An outrageously turgid way to spend a life, but every forum requires a band of martyrs.
That plate kf grub has the look of a diseased fanny
By God! With a coffee! Heresy!
Maybe that’s the kind of fanny some folk prefer. Ever thought of that?
Hope you enjoyed it, looks good. I haven’t forgotten that I said I’ll give you info on places we tried. Just need to get some details/pics from the other half.
Not a bit of rush. Here until Wednesday. Plenty to be seeing, including taking in an Ulster semi in Cala D’or on Sunday.
We stayed in Platja d’Alcudia - just off Carretera D’Arta. This place was nearby
Went there once - kind of Bunsen vibe. Two of the yokes below and a couple of large Jarras for €40. Very nice for what it is. Recommended if you like this kind of thing.
Got the bus down a few stops to Playa de Muro to this place
Massive choice with an emphasis on Mallorcan cooking. Had prawns and scallops for starters. Herself went for Catch of the Day - which was a John Dory and I had Pluma Iberica which was topnotch tender. With wine/tip bill was around €130. Recommended.
Got bus up to Port to Pollenca to Terrae - a restaurant with a philosophy.
The mains’ offerings the night we were there were overnight lamb, Moray Eel and Cauliflower steak. I had the lamb which was so tender you could have dealt with it through a straw. Ms F declined the Moray and went with the cauliflower. Green salad was excellent also. Different, a bit hipsterish but great food and attention to detail. About €120 IIRC.
After Terrae Ms Flutehook fancied a bit o’ mate so we hit upon here the next night. Nice and local. Patatas Bravas and squid to start and 2 meat mains which came with a baked potato - don’t think I’ve ever seen that in Spain. Meats were slow cooked and tender; delicious. Nice Ribero to wash them down. €120-ish. Recommended just about - mains excellent but herself reckons the starters were not made to order.
We also went to two Michelin starred places; 365 in the hills outside Pollenca and Daice in Llubi. I’ll throw up something on those later.
Unreal
Fuck sake, a review and a half. Appreciate that!! Salivating material. Looked a blast!!
Jaysis @Spidey’s crown as The Galloping Gourmet of TFK is severely under threat.
The king is dead, long live the king
@flutehook can do it during a balmy easter holiday in Mallorca but can he post a picture of half a cow between 2 slices of foccaccia from the ifsc on a wet tuesday afternoon in November?
I Booked kids (5 & 3) first foreign holiday today. Flying on the 13th May. Youngests passport is arriving Monday hence last minute. Accomodation and flights for 7 nights €700. Centerparcs for 4 nights was €1,300. No brainer. The missus is turning 40 so this was a surprise birthday present for her from the kids and myself.
It was their idea.
Excited for the smallies. It will be their first time on a plane. Staying in a Eurocamp about an hour south of La Rochelle and not far from Royan. We Will try and rent a car. Some flexibility then to explore a couple of days. We were looking at Argles Sur Mer and La Sirene and flying into Girona (no options to Perpignan or Carcassone anytime close to our dates) but transfer was a bit longer & premium for cross border car rental. There looks to be biblical rain and thunderstorms that week as well in the region. Weather looks better on the west coast. Hopefully everything goes according to plan.
Enjoy! Bring lots of snacks, colouring books etc on the plane
I remember you providing that exact advice to me 2 years ago. We similarly booked a first foreign holiday with the kids & flew on the day the youngest turned 3 (coincidentally kids had to be 3 or older to be fucked into the kids’ camp at the resort). It was sage advice when there was some kind of wildcat French air traffic control strike that morning, which left us sitting on the plane with no clearance to take off for nearly 2 hours. We’d the kindle fires for kids with earphones too so pack it all @johnnysachs & don’t mind those po-faced cunts judging you for distracting kids with devices & other bits.
Anything to distract. You’ve to be 4 for kids camp in this place so she technically misses out by a year but she will be 4 for the purpose of this trip.
I was in that part of world a few years ago in Les mathes…great bike paths around there…will you rent a car?
If so there is a great zoo in la palmyre which is a lovely spot to visit overall…also a great funderland type set up called Luna park in Les mathes
I messed up last year and put the young lads real DOB down when registering for the site app. He was a month off turning 8, but it meant he had to do the 5 - 7 year old camp which was much more babyish. He did one day and wasn’t bothered heading back.
Amateur hour
Yeah we will rent a car. Costs same amount for a week as it does a taxi transfer both ways. Makes sense. We are staying in a place called La Pinede in les Mathes. Heard great reviews about the bike paths too so will definitely check them out. Accommodation looks fantastic too for what we need. Might be quiet given schools still in session but wont bother us. Thanks for heads up re zoo and amusement park.