Greatest Mugging Off of All Time - Log Thread

[QUOTE=“scumpot, post: 1066953, member: 182”]would have thought quality Food was much better and more affordable in the 80’s ?..I would have thought there’s a lot more chemicals in food now than back then?..as for better conditions, the houses were of much better quality back then too…nowadays your merely one solid punch away from being in your neighbours house…kids could spend the day out on the green from morning til night …as for playing sport there was summer camps for kids that cost next to nothing , teachers could drive kids to a match and home again after, that can’t happen now… I don’t think that’s misty eyed , I think people are just more about what’s in it for them and fuck everyone else nowadays …

surely that is exactly what you said it wasn’t - a lifestyle choice ???..[/QUOTE]
Now we are getting to the nub of it.
It’s the selfish or the selfless.

So your 'Man was too lazy to cook veg? No wonder you didn’t grow.
We all had a bit of that stuff, for us it was Saturday evening.

I used to bring lettuce and scallion sandwiches to school for about 3 years.

Eh, did you not see my Nutribullet mate? I’m invincible now.

ok mate, thanks for posting that really informative comment

nothing more interesting than finding out what someone i dont know ate for lunch when he was in school

[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 1066946, member: 273”]I was on about au pairs etc. I actually said they should not work or work less, the 2nd part you conveniently let out.
I have said all along that some people are unavoidably in that situation. Some of their own doing, some unfortunate/unlucky.
The main thrust of my point is people are continuing to do it. Trying to read up that is. Maybe it’s a generation thing that you are seeing.

However there are people all over here where I live with the mother at home or in part time work. One guy I know is a van driver for a butchers, how is he doing it?
I believe, and again this is the maths side of it (and I do know well what it costs to live here) you both don’t Have to work in a lot of cases. And that as TUM points out it’s a personal decision to work and it’s about having ABC material things which we have become accustomed to. My personal belief, and I don’t need to have kids to believe this, is that the kid loses out by having 2 working parents, especially if it’s some au pair coming in. I think, and I will do this, some career sacrifices have to be made for the sake of the kids sometimes. Anything else is just selfish. Ye may not like that, but I don’t really give a fuck. I believe in many cases it’s just parents racing to be the most successful at whatever and forgetting what’s important.
Then again maybe not everybody should have kids or have them till ready.
Obviously not directed at anyone in particular, just a general view.[/QUOTE]

I just responded to your question as to why you think people are taking it personally. You did not say all along that it may be unavoidable, and you did not say you specifically meant about Au pairs. You since then, which I already said, changed your tone, which clarified your stance somewhat, all I was doing was responding to why you think some took it personally.

For myself, I didnt take anything of what you said personally, because nothing of what you said was in any relevant to my own personal situation. The only thing in my case similar is that we are 2 parents who both work. Nothing else you said, in your general view, is any way related to my own situation despite your thoughts on 2 parents working.

You must know a lot of people, seeing as you are now saying you know mothers all over where you live are at home, and you also know loads who are both working and trying to “trade up”.

[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 1066917, member: 273”]They are good points, but are all the people who grew up in other generations cosseted children because they grew up with a parent at home?
And it’s not about the person who goes home every evening at 5 and has a balance, which maybe you have. It’s about the people who hand over responsibility of raising their kids to a large degree paying thru the nose for it and being too bollixed to enjoy their own time or that with the kids. That then allied to them wanting to “trade up” while often not realizing what’s straight in front of them is perfectly good. If people bothered reading the first few posts it would be pretty clear what I was talking about.

Why does everyone on here take a commentary on things seen in Ireland as a personal insult and jump to defend the way they are doing it?[/QUOTE]
The idea of having one parent at home is fairly new. There’s a difference between having someone at home in a suburban semi-D minding children, versus having someone at home on a farm or someone working at home. Again, out of all my mates growing up, I’d say the mothers worked for at least 5 or 6 years (some part time, some full time) for everyone. That wasn’t unusual.

