I agree that OâNeill was only at fault for one goal and was left badly exposed by others for the first two, however to leave a man (who has just scored two goals off you) with ten yards of space directly in front of goals to challenge your own man for the ball is fairly criminal. He conceded 3 points from play as well, which shouldnât be forgotten.
Collins had a good year as evidenced by the fact he made my team but the accolades being bestowed on him are way OTT. Was this the same guy who was clean through against Cork [MSF] only to mis-strike wide from 13 metres I kept asking myself? As for the point of the year in the drawn final. He was in a central position and turned himself back into trouble over by the Cusack stand, he made the shot an awful lot harder for himself. I thought it was terrible play myself. Heâs a good lad who runs hard and tries hard but a few nice touches apart heâs nowhere near the same league of influence of Kelly or McInerney in my opinion. I predict he wonât even keep his place after a few matches next year.
You mad cunt!
Iâm sick of your Limerick bashing, you prick.
Thatâs just silly. Keep believing though, I appreciate the loyalty.
Iâm not saying O Neill was great the last day and ye are using one game to scratch him. He was the best full back all year. Extremely consistent. It would make a farce of it were he not to get an All Star.
But carry on.
Fairly true, but if you want to call it their âleagueâ, the home and away season gives you a clear path and reward from being successful in it.
âIâm not saying he was great the last dayâ - understatement of the year!! Lost an All Ireland final by 6 points and his direct opponents scored 15 points off him!
I didnât think he was great against Clare in Munster either, Honan had him in serious bother in the first half and could have had a couple of goals. He was excellent in the Munster final in fairness.
[quote=âdodgy-keeper, post: 839096, member: 1552â]âIâm not saying he was great the last dayâ - understatement of the year!! Lost an All Ireland final by 6 points and his direct opponents scored 15 points off him!
I didnât think he was great against Clare in Munster either, Honan had him in serious bother in the first half and could have had a couple of goals. He was excellent in the Munster final in fairness.[/quote]
He didnât play full back against Clare that day. McDonnell started on Honan
[quote=âdodgy-keeper, post: 839096, member: 1552â]âIâm not saying he was great the last dayâ - understatement of the year!! Lost an All Ireland final by 6 points and his direct opponents scored 15 points off him!
I didnât think he was great against Clare in Munster either, Honan had him in serious bother in the first half and could have had a couple of goals. He was excellent in the Munster final in fairness.[/quote]
If memory serves me correctlyStevie McDonnell was on Honan in Munster.
Ger Cafferkey gave away probably 2-4 to his direct opponents but was generally considered to have had a decent match in the football final.
[quote=âcaoimhaoin, post: 839091, member: 273â]Iâm not saying O Neill was great the last day and ye are using one game to scratch him. He was the best full back all year. Extremely consistent. It would make a farce of it were he not to get an All Star.
But carry on.[/quote]
I suppose youâd know better watching your first few hurling games in a couple of years from over in Aus on the telly and your Cork bias is not affecting your judgement at all.
[quote=âcaoimhaoin, post: 839091, member: 273â]Iâm not saying O Neill was great the last day and ye are using one game to scratch him. He was the best full back all year. Extremely consistent. It would make a farce of it were he not to get an All Star.
But carry on.[/quote]
McInerney was faultless all season and his display on Saturday in contrast to OâNeillâs travails convincingly make him the best full back line defender this season. Wasnât he awarded RTE Man of the Match for both his quarter final and semi final displays too along with his brace of excellent final displays?
Sure, they could both get in the All Star team but McInerney is a certainty and your attempt to compare McInerneyâs fine game in the replay with OâNeill being in all sorts of trouble last Saturday was frankly laughable.
Listen half of ye cunts are pissed at the games.
While you may miss off the ball stuff and you can miss structural stuff itâs not like I would have missed any of the full back play.
If there was any Cork bias I should be getting it for Conor Sull on my team, having a go about O Neill is bizarre. Conor Sull was very good most of the year as well. But itâs quite possible theyâll go for 3 full backs, even if McInerney played across the full back line, I would consider him a No.3
[quote=âBandage, post: 839102, member: 9â]McInerney was faultless all season and his display on Saturday in contrast to OâNeillâs travails convincingly make him the best full back line defender this season. Wasnât he awarded RTE Man of the Match for both his quarter final and semi final displays too along with his brace of excellent final displays?
Sure, they could both get in the All Star team but McInerney is a certainty and your attempt to compare McInerneyâs fine game in the replay with OâNeill being in all sorts of trouble last Saturday was frankly laughable.[/quote]
I wasnât. I was comparing their seasons outside the finals. But you read what you want to read. I was trying to get lads to look at the season as a whole.
[quote=âcaoimhaoin, post: 839107, member: 273â]Listen half of ye cunts are pissed at the games.
I generally donât drink before games, one pint max if I do to soak up a bit of atmosphere, my father would be the same and I go with him. Hurling is too fast to drink much before or during, youâd miss too much.
& under 21 Munster final
Btw, what games did you go to other than Limerick? You seemed to be available to post on all other games, suggesting you watched majority on TV. Despite what you might think, watching TV from Ireland in the Southern Hemisphere doesnâtean we see it upside down or any differently. Also being away is also an advantage in not getting your head filled with local gossip, pub talk and general GAA bull shit âsupposedlyâ media and shit talk.
Depends what youâre drinking.