Holiday destinations for the lone traveller

All good mate. You’re safe enough for the rest of the day. Hope you enjoyed the hurling on Sunday.

Yep, it is wonderful, wonderful

FAO of @mickee321

I am travelling to Israel on International Business in the near future and am undecided as to adding a few days of PTO at the end to do some sightseeing/travelling around. Your recommendations would be appreciated

[QUOTE=“Arseboxin, post: 1152736, member: 423”]FAO of @mickee321

I am travelling to Israel on International Business in the near future and am undecided as to adding a few days of PTO at the end to do some sightseeing/travelling around. Your recommendations would be appreciated[/QUOTE]

sure arseboxin
where will you be staying? I presume Tel Aviv?
Israel is a very small country and really you will get thru the sites on a high level in 4-5 days
Tel Aviv really is a beach and bar city, there is not much else to see there but for the 2 former activities it is top notch, some great bar hopping to be had around an area called Florentine, you’ll have the expat scene at the beach front and thats grand also for a few days.
Jerusalem is 75kms away and the old city is defintly worth at least a day, Western Wall, AL Aqsa, Church of the Holy Sepulchure,Via Del al Rosa etc…you could head out to Bethlehem (get a taxi to the checkpoint and walk accross) , the west bank tho is a very poor place, the hassle from Arabs trying to sell you their right arm can get annoying but if youre into religion then the chuch of the nativiy is interesting)
In general i really have little interest in Religous sites and i actually find them quite disappointing but each to their own
The Dead Sea is worth a day also, youre best renting a car here, the drive around jersualem thru the settlements , past the wall and into the west bank is fascinating in itself.
Up north id deffo reccomend a spin to the Arab christian areas , the crusader city of Akko is well worth a visit, you could drive accross the Galilee then to the sea of galille ( lake kineret), the scenery up there is beautiful and you could even swing up to the Golan heights, you ll need a car for this tho…

heading South , if you like stark desert landsape id defintly head to Mitzpe Ramon, that about 1 h south of TA in the negev desert and they have a big fuck off crater down there that is pretty amazing

thats a start anyway,
if youre single Tel Aviv is dangerous, in a good way

[QUOTE=“mickee321, post: 1152789, member: 367”]sure arseboxin
where will you be staying? I presume Tel Aviv?
Israel is a very small country and really you will get thru the sites on a high level in 4-5 days
Tel Aviv really is a beach and bar city, there is not much else to see there but for the 2 former activities it is top notch, some great bar hopping to be had around an area called Florentine, you’ll have the expat scene at the beach front and thats grand also for a few days.
Jerusalem is 75kms away and the old city is defintly worth at least a day, Western Wall, AL Aqsa, Church of the Holy Sepulchure,Via Del al Rosa etc…you could head out to Bethlehem (get a taxi to the checkpoint and walk accross) , the west bank tho is a very poor place, the hassle from Arabs trying to sell you their right arm can get annoying but if youre into religion then the chuch of the nativiy is interesting)
In general i really have little interest in Religous sites and i actually find them quite disappointing but each to their own
The Dead Sea is worth a day also, youre best renting a car here, the drive around jersualem thru the settlements , past the wall and into the west bank is fascinating in itself.
Up north id deffo reccomend a spin to the Arab christian areas , the crusader city of Akko is well worth a visit, you could drive accross the Galilee then to the sea of galille ( lake kineret), the scenery up there is beautiful and you could even swing up to the Golan heights, you ll need a car for this tho…

heading South , if you like stark desert landsape id defintly head to Mitzpe Ramon, that about 1 h south of TA in the negev desert and they have a big fuck off crater down there that is pretty amazing

thats a start anyway,
if youre single Tel Aviv is dangerous, in a good way[/QUOTE]

Cheers @mickee321
Yeah I’ll be in Tel Aviv but open to moving around. Is Petra worth the drive?

[QUOTE=“Arseboxin, post: 1152820, member: 423”]Cheers @mickee321
Yeah I’ll be in Tel Aviv but open to moving around. Is Petra worth the drive?[/QUOTE]
yes
but you cant take an israeli reg rental into jordan
down to eilat, 4.5 hours from tel aviv, you can stop off in mitzpe ramon on the way, then you can walk acccross the border to Jordan on one side or Egypt ( but thats really too fucking dangerous as ISIL are no in control of parts of Sinai on the other side.)

on the jordanian side you’ll be in Aqa’ba which is a really nice place, Eilat is a bit like Benidorm really , israeli and russian knackers on vacation
you can get a jordanian taxi to petra, its worth it allright, its ferociosuly hot there at the moment tho

cheers @mickee321 . Might give Petra, the heat and the ISIL boys a wide berth

its such a pity that Sinai is in a mess
in 2012 me an a couple ofirish lads got an overnite bus thru Sinai with an Israeli/egyptian tour operator and headed down to Cairo and the pyramids for a weekend, simply not possible for a westerner to go into Sinai right now, even Cairo is very dangerous as law and order has broken down, no flights from tel aviv anymore, Israel and Jordan are good pals tho, border is wide open at 3 locations

Cairo is a kip

Anyone ever been in Bratislava?

I was there 3 months ago on a stag.

What did you make of it or did ye see anything?

I saw it on that film Eurotrip and it looked like good craic

To be honest, it was a stag so it was a piss up not a cultural weekend, pal. The old town is nice but is the more touristy place so is a bit more expensive than the rest of the city. In saying that, it is still pretty cheap-pints were around €2.50 here whereas they are around €1 in other parts. There was still lots of snow on the ground when we were there but I would say it is nice at this time of year. The castle is pretty cool and we went to a shooting gallery underneath it which was good craic. The locals are quite friendly and the women are stunning. If you are asking in this thread, I am guessing you are a sex tourist and going for the cheap hookers. A number of our group availed of these on the trip and I didn’t hear any complaints.

Stay the fuck away.

Why so mate?

Full of scumbags. Look at the wrong person and you’re getting your head kicked in… @Horsebox is lucky he was holed up in a knocking shop all weekend, if they had seen his fat head the temptation to bust it would have been too great for these boys.

Cheers mate. I’m going with herself so unlikely I’ll be availing of hookers but good to know anyway. I couldn’t find the right thread.

It’s close to Vienna and Budapest so tempted to trying and get two cities in.

[QUOTE=“Julio Geordio, post: 1157048, member: 332”]Cheers mate. I’m going with herself so unlikely I’ll be availing of hookers but good to know anyway. I couldn’t find the right thread.

It’s close to Vienna and Budapest so tempted to trying and get two cities in.[/QUOTE]
Why not see Vienna and Budapest, if you want to see two cities.

Anyone ever been to Montana, Wyoming or the Dakotas. Being a big fan of the cowboy pictures I have always yearned to visit these areas.