[QUOTE=“Brimmer Bradley, post: 1113115, member: 2839”]The foxy lad had ten medals
He could have been done without and not even missed for his last 3.
Tommy was a vital and relevant part of the team right up until his retirement.
If henry had fucked off at his peak he’d have more respect now. People saw right through the tokenism of keeping him on the bench and bringing him on when games were won for what it was, classic case of hanging around too long.[/QUOTE]
Go away out of that. Bar last year shefflin was always an integral part of all Ireland winning teams. Who are these “people” who saw right through the tokenism. The voices in your head maybe. Are you trying to say Cody carried him for the last few years. That’s nonsense and you know it.
Ok so ‘bar last year’
So that’s nine proper medals he earned so ?
They are both legends of the gaa but I voted for DJ. For me DJ was a better hurler and all round better sportsman. Shefflin was like a referees pet and got away with an awful lot of illegal stuff. He never stopped nagging the refs. He was handy enough.
So just to sum up…
We don’t like Henry because he seemed to be an arrogant cunt, even though most of us have never had a conversation with the man, he was greedy and shouldn’t have won 10 All Irelands and was essentially a passenger in many of them, afforded the privilige because he played in the greatest team of all time and Tommy and JJ could carry him. He was boring and all he ever did was drift into space and take scores, all 27-483 of them (noting of course that he was lucky to be the free taker, because there’s really no skill in that at all).
DJ was an outrageously talented hurler, who fitted the meek and mild “I suppose” persona who have come to cherish in GAA stars, we all pissed ourselves with excitement every time he got the sliothar because his main talent was in running at defenders, many times going up blind alleys, but many times beating them and scoring memorable goals for a series probably the worst Kilkenny teams in history.
Or maybe this is a really stupid fucking thread.
Or maybe it’s an alternative view to the media vomit about henry the king or whatever shite the gaa wants pedalled to promote the game
Just a few level headed guys on here not swallowing hype and bullshit about the so called greatest of all time
[QUOTE=“Brimmer Bradley, post: 1113139, member: 2839”]Or maybe it’s an alternative view to the media vomit about henry the king or whatever shite the gaa wants pedalled to promote the game
Just a few level headed guys on here not swallowing hype and bullshit about the so called greatest of all time[/QUOTE]
If anything the fact that shefflin played on so long is counting against him. He was awesome circa 2000-2005.and then the four in a row of which he was the driving force . was it 2002 we gave tipp a trimming (which was a big deal back then) and if I recall shefflin turned eamonn Corcoran inside out. He had some phenomonal performances back then… it was so common though that it’s hard to pick any individual games out… He was that good all the time… Lads have very short memories and the fact that we were destroying most teams took the gloss off the fact that shefflin was the driving force behind it all…
I think you’re taking the bait here pal. He has 10 (ten) all Irelands. 3(three) HOTY awards. 11 (eleven) All stars. He was handy enough.
More than Tommy or JJ he was the general on the field. Especially if things were going against the Kunts.
Even when Skippy was (repeatedly) destroying him, he was mouthing at the rest of them and driving it on.
He’ll replace Cody too. Bring a bit of colour to the set up.
[QUOTE=“dodgy-keeper, post: 1112515, member: 1552”]I remember Kilkenny played Galway in Thurles in a knockout championship game one year - memory is going, may have been late 90’s or early 00’s - and Galway were well ahead. Carey dragged Kilkenny back into it with a truly phenomenal performance, one of the best I’ve ever seen in the flesh. He grabbed a couple of goals and won them the game almost on his own.
Very hard to compare the two. Carey carried a weaker Kilkenny team for a while but he was outrageously talented. Probably hurlings first real superstar as tv coverage and print media coverage of games intensified.
Shefflin was just an assassin, always seemed to do the right thing. Knew when to pass, knew when to go himself, great vision and the go to man when the chips were down.
