Humphries on the Cork saga

Christy O’Connor and Denis Walsh went into great detail on the first Cork Strike in their books, and reading them you’d think Donal Og and the rest of the players ran the whole thing with military precision, in retrospect this is a load of shite. They’ve been completely out-thought on this one. They should never have assumed that McCarthy wouldn’t have been reappointed, when it became clear the board wanted to reappoint him they should have fought through the clubs not on their own.

Is Diarmuid O’Sullivan the player missing from the picture?

The pebbles big thick head is visible two to the left of Oige.

I find the threat to “disband” very amusing I must admit. Fook off and retire then.

Also, it’s a bit late asking the clubs to support them now. If the clubs were on their side, surely we’d have heard some kind of rumblings by now.

Seriously lads, what will change or happen if they disband? How can they disband the Cork hurlers when they’re not part of the panel in the first place?

I’m inclined to agree. There was very little new last night, it was just a response to Gerald and Teddy suggesting there was a rift in the camp. There’s a team in place for this season and there’s nobody making serious efforts to broker a deal, they’d be better off laying plans for next year or trying to negotiate for Ger McCarthy to step down at the end of the season.

[quote=“Garda Sean Horgan”]http://i566.photobucket.com/albums/ss106/BoyoReturns/INPHO_09_CorkHurling.jpg

How come 3 of the lads have different t-shirts to the rest of them?!

The assumption is that if they disband as a group, the younger lads will join up with the current squad. Maybe wishful thinking, but at least it would bring the strike to a close.

[quote=“Sledgehammer”]I find the threat to “disband” very amusing I must admit. Fook off and retire then.

Also, it’s a bit late asking the clubs to support them now. If the clubs were on their side, surely we’d have heard some kind of rumblings by now.[/quote]

Considering the amount of important senior and intermediate clubs not represented on the current squad…

shameful organisation from oige, shambles of a set up.

This is true, but the managers involved were very open about everything and they discussed everything, which meant DO’G and JA had the final say. But hurling isn’t that complicated at that level. The big thing was they were treated like adults, which they are not being now.

In fairness the stubborness to leave Killian Cronin and Wayne Sherlock leave the panel is my biggest problem with Gerald.

The clips in the echo tonight with the answers to questions from the floor are far more nteresting than the statement.

The Cloyne motion has been defeated 83 to 27.

And the hurlers lost by a couple of points to an under strength Waterford team as well.

good, the clubs have spoken, now fuck off siptu

[quote=“Turenne”]The Cloyne motion has been defeated 83 to 27.

Jaysus thats some spanking.

[quote=“Turenne”]The Cloyne motion has been defeated 83 to 27.

the clubs tell the 2008 players to fuck off.
the end.

should we expect another press conference or just a statement?

I’m sure the spin will be put on this tho that the real club people didnt get a say, and it was a club representative who is in Franks pocket who made the vote. Democratically put to the floor, and voted down by the clubs. The players must surely start realising that patience is wearing thin.

ye but this motion was probably the most publicised in CCCs history, and surely Cloyne would have done their homework and canvassed a few clubs for support in the last week.
it was not sprung on anyone and you have to accept that the clubs would have voted with the approval of their members, club members had enough time to voice their approval or otherwise to the Cloyne motion to their delegates.

i can see Donal Og looking for a open ballot next of all gaa members (followers)in the county, outside Pennys on Patrick street, chaired by rentalnger sombrero Cyril.

From what I heard down here, the motion in Cloyne was passed without Jerry O’Sullivan being at the meeting (CCB Chairman)

Delighted to see it downed last night.

[quote=“Locke”]From what I heard down here, the motion in Cloyne was passed without Jerry O’Sullivan being at the meeting (CCB Chairman)

Delighted to see it downed last night.[/quote]

JOS wouldnt have to be at a meeting in the Club for a motion to be passed. I thought Motions could only be put forward at AGM’s, surely he was at that?