Humphries on the Cork saga

Just checking. So we agree on that then, and that Tomas O Leary plays for Musnter Rugby, which is in Munster, which is where he is from.

Still not much bates the GAA club, I’ll give you that. Not sure TOL would have any interest in the shite that is going on with CLG Cork though at the moment.

[quote=“Georgy Comerford”]No, no problem with Munster Rugby, I’ve a lot of respect for the Munster team.
I was pointing out some reasons why O’Leary might want to play hurling in response to Dan’s question. I think there is a difference between representing your parish/county and playing rugby for Munster… closer community ties[/quote]

a cork rugby player going back to play for the cork hurlers is a funny example, because of all counties i think that by the time O’leary hangs up his rugby boots he may find that the cork hurling panel might not be the community based amateur org it was a few years ago.

[quote=“myboyblue”]

Still not much bates the GAA club, I’ll give you that. Not sure TOL would have any interest in the shite that is going on with CLG Cork though at the moment.[/quote]

That was the thurst of my point. Why the fuck would he bother

[quote=“myboyblue”]Just checking. So we agree on that then, and that Tomas O Leary plays for Musnter Rugby, which is in Munster, which is where he is from.

Still not much bates the GAA club, I’ll give you that. Not sure TOL would have any interest in the shite that is going on with CLG Cork though at the moment.[/quote]

:)Agreed-ish

[quote=“Georgy Comerford”]One of what?

Munster Rugby is a professional entity, GAA is community based amateur organisation[/quote]

wrong wrong & wrong

the GGA is as professional as munster rugby - players get paid more for playing rugby & pay tax on it but they are both professional organisations -

[quote=“north county corncrake”]wrong wrong & wrong

the GGA is as professional as munster rugby - players get paid more for playing rugby & pay tax on it but they are both professional organisations -[/quote]

:D, a LOI supporter preaching about tax

[quote=“north county corncrake”]wrong wrong & wrong

the GGA is as professional as munster rugby - players get paid more for playing rugby & pay tax on it but they are both professional organisations -[/quote]

Definately going for 2-in-a-row, has it been done before?

Only by a very special person, The Puke

I’d say O’Leary would have no interest in, or chance of, playing hurling for Cork, while I reckon Ronan O’Gara would certainly have the wherewithal, given some intensive training, to make it as a top punter in the NFL. As someone said above they seem fairly shit to me.
Yer man Sav Rocca wouldn’t have been known as any kind of brilliant kicker in AFL he was more just a big hardy bastard. Couldn’t believe when I saw him playing in the NFL.
It’s just a matter of who’ll take the risk and commit to it I’d say.
I had a cousin who worked for the NE Patriots and he reckoned a good few English fellas down the years have made it as kickers. Is this true? He suggested it was because most American youngsters don’t grow up kicking a ball as it’s not a big feature in any of their traditonal games. This leaves the pool of good kickers fairly thin.
Think the English lad who used present on channel 4 used to be an NFL kicker.

Anyway getting back on topic, why is everyone so sure some of last year’s Cork hurling panel will play this year? I’d love to bet that none of the 30 will play under Gerald McCarthy and will only come back when McCarthy stands down, be that at the end of the year or before. Wonder what price you’d get on that?

it saved the dog fighters 12k GBP in expenses by not training in dec-just because the players dont get paid through the payroll doesnt mean they dont get paid
I have some juicy details about syls finances that I cant put in the public domain but im sure you are aware of what goes on there re muldoons playing for them
The CEO is on a fuck load of money - I posted a thread on it
They make millions as a concert promoter

hardly the work of an amateur organisation

them, the church & FF are full of lies & blagardism

[quote=“gola”]I’d say O’Leary would have no interest in, or chance of, playing hurling for Cork, while I reckon Ronan O’Gara would certainly have the wherewithal, given some intensive training, to make it as a top punter in the NFL. As someone said above they seem fairly shit to me.
Yer man Sav Rocca wouldn’t have been known as any kind of brilliant kicker in AFL he was more just a big hardy bastard. Couldn’t believe when I saw him playing in the NFL.
It’s just a matter of who’ll take the risk and commit to it I’d say.
I had a cousin who worked for the NE Patriots and he reckoned a good few English fellas down the years have made it as kickers. Is this true? He suggested it was because most American youngsters don’t grow up kicking a ball as it’s not a big feature in any of their traditonal games. This leaves the pool of good kickers fairly thin.
Think the English lad who used present on channel 4 used to be an NFL kicker.

Anyway getting back on topic, why is everyone so sure some of last year’s Cork hurling panel will play this year? I’d love to bet that none of the 30 will play under Gerald McCarthy and will only come back when McCarthy stands down, be that at the end of the year or before. Wonder what price you’d get on that?[/quote]

less opinion & more fact

[quote=“Gman”]whats the feeling now in Cork about the players?

Personally, I really feel that for what could have been a great period and a side to go down in history as one that brought in a face paced style of hurling that was great to watch and a side that along with Kilkenny, dominated the sport for a time, will now go down in history for all the wrong reasons, and I really feel that their careers are tarnished by their actions here.

