Home Sweet Home - Apollo House Takeover

The bleeding hearts like @glasagusban are doing everything but engaging with the figures hereā€¦ thatā€™s all I really want to know - is this lady getting the equivalent of 70k that a working man/ woman/ couple would have to earn ? And if so, how can they call that fairā€¦ itā€™s been well documented that a good chunk of the county are in the 22-35k bracket - you essentially have couples not even making 70k, up to their bollox in rent or mortgage / bills / living expenses etc and stressed to the gills while working 40 hr weeks and they are still not doing as well as the lady their taxes fund.

Chap in my work place had to leave his apartment this week ā€” best price he could find for a room in a house was ā‚¬600 a month ā€¦ Should he have just slept in a garda station?

Some country.

Ah look, you canā€™t just whip the funding off Ms ā‚¬ash and dump the 7 childer on the street. However that doesnā€™t mean we need to encourage her scenario for future cases by keeping the current benefits model in place in perpetuity.

Iā€™m not for kicking anyone out anywhere ā€” through lazy governance weā€™ve allowed the handout culture grow to the stage where multiple generations are lost to it now - they know exactly what they are entitled to and how to get itā€¦ am I correct in saying we spend almost a quarter of our GDP or whatever it is on welfare? The politcan will isnt there to tackle it - politicians just make more concessions for votes around election time and try steal some of it back mid-term and around we go.

You shouldnt even qualify for state aid unless youā€™ve at least finished the state examinations . You should also be made do community service, instill some community spirit and enhance your community - you dont do it, you dont get paidā€¦ ah look, thereā€™s a 100 million things we could do to improve things and make things run better - but thereā€™s no accountability any where in Irish society - politicians, bankers, civil service ā€¦ and no will to change anything as a result.

To use a well-worn phrase, I find myself nodding in agreement with you here.

Why the anger and outrage towards the recipients though? Thereā€™s been a culture of handouts going back generations. In the 80s youā€™d lads collecting dole all over the country and in London.

Nothing has ever been done about it.

The media deflect by throwing up stories about people who go away on holidays, on the tax payers expense and the focus becomes on the recipient rather than the cunts just handing over money rather than governing and fixing issues.

I have said the recipients are only part of the problem - but their attitude is scurrilous - demanding more from the stateā€¦ I suppose, when you ahve had everything paid for you all your life and you have no idea of how things really work, why wouldnt you have that attitude ā€¦ the politicians, top civil servants and the bleeding hearts are far more to blame.

I receive a payment for my child, that I absolutely donā€™t need, every month. Iā€™d assume most on here with kids do, and could do with out it?

If you can afford your kid, will you send back this payment?

Iā€™ll let you know when I have a kid.

The recipients of 70k pa for gouging round the place should take everyones money and shut their mouths, and be grateful for it.
Is that too much to request?

Thinly veiled ā€œIā€™m one of TFKā€™s top earnersā€

what has she said? Who is giving her a platform? Why is she getting any platform at all?

Itā€™s seems to be working anyway with all the focus and seethe planted firmly at this ladies door for a while, nothing will get fixed of course, but a wedge has been put between people who think they are better than other people.

the wolf is never far from the door, mate

Iā€™ll PM you my IBAN

Bad budget for farmers, was it?

Because heā€™s playing to the gallery on here. He could raise all of these issues at the next Shinnerā€™s meeting if he really gave a fuck about it.

No mate.

In a country where you pay nearly 50% tax on anything you earn over 40k and yet you still have to fork out over 1500 euro a month in child care fees for 3 kidsā€¦ Iā€™d suggest the childrenā€™s allowance is badly needed.

she has said that the government are robbing her and that she doesnt expect anything from them. She is completely self entitled moaner who doesnt realise she has been handed money for years for doing the sum total of fuck and getting criminal convictions for theft.

There are thousands of people out there who get state aid and are thankful for it and go about their business to do as best they can for themselves and their family. She wants more and more without doing a tap herself to try better her own situation.

Itā€™s far from people thinking they are better than her, its her completely fucked up view that she is the one being robbed and she gets nothing when there are a vast majority more who work their bollox off and end up with less and can do nothing about it.

With regards to the housing crisis, they should get her away from media and her bullshit, because she is doing genuine people serious harm the way she is going on.

Youā€™re taking it all up wrong here and digging in like some of the other bleeding hearts here ā€¦ Iā€™m not for denying anyone help/welfare etc. ---- but there has to be fairness across the board ā€” there also has to be some form of responsibility and accountability, something which is now completely lost to a whole score of handout recipients, a culture of entitlement has been instilled in them.

My anger is as much at the system that allows this flourish as it is at anyone or anything else.

A real republic has fairness right across the board - not just in championing the poor. Thatā€™s the kind of republic @chocolatemice is fighting for. Not a champagne socialist one like some horrid commentators made out recently.

Give the little ladies the iphone and let them watch hitthediff til yourself or the missus get home. Shure theyā€™ll be on the toy show singing it in no time.

I didnā€™t say it wasnā€™t needed, there should be some form of means testing in it though.

Itā€™s a desperately perilous society we have if there are a vast majority of families depending on welfare, even when they are both working.