Kilkenny fans don’t realise how lucky they have been.[/QUOTE]
Carey was magic that day v Galway. Put on some display the year they beat Clare in the AIF as well. The early goal with the deft flick was the first nail in the clare coffin and then the point off the hurl on the wing at the end the final nail. Electric in the all Ireland semi v Tipp the year he came out of retirement. As you say Shefflin had better players around him in later years than Carey had around him for many years. For class, pace and skill Carey ahead of Shefflin for me. That’s 3 significant categories to ahead in. He gets my vote in this poll.
[QUOTE=“Brimmer Bradley, post: 1113139, member: 2839”]Or maybe it’s an alternative view to the media vomit about henry the king or whatever shite the gaa wants pedalled to promote the game
Just a few level headed guys on here not swallowing hype and bullshit about the so called greatest of all time[/QUOTE]
Bollocks.
If it was the other way around and DJ had just retired in 2015 with all the attendent media hype, this thread would be full of Shefflin being the better all round and more influential hurler, comments about DJ’s marital state and business affairs and the gormless personality. You can imagine the media vomit if it was DJ retiring in 2015.
This thread is pure begrudgery or lads trying to demonstrate what purists and geniuses they are.
DJ was a magical hurler, an absolute joy to watch. Shefflin is arguably the greatest hurler in history, the embodiment of Cody on the pitch, his representative on earth.
Comparing the two is an exercise in fuckology and insulting to both of them.
[QUOTE=“Fitzy, post: 1113176, member: 236”]Bollocks.
If it was the other way around and DJ had just retired in 2015 with all the attendent media hype, this thread would be full of Shefflin being the better all round and more influential hurler, comments about DJ’s marital state and business affairs and the gormless personality. You can imagine the media vomit if it was DJ retiring in 2015.
This thread is pure begrudgery or lads trying to demonstrate what purists and geniuses they are.
DJ was a magical hurler, an absolute joy to watch. Shefflin is arguably the greatest hurler in history, the embodiment of Cody on the pitch, his representative on earth.
Comparing the two is an exercise in fuckology and insulting to both of them.[/QUOTE]
Comparing someone to a great hurler is insulting?
And an exercise in fuckology.
I stopped paying a huge amount of heed when lads claimed that Shefflin wasn’t a natural stick man.
[QUOTE=“Fitzy, post: 1113176, member: 236”]Bollocks.
Comparing the two is an exercise in fuckology and insulting to both of them.[/QUOTE]
Is this the tweeest post in the history of the INTERNET?
[QUOTE=“Mac, post: 1112994, member: 109”]I’m not Kilkenny based but I was told by a Kilkenny hurler a few years ago that Shefflin was a cunt. A great hurler but an arrogant cunt was the exact phrase used.
This hurler is retired a few years now with all Ireland medals in his back pocket. He was stone cold sober at the time and didn’t fit the normal personality for KK hurlers in that he was interesting and funny.[/QUOTE]
I would’ve had a similar impression of him based on the few times I met him. Very little of the adulation he received has come from lads he has played with which is odd enough
Also Shefflin’s name on the Kilkenny whatsapp is ‘the king’ according to Richie Hogan’s picture
no, whatever name you put someones name in your phone book comes up as that on your whatsapp
Fair enough, had forgot that
Compared to who for instance? How many of the recent Kilkenny hurlers have come out gushing praise on any of their fellow team mates? This is not soccer or the self loving immortals that play soccer that we are talking about here. The begrudgers that have shown themselves up badly here in recent days have a notion that the stars of the unprecedented successful Kilkenny team of recent past should conform to some sort of soccer based personality when dealing with the media or other aspects of their public life. These KK fellas and their supporters are quite satisfied with their achievements and don’t require the adulation of no marks who give a cursory glance to a hurling match during half time in the Manchester Derby so as they can be “in” with the other goms on the internet when it comes to discussing a proper game.
That’s all well and good, mate. But it’s common knowledge that he was disliked by his team-mates.
who is skippy, and at which board game did he destroy shefflin?