Instead of remembering these players fondly for their style of play and how they won games, they are in my mind being remembered for bringing the sport down to one of the lowest ebbs in its 125 year history.[/quote]

Its very mixed to be honest GMan, but i think this latest thing will tip the balance against them. the fall out for this will go on for years and years. Clubs are already falling out and one noted ex-player (A legend in fact) has left his club, to go train a Junior team where his ancestors are from. Take club’s like Sars, Newtownshandrum and Kanturk for instance. All 3 full of good young hurlers. No Newtown player took up the chance to play with this winter squad, this has to be because they were either influenced by the O’ Connors or they didn’t want to cause trouble within the club. They wouldn’t have been absolute certainties to be Senior IC players, but they had a chance, i believe that chance is gone for at least this year, amybe forever. Kanturk is the same, Anthony Nash is on '08 squad, and 2 of his clubmates also refused to go on winter panel. These two in particular are brilliant young hurlers (and footballers), whats going to happen there. Sars is even more complicated, they have '08 squad members, they have guys who are on the new panel nd they have at least one guy who refused it (or his father refused for him by all accounts). Na Piarsaigh have been fighting fires for 2 years now in regards to their county players, there are fall-outs there as well.

Personally i think the players made a number of huge mistakes. The guys they sent as reps wasn’t smart, firstly i don’t think any of them are as smart as Frank Murphy, secondly it was like a red rag to a bull sending Donal Og and Gardiner. That to me showed who really was pushing everything. Taking on the CCB in publis was ludicrious as well, big big mistake.
The CCB are a shower of cunts, and are only in it for their own glory, don’t anyone loose sight of that, they are cunts and always will be unless there is a major overhaul. With it looking like the players lost out on this one i don’t expet anything to change in the CCB for years now. I had kinda hoped they would cause enough trouble to get things changed at Board level, unfortunately they blew this chance.

I expect a couple to go back this year, the guys who were new last year, the likes of Brian Corry and Robert White. Next year i expect Shane O’ Neill and the 22-27 year old crowd to go back. The only one of the squad there since 99 or 2003 to come back (ever) is possibly Tom Kenny.

I know the people who hate everything about Cork will glee at this post, but for GAA people this is in fact a very very sad and grave situation. It will cause two major things in my opinion over the next few years.

1. Cork will become a football county by and large.
  2. The CCB will have even more control over Cork teams than ever before.

You should always be very careful what you wish for.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Its very mixed to be honest GMan, but i think this latest thing will tip the balance against them. the fall out for this will go on for years and years. Clubs are already falling out and one noted ex-player (A legend in fact) has left his club, to go train a Junior team where his ancestors are from. Take club’s like Sars, Newtownshandrum and Kanturk for instance. All 3 full of good young hurlers. No Newtown player took up the chance to play with this winter squad, this has to be because they were either influenced by the O’ Connors or they didn’t want to cause trouble within the club. They wouldn’t have been absolute certainties to be Senior IC players, but they had a chance, i believe that chance is gone for at least this year, amybe forever. Kanturk is the same, Anthony Nash is on '08 squad, and 2 of his clubmates also refused to go on winter panel. These two in particular are brilliant young hurlers (and footballers), whats going to happen there. Sars is even more complicated, they have '08 squad members, they have guys who are on the new panel nd they have at least one guy who refused it (or his father refused for him by all accounts). Na Piarsaigh have been fighting fires for 2 years now in regards to their county players, there are fall-outs there as well.

Personally i think the players made a number of huge mistakes. The guys they sent as reps wasn’t smart, firstly i don’t think any of them are as smart as Frank Murphy, secondly it was like a red rag to a bull sending Donal Og and Gardiner. That to me showed who really was pushing everything. Taking on the CCB in publis was ludicrious as well, big big mistake.
The CCB are a shower of cunts, and are only in it for their own glory, don’t anyone loose sight of that, they are cunts and always will be unless there is a major overhaul. With it looking like the players lost out on this one i don’t expet anything to change in the CCB for years now. I had kinda hoped they would cause enough trouble to get things changed at Board level, unfortunately they blew this chance.

I expect a couple to go back this year, the guys who were new last year, the likes of Brian Corry and Robert White. Next year i expect Shane O’ Neill and the 22-27 year old crowd to go back. The only one of the squad there since 99 or 2003 to come back (ever) is possibly Tom Kenny.

I know the people who hate everything about Cork will glee at this post, but for GAA people this is in fact a very very sad and grave situation. It will cause two major things in my opinion over the next few years.

1. Cork will become a football county by and large.
  2. The CCB will have even more control over Cork teams than ever before.

You should always be very careful what you wish for.[/quote]

i feel glee after reading that

Caoimhaoin is Eoin Cadagon on the football panel or is he on strike with the hurlers at the minute…I would say he would surely go back hurling in 2009

good post caoimhin

You can also apply this sentence to the players!

thanks.

Why?

[quote=“north county corncrake”]it saved the dog fighters 12k GBP in expenses by not training in dec-just because the players dont get paid through the payroll doesnt mean they dont get paid
I have some juicy details about syls finances that I cant put in the public domain but im sure you are aware of what goes on there re muldoons playing for them
The CEO is on a fuck load of money - I posted a thread on it
They make millions as a concert promoter

hardly the work of an amateur organisation

them, the church & FF are full of lies & blagardism[/quote]

They saved 12k over a period of 4 weeks in expenses, that’s 3k a week x how many nights do they train? say 2, we know it’s more that’s 1500.00 a night divided by a panel of 30 players, manager, selectors, physios, kit man etc. say even just the 30 panel members 1500/30 = 50 per player.
On the milage alone Brian Dooher and Stephen O’Neill has a 50 mile round trip, the 2 Cavanaghs have a 70 mile round trip,likewise the McGuigans. Although they don’t get Civil Service milage allowances, i’m sure that 50c a mile they do get would make up over half that 1500. Then you have post training meals etc., real professional pay for play there:rolleyes:

Thats a very very interesting question Puke, and its something i had completely forgot about. He’d be nailed on for a corner back slot on the football if he wanted, but officially he was a hurler last year. I would presume this just makes his decision for him. I’ll do my investegations and get back to you.

From what i have seen he is a better footballer anyway, and i have always thought he should choose football.