[QUOTE=“The Selfish Giant, post: 1066993, member: 80”]ok mate, thanks for posting that really informative comment

nothing more interesting than finding out what someone i dont know ate for lunch when he was in school[/QUOTE]
And the fish bites the worm.

Proof positive that Dublin isn’t Ireland.

And unbelievable bollix that the one parent at home thing is new. That’s a pretty ignorant comment.

Wow. The irony of it all.

[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 1066999, member: 273”]Proof positive that Dublin isn’t Ireland.

And unbelievable bollix that the one parent at home thing is new. That’s a pretty ignorant comment.[/QUOTE]

seriously Kev, do you not see any irony in telling Rocko that his experience and opinion isnt Ireland, and that his opinion is an ignorant comment?

[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 1066989, member: 273”]So your 'Man was too lazy to cook veg? No wonder you didn’t grow.
We all had a bit of that stuff, for us it was Saturday evening.[/QUOTE]

what?

[QUOTE=“Gman, post: 1066994, member: 112”]
You must know a lot of people, seeing as you are now saying you know mothers all over where you live are at home, and you also know loads who are both working and trying to “trade up”.[/QUOTE]

[evil snide comment]
He’s also met all of them since he came back to Ireland 3 weeks ago.
[/evil snide comment]

[QUOTE=“Gman, post: 1066994, member: 112”]I just responded to your question as to why you think people are taking it personally. You did not say all along that it may be unavoidable, and you did not say you specifically meant about Au pairs. You since then, which I already said, changed your tone, which clarified your stance somewhat, all I was doing was responding to why you think some took it personally.

For myself, I didnt take anything of what you said personally, because nothing of what you said was in any relevant to my own personal situation. The only thing in my case similar is that we are 2 parents who both work. Nothing else you said, in your general view, is any way related to my own situation despite your thoughts on 2 parents working.

You must know a lot of people, seeing as you are now saying you know mothers all over where you live are at home, and you also know loads who are both working and trying to “trade up”.[/QUOTE]
Ya I do know and meet a lot of people. I’m from and live near a fairly tight community. But I also have a variation of friends from other walks of life, quite a few thru sport and/or work and quite a few from the fee paying rugby type schools in Cork. I do have a broad mix of friends.

I said au pairs etc. the crèche at crazy money, the whole lot. A person breaking their balls to pay for that stuff is counter productive IMO and I also said that a large amount of people are trying to do the right thing, but the wrong way.

This was my first main post on the subject, after my initial reaction.

"What I realise is mothers and fathers for years did a great job with bigger families and less resources with mostly the man only working.

All the money people waste on these things cost nearly the bones of an average salary from what I can see. But when you weigh up the benefits of not working or working very little against the few grand you might be left over a year there just simply doesn’t seem to be a case to be logically made for two full time parents working. The time and energy saved and the benefits for the kids is very hard to calculate.
I realise some people can mix and match when they are self employed and it allows joint parenting with both people more or less working. However this rarely needs any more than the odd couple of hours help from a grand parent or something. And is completely different to two people out working till 6 every day and coming home for 30-60 mins with the kids and no energy to do anything for themselves.

I listen to people all the time talking about wanting a bigger house or trading up blaa blaa blaa and killing themselves working for it while they have a grand house and the au pair brings up the one or two kids. It’s blinding stupidity.

People have completely lost the point of life. I thought the recession might have sorted us out a bit but I’m disappointed to see it hasn’t that much at all. We’re still all about keeping up with the jones."

It’s not really that mind blowing really.
When you actually sit down and ask yourself, what do I really need? The list is fucking tiny.
We “thin” we need every sports channel going. We “think” we need tablets, PC’s, latest iPhone, subscriptions to this that and the other, an extra room in case someone wants to stay over etc etc.
it’s all bollix. And if we need less money we can work less, maybe grow some veg out the back, maybe get home an hour earlier every day.

We have just been codded into think we, or the kids, need more. We don’t, we need each other.

