Thanks dude. Iāve been having a quick look back through old posts to build a picture of who to trust and who not to trust. I appreciate an old hand like yourself taking me under your wing. Btw, did the guards ever pin that referee rape on you? A nasty affair, but quitting cigs is no joke. No joke at all.
Iām ashamed to say it but my father gave me a dig out with the ref thing.
Was hoping thatād never ever be brought up again on here but fuck it, Iāll write it off as a mental health episode.
Iām surprised anything came of it really. That must have been a tough telephone call for the ref to make.
āHello? Is that the guards? Lookā¦ Ehmā¦ I was reffing a Junior C match tonight, andā¦ Ehmā¦ Fuck it. Sorry, wrong number!ā
LoL
Youāll last here buddy. Nice one.
Big and all as new yoek is, Manhatten is reasonably small. If you have the time to spare Iād give over a day to just walking around. Maybe head out to Ellis island early in the morning before the crowds and when you get back just stroll from there up through Wall St and on up towards mid town.
Meh
Lads, whatās Paris like in January? Or generally?
One of the best cities on earth. Mrs. Ironmoth is a big fan too. January is cold, but still an excellent time to visit. Plenty of top restaurants doing lovely French peasant cuisine.
Ya Paris is good. Definitely worth seeing.
I found it meh enough the time i was there but that was years ago and might enjoy it better now as iām older and wiser and have a few more bob to spend. Definitely a place to bring a nice young lady to. It can be dodgy enough in parts, pick pockets are meant to be rampant around the main tourist sites and the metro is meant to be dicey enough at night.
Paris is worth the entrance fee* just to see the Eiffel Tower. And agreed, youāre definitely getting major points for taking a rosey-cheeked lass with you. Thereās something about the placeā¦ The French are bastards, but theyāre very charming at the same time.
*Ryanair flight to Beauvais.
I found the Louvre to be the best thing about the place.
Paris is overpriced, dirty and the locals are cunts.
Get yourself to Florence.
You sir, are a gent of class and taste.
Cold, very cold. No comparison to sitting out having a beer in the summer sun.
Speaking of beer, itās very expensive!
Everything else is spot on, except for some reason the lifts are tiny.
Speaking of lifts. The lift in the Eiffel Tower is huge, but it travels sideways, like the woka-vator.
+1 to all that mate, I found Paris to be generally boring, overrated, and shite, with the Louvre, which is magnificent, being the only thing to recommend it. Like yourself I might find it different nowadays but there are many other places Iād rather visit first.
I think Paris is grand, lads. I enjoyed it a bit more than some of the chaps above but didnāt find it incredible or anything. Average-Good.
Rome pisses all over it
Too right.
Thinking of going to Berlin or Munich with a group in December (not a stag), anyone recommend either at that time of year? Someone else told me itās savage cold in Germany in Winter.