Hotels In Ireland

The other day I put €75 of diesel into the motor when it occurred to me that in 1971 I bought a 2nd hand VW Beetle for £75. Now a drop of tay and a lock of buns for 5 is in the same sort of price bracket. Mercifully I bought a house while I still had the VW.
I don’t know how some lads do it these days. :wink:

I am surprised at you biting a house as I expected you to have inherited it from an unmarried uncle who was fond of being taken to the pub of a Sunday evening

15 quid for three scones and all the tae you could want. Sure that would set you up for the day.

Simpler times Boxty. The idea of eating out, let alone going somewhere and paying for scones, was a novel enough concept I’d say.

There was definitely a tea rooms in Waterford at that time where you could get a bun and a cup of tea. Ina Heskins it was called. I’d say Ina would have stood you a scone as well if you were any way polite.

Unmarried uncles are a scarce enough commodity. Herself was keener on something on the Irish acre, electric gates, gate lodge, sweeping driveway, double garage type of residence with island.
We added the stables in the 80’s when we got the few ponies and that for the kids. Wasn’t easy mind.

I’ve had lunch with herself too midweek, 3 courses. Same price as you said.

I was expecting it to be overpriced shite going on what I’d heard about it but it was very enjoyable.

Would I strongly recommend over other options locally, no.

Be interested to hear the @Smark review.

The brother is over from Singapore with the family and doing a few nights in castleknock hotel. We joined him tonight with the kids and we had a few in the straw hall before returning. The amount of middle aged Irish businessmen in the hotel bar with black and east European ‘girlfriends’ is a sight to behold

Depends on the size of the scone. I doubt very much they are anything other than miniscones.

I must ask the auld lad about it.

Maybe the advice from your generation to mine might be correct. Cut back on take away coffees and i can get a house. Lidl go pizzas on a bagel 2 for €2.50. Savage value for a lunch

I’m in a hotel in Cavan. We decided to have a pint and asked for crisps.
‘We’ve no crisps’
‘Ok, have you any peanuts?
No. We have biscuits.’
Biscuits with your pints lads. Tis a weird world up here.

At the night before a wedding in ennistymon, we were handed out bowls of chocolate digestives as finger food in a local pub

:laughing::laughing::laughing::laughing:

Would you not have a few boxes of crisps in the back of the Berlingo?

You’d wonder what class of a vending machine wouldn’t have an owl bag of crisps in it.

Did you dunk them?

Would you believe i refused them. Biscuits with pints is for the ‘things that are wrong’ thread.
The barmaid asked her boss why they didnt stock crisps. ‘Cos youse would only be atin them’ apparently.
Better off not selling something than selling loads of it and occasiinally having the staff have some.

Amen.

What kind of biscuits had they on offer?