I can’t see the likes of the young lads that Ger Mac brought in last year staying away for too long - Cathal Naughton, Pa Cronin and them lads.
Did Byrne go back playing GAA he did? Fair play.
Thats himself and Miller from that Leinster team.
naughton being a Newtown man is probably getting it in the ear from all angles. Id say Pa Horgan and the Sars lads will be the first to go
I presume your attempting a bit of a Ball Hop here Dan
I know from talking to a few Sars lads, Horgan and few of the lads that came in with him only want to play hurling… so I’d say most of the younger lads will be back before the league starts.
Not really.
If he quit the rugby at 31/32 he could hurl away for years he would have so much fitness built up. He is a former AI minor winning captain so its not like the interest isnt there. He might have a go with the club and if he got the eye back in who knows.
Just as a hobby maybe
[quote=“dancarter”]Did Byrne go back playing GAA he did? Fair play.
Thats himself and Miller from that Leinster team.[/quote]
Yea Byrne plays some ball with Aughrim, there was a picture of him, jaysus he’s not built for the GAA jersey. Cant find it now though for the life of me. Archetypal full forward.
What odds on a split in the O’Connor household with Jerry going back and Ben not? Tom Kenny has been quiet enough as well. Is Wayne Sherlock still involved? Could be the older head needed to help out all the young lads.
Think Sherlock is long gone no?
As for Tom Kenny he opened his trap for a bit last year during the football didnt he?
Sherlock is gone a couple of years now alright.
[quote=“dancarter”]Did Byrne go back playing GAA he did? Fair play.
Thats himself and Miller from that Leinster team.[/quote]
Eric played a season on his return…he’d gone too big and slow…sweet left foot on him though and one of the most unassuming blokes you’d meet…
Read with Caution
Please note that this is not confirmed:
Wayne Sherlock and Brian Corcoran will agree to assist Donal Og Cusass.
Sherlock is retired since 06 I think.
I doubt one of the twins would go back without the other. There old fella is a fair thick man as well so the breeding would be in them not to budge.
[quote=“dancarter”]Not really.
If he quit the rugby at 31/32 he could hurl away for years he would have so much fitness built up. He is a former AI minor winning captain so its not like the interest isnt there. He might have a go with the club and if he got the eye back in who knows.
Just as a hobby maybe[/quote]
Retiring at 31/32 it would take him at least a year to get his eye back in to be good enough to play senior club hurling in Cork.
If he had choosen the hurling career path instead of rugby do you think that he might get close to the Munster team if he decided to give it a second shot at 31/32
I hadnt thought it through in depth Fran. threw it out there really. You may be right. Eric Miller got trialed with Dublin footballers did he not?
It would be far easier for him to make transition back to hurling rather than vice versa, as his fitness would not be an issue. Despite how fit the Cork players think they are I doubt any would have the requisite strenght or fitness to play a pro sport, particulalry rugby
[quote=“dancarter”]I hadnt thought it through in depth Fran. threw it out there really. You may be right. Eric Miller got trialed with Dublin footballers did he not?
It would be far easier for him to make transition back to hurling rather than vice versa, as his fitness would not be an issue. Despite how fit the Cork players think they are I doubt any would have the requisite strenght or fitness to play a pro sport, particulalry rugby[/quote]
That’s why you get GAA players playing club rugby in their off season, don’t think you get the opposite too often. Definate Ball-Hop.
gga players arent very fit - didnt the fat old & slow dublin manager win a club championship all ireland last year . doesnt say much for the GGA when he is one of the better club players
What GAA players play rugby in the off season, just as a matter of interest. Dont say lads from your local club, I assume you have high profile examples, because most lads I know who play rugby play GAA in the summer.
Anyways big difference between playing junior/AIL rugby and playing pro rugby. Even top level AIL players cant hack playing pro rugby due to the increase in physicality.
Think ROG might do a year or two with the footballers too. We havent had a reliable free taker in a while. Would be a great Centre forward, spraying it around the park, well able to hit the corners.
Diarmuid O Sullivan and Graham Geraghty anyway. Redmond Barry in Wexford prob did for a good while too.
Diarmuid O Sullivan played this year for the first time. Hes shit, I saw him a few weeks ago. They had him playing on the wing though.
These lads played junior, low level senior rugby.
Plenty AIl players play GAA during the summer. But pro players are bound by contract.