That’s your problem right there Mac.
Normal - what the fuck is normal? You seem to think only your way of life is “normal”.
For years people thought it was “normal” to believe everything a priest told you, or the politician. It was normal to hit kids, it was normal to smoke etc etc. people who describe themselves as normal bemuse me.
tell me, what the fuck is normal? To you?
[QUOTE=“TheUlteriorMotive, post: 1067022, member: 2272”]it is normal enough - the phrase “the property ladder” assumes it as a given - despite the crash there is still a property ladder in a lot of people’s thoughts
One thing I read a few years ago that stuck with me was about how people create what the writer called a “golden cage” as they made more money - their lifestyle expanded - nicer car, better holidays, more expensive restaurants, clothes, hobbies so that they ended up having no more disposable income than before because of the lifestyle that they created. It became normal to them and they started to feel they needed all of that whereas they had been perfectly happy before without it.
Not saying you can’t spend money but there is a point where the returns diminish rapidly versus the costs associated with them - often around big purchases like cars, houses, holidays which are public displays of wealth. If you can resist that and spend money on what makes you happy and not what people see/expect you’re a lot better off I think.
A lot of people have a TV that is bigger in inches than the number of books they have ever read. It’s about priorities.[/QUOTE]
Thanks for putting that up.
[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 1067023, member: 273”]That’s your problem right there Mac.
Normal - what the fuck is normal? You seem to think only your way of life is “normal”.
For years people thought it was “normal” to believe everything a priest told you, or the politician. It was normal to hit kids, it was normal to smoke etc etc. people who describe themselves as normal bemuse me.
tell me, what the fuck is normal? To you?[/QUOTE]
I know my version of ‘normal’ is completely different to your version of ‘normal’ and beyond that I don’t think much else really matters.
[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 1066999, member: 273”]Proof positive that Dublin isn’t Ireland.
And unbelievable bollix that the one parent at home thing is new. That’s a pretty ignorant comment.[/QUOTE]
Kev, I think you might want to revisit your attitudes to women in the workplace. In the 19th Century women made up roughly 50% of the workforce. In non-agricultural sectors, more than half of the workforce in the country were women. Women couldn’t afford to not work. The influence of the Church in society didn’t really take hold until after the famine and then the Free State embedded those practices in legislation etc with Lemass at the forefront of some of those in the 20th Century. By the 1970s that legislation was changed again and the number of women working rapidly doubled. By the 1980s the employment rate for women was 40%. It’s now about 55%.
Unfortunately those statistics include women from Dublin, apologies for not filtering them out to match your perception of Ireland.
[QUOTE=“Rocko, post: 1067028, member: 1”]Kev, I think you might want to revisit your attitudes to women in the workplace. In the 19th Century women made up roughly 50% of the workforce. In non-agricultural sectors, more than half of the workforce in the country were women. Women couldn’t afford to not work. The influence of the Church in society didn’t really take hold until after the famine and then the Free State embedded those practices in legislation etc with Lemass at the forefront of some of those in the 20th Century. By the 1970s that legislation was changed again and the number of women working rapidly doubled. By the 1980s the employment rate for women was 40%. It’s now about 55%.
Unfortunately those statistics include women from Dublin, apologies for not filtering them out to match your perception of Ireland.[/QUOTE]
They’re even flying planes now or so @Fran has lead us to believe although he is a known Billy Bullshitter so hard to tell if true or not.
[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 1067021, member: 273”]But you have replied 3 times and have said it is your situation. You just feel you are in that situation for the right reasons. And bully for you.
I completely agree, no two situations are the same. However I have been shot down because I related stuff I had heard and others kinda don’t want to hear that or it’s making them uncomfortable in some way.[/QUOTE]
I have said that we are 2 parents working, thats my situation. nothing else in what you said about 2 parents working apply to me, with regards to au pairs, lavish lifestyle time with kids blah blah blah hence why I wasnt concerned with your points, which I disagree with as I personally dont know of anyone who has an au pair, I dont know anyone who wants to trade up, and I dont know anyone who is putting material gains ahead of their kids. So whilst you think you know true Ireland and feel you can make sweeping statements about whats going on, I personally dont see the same situation and disagree with your assessment on thinking that 2 working parents is an automatically bad situation for kids.
Did you ever think that you are not making people uncomfortable, just that they dont agree with you and they can see different ways of doing things?
But I don’t have one so you are different from nothing.
Great, what a cool thing to be different from, not beards, not left footed, not a LOI fan. No you want to be different from nothing.
Kinda sums you up.
[QUOTE=“Gman, post: 1067032, member: 112”]I have said that we are 2 parents working, thats my situation. nothing else in what you said about 2 parents working apply to me, with regards to au pairs, lavish lifestyle time with kids blah blah blah hence why I wasnt concerned with your points, which I disagree with as I personally dont know of anyone who has an au pair, I dont know anyone who wants to trade up, and I dont know anyone who is putting material gains ahead of their kids. So whilst you think you know true Ireland and feel you can make sweeping statements about whats going on, I personally dont see the same situation and disagree with your assessment on thinking that 2 working parents is an automatically bad situation for kids.