None, I understand that many things can be fundamentally different in Dublin to the rest if Ireland. He doesn’t see the opposite.
I’m not ignorant of the fact that some mothers have always worked, and it’s more prevelant in large urban areas.

Saying ine parent at home is a new thing is completely ignorant of the reality of the rest of Ireland for a very long time.

Jesus this has fairly rattled a few of them.

[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 1067011, member: 273”]Ya I do know and meet a lot of people. I’m from and live near a fairly tight community. But I also have a variation of friends from other walks of life, quite a few thru sport and/or work and quite a few from the fee paying rugby type schools in Cork. I do have a broad mix of friends.

I said au pairs etc. the crèche at crazy money, the whole lot. A person breaking their balls to pay for that stuff is counter productive IMO and I also said that a large amount of people are trying to do the right thing, but the wrong way.

This was my first main post on the subject, after my initial reaction.

"What I realise is mothers and fathers for years did a great job with bigger families and less resources with mostly the man only working.

All the money people waste on these things cost nearly the bones of an average salary from what I can see. But when you weigh up the benefits of not working or working very little against the few grand you might be left over a year there just simply doesn’t seem to be a case to be logically made for two full time parents working. The time and energy saved and the benefits for the kids is very hard to calculate.
I realise some people can mix and match when they are self employed and it allows joint parenting with both people more or less working. However this rarely needs any more than the odd couple of hours help from a grand parent or something. And is completely different to two people out working till 6 every day and coming home for 30-60 mins with the kids and no energy to do anything for themselves.

I listen to people all the time talking about wanting a bigger house or trading up blaa blaa blaa and killing themselves working for it while they have a grand house and the au pair brings up the one or two kids. It’s blinding stupidity.

People have completely lost the point of life. I thought the recession might have sorted us out a bit but I’m disappointed to see it hasn’t that much at all. We’re still all about keeping up with the jones."

It’s not really that mind blowing really.
When you actually sit down and ask yourself, what do I really need? The list is fucking tiny.
We “thin” we need every sports channel going. We “think” we need tablets, PC’s, latest iPhone, subscriptions to this that and the other, an extra room in case someone wants to stay over etc etc.
it’s all bollix. And if we need less money we can work less, maybe grow some veg out the back, maybe get home an hour earlier every day.

We have just been codded into think we, or the kids, need more. We don’t, we need each other.[/QUOTE]

as I said, none of that applies in my own situation so I couldnt really be arsed debating it or getting hung up on it. Just that your perceptions on 2 working parents is not a catch all blanket that is the same in every case. or in anyway comparable.

I find this the oddest of all your points as I don’t know of anyone in my circle of friends who has kids who is wanting to trade up or want a bigger house. Anyone who didn’t have a house they were satisfied with moved before kids came along in preparation for raising a family. Maybe I choose to surround myself with people who are more ‘normal’ or something. Agree that anyone in that scenario is stupid.

But you have replied 3 times and have said it is your situation. You just feel you are in that situation for the right reasons. And bully for you.

I completely agree, no two situations are the same. However I have been shot down because I related stuff I had heard and others kinda don’t want to hear that or it’s making them uncomfortable in some way.

it is normal enough - the phrase “the property ladder” assumes it as a given - despite the crash there is still a property ladder in a lot of people’s thoughts

One thing I read a few years ago that stuck with me was about how people create what the writer called a “golden cage” as they made more money - their lifestyle expanded - nicer car, better holidays, more expensive restaurants, clothes, hobbies so that they ended up having no more disposable income than before because of the lifestyle that they created. It became normal to them and they started to feel they needed all of that whereas they had been perfectly happy before without it.

Not saying you can’t spend money but there is a point where the returns diminish rapidly versus the costs associated with them - often around big purchases like cars, houses, holidays which are public displays of wealth. If you can resist that and spend money on what makes you happy and not what people see/expect you’re a lot better off I think.

A lot of people have a TV that is bigger in inches than the number of books they have ever read. It’s about priorities.