Hurling All-Stars 2013

He got two points off McCarthy in the first half, bearing in mind that Cork were well on top and playing with a strong breeze behind them McCarthy did very well considering the amount of ball that was being lobbed in on top of the full backline.

So that’s 0-02 he conceded in one match, didn’t give away a single score against three different markers against Tipp and Honan took him for maybe 1-02 (if you include frees conceded) in the semi final. Not quite the 4-03 Shane O’Neill (who is an excellent player normally) shipped in one match.

[quote=“Kid Chocolate, post: 840213, member: 553”]I think these are the best players in their given positions in Ireland. all stars are a different matter of course as they are given out on one season only
Nash
Paul Murphy, JJ, D McInerney
B Bugler, C OMahony, Moran
T Kelly, B Maher
Bubbles ODwyer, R Power, J Conlon
P Collins, J Canning, Horgan

Honorable mentions to D Fives who is going to be an animal, w Hyland, Micky Cahill, Richie Hogan , Conal Keaney and Seamus Harnedy[/quote]
Interesting

Nash
Cahill McCarthy McInerney
Moran Rushe Maher
Maher Fennelly
Power Kelly Keaney/Sutcliffe/Hannon/Harnedy (hardest line to pick)
Collins Canning Horgan

[quote=“dodgy-keeper, post: 840216, member: 1552”]He got two points off McCarthy in the first half, bearing in mind that Cork were well on top and playing with a strong breeze behind them McCarthy did very well considering the amount of ball that was being lobbed in on top of the full backline.

So that’s 0-02 he conceded in one match, didn’t give away a single score against three different markers against Tipp and Honan took him for maybe 1-02 (if you include frees conceded) in the semi final. Not quite the 4-03 Shane O’Neill (who is an excellent player normally) shipped in one match.[/quote]
And that goal was a pox, could have broken any which way.

If the game was refereed properly the first day, he would have been sent off and Clare won by 10-15 points. He should also have got the line v KK. Poor temperament when under pressure, and tends to react badly with wild and outrageous swings, probably because he was/is unsure/unhinged due to being played out of position and doesn’t cope well with the responsibility of the no 3 position.
Clare of course saw this, and exposed him the second day where his direct concession of 15 points from play, 1-3 where he was beaten 1 on 1 was decisive. He was one of the main reasons Cork are not all Ireland champions and certainly not a FB, lack the positional sense, lacks the temperament and as the stakes grew accordingly became more and more exposed

I’m not that arsed about the All Stars to be honest but the more I think about it the more I’ll be annoyed if Richie doesn’t get one. It’s nothing to do with receiving a token nomination as Munster champions.

[quote=“Kid Chocolate, post: 840213, member: 553”]I think these are the best players in their given positions in Ireland. all stars are a different matter of course as they are given out on one season only
Nash
Paul Murphy, JJ, D McInerney
B Bugler, C OMahony, Moran
T Kelly, B Maher
Bubbles ODwyer, R Power, J Conlon
P Collins, J Canning, Horgan

Honorable mentions to D Fives who is going to be an animal, w Hyland, Micky Cahill, Richie Hogan , Conal Keaney and Seamus Harnedy[/quote]
JJ and Power. Based on this year? :D:D:D

[quote=“glasagusban, post: 840220, member: 1533”]Interesting

Nash
Cahill McCarthy McInerney
Moran Rushe Maher
Maher Fennelly
Power Kelly Keaney/Sutcliffe/Hannon/Harnedy (hardest line to pick)
Collins Canning Horgan[/quote]
Fennelly was a bad omission…swap him from maher in my team…

FFS …try lady bird books again and work your way back up

Lads putting guys in who hardly played or were roasted this year as best players in their positions. FFS ye are some fools.

You cannot pick them now based on what they did 2-3 years ago.

Maher is on that team ahead of anyone in defense.

Harnedy is the best half forward in the game right now. Wake the fuck up ye tards.

It was Kilkenny that he was fortunate not to be sent off. As were the two lads who were scrapping at the throw in for the second half

Power was Kilkenny’s best forward by a distance this year.

yes, you are right, it was KK…

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 840234, member: 273”]Lads putting guys in who hardly played or were roasted this year as best players in their positions. FFS ye are some fools.
Says the man who won’t shut up about O’Neill for full back??? :confused: :confused: :confused:

Are you a wind up?! Seriously!!! :smiley: :smiley: :smiley:

I don’t think he will be in contention for an All star but Michael Carton had a very good year for Dublin and was impressed with him especially in their Leinster campaign.

More deluded than a fella who hasn’t followed the game for years who just started watching it again this year, who lives on the other side of the world, at the mercy of TV cameras, and stories from a few barstool fans at home? He has JBM’s phone number though and knows development officers in about 20 clubs so I guess that might help.

[quote=“dodgy-keeper, post: 840216, member: 1552”]He got two points off McCarthy in the first half, bearing in mind that Cork were well on top and playing with a strong breeze behind them McCarthy did very well considering the amount of ball that was being lobbed in on top of the full backline.

So that’s 0-02 he conceded in one match, didn’t give away a single score against three different markers against Tipp and Honan took him for maybe 1-02 (if you include frees conceded) in the semi final. Not quite the 4-03 Shane O’Neill (who is an excellent player normally) shipped in one match.[/quote]
Harnedy ran the whole Cork offense in the first half. He won frees, missed two goal opportunities, made scores, drove wides. Basically beat McCarthy up a stick who was unquestionably shite before become the spare man. The fact that he’s being touted based on this of all games says it all.

In the same game Declan Hannon took Shane O’Neill for the same total as Harnedy scored - 0-02.

Harnedy did well in the first half but to insinuate he roasted McCarthy or Limerick is just plain wrong. “missed two goal opportunites” and “drove wides” is an interesting slant on praising someones performance…

What gives with all this hasn’t watched the game in years. Talk about a slow news day that ye all ran with the fact that I watched more hurling this year than in recent years. Hurling was shit. How would I know this eh? Those Cork-Waterford games a couple of years ago were fucking dreadful. Tipp-KK was good twice. There was one other game in a 3-4 year period that I have vague memories of enjoying. Other than that it was awful.

Stick to charity Mac, humour and debate are not your thing.

[quote=“dodgy-keeper, post: 840251, member: 1552”]In the same game Declan Hannon took Shane O’Neill for the same total as Harnedy scored - 0-02.

Harnedy did well in the first half but to insinuate he roasted McCarthy or Limerick is just plain wrong. “missed two goal opportunites” and “drove wides” is an interesting slant on praising someones performance…[/quote]

So half forward play is all about scores is it?

Harnedy is a leader beyond his years and experience. His timing for the important is uncanny. Unfortunately he didn’t have consistent enough support.

I can understand a non-Cork person not seeing what Harnedy was doing for them. When you are watching games involving your own team live and it’s close or they are in trouble you are always looking for someone to “do” something. Harnedy was brilliant and incredibly consistent at this. Weather it was a score or win a free or catch a high ball or whatever. He was the man 7-8 out of 10 times than man this season. Brilliant.