Did you ever think that you are not making people uncomfortable, just that they dont agree with you and they can see different ways of doing things?[/QUOTE]
Yes people like Dan carter, Juhy, scumpot, TUM etc. they don’t agree with a lot or some of what I say but they don’t get all uppity about it.
Everyone else is acting a little put out.
And I fear it’s you and Mac et Al who don’t have the greater picture of Ireland if you have never ever come across such people.
[QUOTE=“Rocko, post: 1067028, member: 1”]Kev, I think you might want to revisit your attitudes to women in the workplace. In the 19th Century women made up roughly 50% of the workforce. In non-agricultural sectors, more than half of the workforce in the country were women. Women couldn’t afford to not work. The influence of the Church in society didn’t really take hold until after the famine and then the Free State embedded those practices in legislation etc with Lemass at the forefront of some of those in the 20th Century. By the 1970s that legislation was changed again and the number of women working rapidly doubled. By the 1980s the employment rate for women was 40%. It’s now about 55%.
Unfortunately those statistics include women from Dublin, apologies for not filtering them out to match your perception of Ireland.[/QUOTE]
So they may well be influenced by large urban areas.
Thanks for the update though. There is the 35% of people Gman was looking for, the women at home. Not to mention that I don’t believe it has to be a woman at home.
[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 1067034, member: 273”]But I don’t have one so you are different from nothing.
Great, what a cool thing to be different from, not beards, not left footed, not a LOI fan. No you want to be different from nothing.
Kinda sums you up.[/QUOTE]
That post makes no sense to me whatsoever. Anyway, carry on.
In those times families lived in same town/area/house so child-minding cross generational - to an extent if you are from Dublin this is probably still the case at least for child number 1.
the move to dual income families was really driven by the move to individualisation of tax credits which was introduced during Celtic Tiger at time of full employment to make women work outside the home - it was a stick rather than the carrot of subsidised childcare. A married couple with one earner moves to higher rate of tax around 40k whereas it is 60k or so for a married couple with two earners
Two income families drove up property prices and so on.
I am not judgmental about it but if you removed individualisation of tax rates and restored system where married couples could fully share tax credits then you would, in my opinion, see way fewer women working.
[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 1067036, member: 273”]Yes people like Dan carter, Juhy, scumpot, TUM etc. they don’t agree with a lot or some of what I say but they don’t get all uppity about it.
Everyone else is acting a little put out.
And I fear it’s you and Mac et Al who don’t have the greater picture of Ireland if you have never ever come across such people.[/QUOTE]
maybe so. I’m not going to get too bothered if I dont know a true Ireland that values materialistic things above family. I’ll settle for my friends, family and acquaintances who have a truer value on life. I think I’d find it more satisfying and less stressful in my own little world than having to compete with the Jones’s and working all hours of the day.
So you’re an employment snob, and a parenting snob then?
no, I’m a true Ireland snob.
You’re dead fucking right. And it’s the way it’s gone.
What’s difficult for me is it’s very hard to rid myself of some of them. They may be on a team or in a social group where you are close to a few but have grown apart from most.
And the thing is, you are probably more old school like I think works (assuming some of the caring is done by relations etc). I’m not anti-crèche, it’s got a very valuable function, but I think there has to be a balance.
I didn’t even have to click the ‘see ignored content’ button to know this was in response to.
[QUOTE=“Mac, post: 1066215, member: 109”]I’m going by what others in work tell me. Maybe that’s just an isolated example and the true figures are closer to Dan’s example. Its essentially a 2nd mortgage whatever way you look at it. And the quality of life of having a kid raised by parents is worth much more.
Kev’s comments irked me though. Full of spoofing and bluster as always.[/QUOTE]
So you basically agree with the thrust of everything he said while attacking him on all of it? You’ve made some gobshite out of yourself on this thread.
[QUOTE=“glasagusban, post: 1067049, member: 1533”]
So you basically agree with the thrust of everything he said while attacking him on all of it? You’ve made some gobshite out of yourself on this thread.[/QUOTE]
Well if I’m going to do it then it may as well be on a thread with this title
[QUOTE=“scumpot, post: 1066953, member: 182”]would have thought quality Food was much better and more affordable in the 80’s ?..I would have thought there’s a lot more chemicals in food now than back then?..as for better conditions, the houses were of much better quality back then too…nowadays your merely one solid punch away from being in your neighbours house…kids could spend the day out on the green from morning til night …as for playing sport there was summer camps for kids that cost next to nothing , teachers could drive kids to a match and home again after, that can’t happen now… I don’t think that’s misty eyed , I think people are just more about what’s in it for them and fuck everyone else nowadays …
There was a far higher rate of child poverty in the 1980s. There was a far higher rate of infant mortality. Kids could go to a summer camp for free or go to a match in a teacher’s car but unfortunately we all know what happened at plenty of those summer camps and in plenty of those cars.
[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 1066713, member: 273”]That’s the thing, we’re acting like yanks yet we don’t have to pay for education like they do.
And the whole thrust of my argument is you (not specifically you, but in general) are working more to do less, and have less time.
How do guys keep themselves healthy with this lack of time? You are fuck all use to kids if you are unhealthy. As I’m assuming most are in office type work.[/QUOTE]
Ah here kev, have you not heard of the voluntary donations or the Jaysus buy one bring one cake sales. It’s not huge money but free it (schooling) ain’t.