here.[/QUOTE]

Comedy gold, Kev. Sensational.
A few things.
Nearly every woman I know who has recently had kids is on a shorter working week. 3 day week, 4 day week, whatever. Doing exactly what you claim we should be doing but seem not to notice that we are.(we, the plain people of Ireland). I’m 36 and most of my mates acquaintances would be in this situation.

Your maths completely ignores the fact of future earnings. Many women I know would like to take a career break for a few years while the kids are very young but go back then. Quitting work would leave you banjaxed for the future when you would like to reenter the workforce and your job choice can be a lot shitter. As someone else pointed out, and as every fucking survey under the sun has pointed out the chief reason for fighting amongst parents is money, (followed by housework). One of the main way of fucking up kids is parents fighting. So it stands to reason that the earning of cash is pretty important, not just a lifestyle choice for wankers who want bigger houses.

The bit above is fucking priceless, Kev. It is one of the most arrogant and hilarious things I’ve ever read.
I disagree and I don’t put making money ahead of my kids. My wife works a reduced week. I’m self employed and can make myself a lot of time for the kids. You completely disregard it because you have no interest in challenging your own views, ever. We pay to have our kid in creche full time because the creche has no parttime deal (it’s very cheap at 160 a week) and it gives us flexibility. I do a bit of travel with work and am sometimes away but we have turned down a load of work in your beloved cork and other ares, as it would leave us being away too long.

Don’t get me wrong. This is not an attack on you. I love your posts. But you’ve taken a half truth, something true for a few, and turned into gospel. And you refuse to see any other point of view.

[QUOTE=“Juhniallio, post: 1066794, member: 53”]Comedy gold, Kev. Sensational.
A few things.
Nearly every woman I know who has recently had kids is on a shorter working week. 3 day week, 4 day week, whatever. Doing exactly what you claim we should be doing but seem not to notice that we are.(we, the plain people of Ireland). I’m 36 and most of my mates acquaintances would be in this situation.

Your maths completely ignores the fact of future earnings. Many women I know would like to take a career break for a few years while the kids are very young but go back then. Quitting work would leave you banjaxed for the future when you would like to reenter the workforce and your job choice can be a lot shitter. As someone else pointed out, and as every fucking survey under the sun has pointed out the chief reason for fighting amongst parents is money, (followed by housework). One of the main way of fucking up kids is parents fighting. So it stands to reason that the earning of cash is pretty important, not just a lifestyle choice for wankers who want bigger houses.

The bit above is fucking priceless, Kev. It is one of the most arrogant and hilarious things I’ve ever read.
I disagree and I don’t put making money ahead of my kids. My wife works a reduced week. I’m self employed and can make myself a lot of time for the kids. You completely disregard it because you have no interest in challenging your own views, ever. We pay to have our kid in creche full time because the creche has no parttime deal (it’s very cheap at 160 a week) and it gives us flexibility. I do a bit of travel with work and am sometimes away but we have turned down a load of work in your beloved cork and other ares, as it would leave us being away too long.

Don’t get me wrong. This is not an attack on you. I love your posts. But you’ve taken a half truth, something true for a few, and turned into gospel. And you refuse to see any other point of view.[/QUOTE]
I never said everyone I said I heard a lot more than I expected.
I never said anything specific to you, and fair play, one of the reasons I want to be self employed is for exactly the same reason.

Basically you agree largely with me. Cool. And the decision you are making I admire. Great.

Now maybe because of the type of person you are, as I said back along, you are surrounded by some like minded people.

But what I have heard and been told crosses too many walks of Irish life to be restricted to a small minority as you say.

I’d say it’s somewhere in the middle. We may not be as bad as I have seen, and not as good as what you see.

Backtrack…

Kev back in Ireland after his three year sun holiday, laying down the law about how people should live their lives.

Unreal backtrack, unbelievable.

“You’re agreeing with me.”

Tax system under McCreevy was restructured so that women were strongly encouraged to go out to work after marriage. Two income families became normal and that played a part in driving house prices up. People then get locked into a lifestyle of needing two incomes to survive, a foreign holiday every year and two cars per home becomes the norm. Tax system and the middle paying for everything means an income of 100k per household doesn’t make you “rich” in Ireland.

I think most people accept that a parent at home full time is the ideal for most kids but cost of living in Ireland, tax system and peoples expectations mean that it won’t be attainable for the majority.

Leads to the situation where somebody working will have to make a financial decision on how many kids they have whereas the welfare classes don’t seem to need to make the same decision.

You found yourself again did ya?

Where as you think you know it all despite being away for 16 years or something.
I’m not laying down the law. I’m making observations. Maybe I’m better equipped to do that in a short space of time. It’s not that hard to listen to people.
As TUM explains well there some of this is unavoidable for quite a lot of people. However I think a lot if it is avoidable for a lot of people and the cost to benefit is too high for most.
Au Pairs and crèche and the whole lot is over the top for the majority and I have seen it that some people are doing it because it’s the thing to do.

[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 1066863, member: 273”]
Au Pairs and crèche and the whole lot is over the top for the majority and I have seen it that some people are doing it because it’s the thing to do.[/QUOTE]

Yes mate - people are handing over 900 shots a month to a creche as its currently in vogue.

I get accused of not seeing a middle ground and then when I do I am accusers of backtracking.

What’s very notable here is a lot of lads are completely unable to look outside their own little groups. Not sure is that cos of insecurity, snobbery, lack of social skills, lack of travel or what. But it’s common on here.

the lifestyle that needs two wages to support it is in vogue is the point

in the 80s families didn’t have two cars, foreign holidays, everything new. Times have changed and people’s expectations have changed as to what they expect. Part of that comes from getting married later and the shock of the cost of kids is huge compared to a single lifestyle. Most parents will send kid to crèche to afford that lifestyle if they can’t afford it on one income. Not a judgment either way but it is a financial decision based on wants rather than needs in most cases.

If people can afford the lifestyle through one income then a parent not working becomes a no brainer for most.

One interesting thing from my own business is that the generation of women who are about 50 now are the first and only generation of women who went at careers at expense of family and outsourced raising families completely. Almost all women in what I do will now step back (and some will quit if the conditions above apply) from career when they have kids so they are home at 5.30/6.00.

Have you lived in Ireland in the last 25 years?
You may not be a complete idiot, but there are many of them out there. I realize it’s an alien concept to most intelligent males, but to say it doesn’t exist is just ignorance.

We live in the “look at me world”, and you can’t be seen to be behind.